We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”
Review of Summerhill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Summerhill Hotel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
Certificate of Excellence
Wurzburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Want to spend some time in the Torbay area? Need a hotel? Then look no further than the Summerhill hotel. This family run hotel really puts some 4-star hotels to shame, or when were you last presented with a pre-heated breakfast plate? It's the small things that count, and this hotel has many. Clean rooms, friendly professional staff that go out of their way to help. Very good food. A massive brass tripod telescope that overlooks the bay in the dining room (à la Hercule Poirot). A 32" flatscreen TV in the room. Wifi availability and very reasonable bar prices. This is not an ultra-modern hotel, its charm comes from the feeling you are in a Edgar Wallace film expecting to meet Klaus Kinski and Joachim Fuchsberger coming down the Stairs!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    53
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
59
181
21
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2014

A very pleasant stay. Very welcoming family run hotel. Room clean and well presented. Breakfast exceptional.
All this and a stones throw from the beach and amenities
Would definitely return and recommend

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I stopped for four nights in June as I was working at a nearby show. The hotel itself is quite nice, but probably not the best location as it's easy to get lost trying to find it! Like I did a few times! The breakfast is a bit hit and miss, so don't expect too much. I found sleep quality to be 10/10. Wifi wasn't the best, and kept knocking off, but I was at the end of the block so this is probably why. No major complaints, I had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xtinalouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

we had a few days away at this lovely hotel, made better by the charming family that runs it. nothing seemed to much trouble. Excellent rooms and very good restaurant. We'll be going back. Thanks Debbie

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WoodyLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed for two nights for a quick getaway. This is a lovely hotel made better by the lovely family running it. Breakfast was perfect. Room very clean and comfortable. Ample parking and great location, away from the noise of Paignton but within walking distance. Would definitely choose this hotel if we return to Paignton in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KittySouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We have just returned from a lovely few days in Devon we stayed at summer hill hotel in Paignton and had a lovely few days there .

The hotel was lovely we couldn't fault it at al and the food wes beautifully cooked with lots of choice .

We had a room with a balcony which was especially nice as we exceptional weather while we were there and it was nice to sit out and have a coffee in the fresh air and see views of the beach

We would highly recommend this hotel as nothing was too much trouble and will certainly stay there again in the very near future certainly good value for the price we paid .


Carole and bill Kitchener

Room Tip: We had a balcony with our room which was really nice .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carole k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Only managed 4 nights here but it was a very welcome short break. As a 'new' vegetarian, I sampled the veggie breakfast. Wonderful! It kept me going all through the day until my evening meal. This was also a very good experience. The prawn salad was lovely with plenty of it, but all very healthy! I also sampled the Scottish salmon dish and strawberries with clotted cream.
The beds here are very comfortable and I had no trouble sleeping after my long walks during the day.
The dining room/bar area has been recently decorated with pleasing effect.
Spotlessly clean throughout this hotel offers a warm welcome for a home from home holiday any time of the year.

Room Tip: I like room 7 and 8 with balconies, lovely to sit out with an afternoon cuppa
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helibug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.7 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#4 of 17 in Paignton
510 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 17 in Paignton
476 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 17 in Paignton
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
1.3 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#11 of 17 in Paignton
276 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Bay Esplanade Hotel
#9 of 17 in Paignton
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summerhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerhill Hotel

Property: Summerhill Hotel
Address: 2 Braeside Road, Paignton TQ4 6BX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Paignton
#1 Family Hotel in Paignton
#1 Business Hotel in Paignton
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Summerhill Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian detached building set on its own grounds close to harbour, park and beach. Summerhill offers high standard of accommodation and profesional friendly service. Ample Free car parking,level access, ground floor rooms, lift, bar. Only 10 min walk from Paignton train station & town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Summerhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summerhill Hotel Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing