We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic, very hospitable hosts”
Review of Summerhill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Summerhill Hotel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic, very hospitable hosts”
Reviewed 23 October 2010

This is our second visit to this hotel and I cannot recommend it highly enough, thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hosts Debbie, Jose and Peter were absolutely fantastic and very very obliging. Would not stay anywhere else in Devon now and will definitely be staying there again. The food was spectacular, so our thanks go to Jose for his culinary skills, all three hosts went out of their way to make our stay most enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    56
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
64
188
21
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2010

This hotel has panaramic views over the west side of Torbay. A very well looked after, clean hotel with various rooms at reasonable prices. The breakfast menu is excellent and dinner and small bar are also available during the evening for those visitors that choose to stay in. The staff are very pleasant, respectful and helpful. Having experienced several hotels in the Torbay area over recent years, I would highly recommend this hotel as one of our favourites. The best recommendation?.... We will be going back and booking early!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TandJ186370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varese, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2010

I am an Italian woman. I went in Paington from 8 August to 22 August. I spent there 15 days studying English. I came there alone and I would say thank you for the friendly and kindly hospitality that I was given during my staying. I felt myself at home! Breakfast was really fantastic, too!!! And the hotel was so quiet !!! Great !!! Thank you for all with my heart!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ROBERTA71_29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2010

The staff are all friendly and helpfull in this family run business nothing is too much trouble; the breakfasts are excellent with a good choice - a real set you up for the day meal! The rooms are clean and tidy with on suite bathrooms and tea / coffee making facilities, which, are replenished each day. We had initially booked for severn days but were so impressed we extended our stay for a few more days. The resturant serves good quality food freshly prepared with again excellent service; We would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2010

The location of the hotel is superb, giving easy access to the beach, park, Paignton, transport and attractions. There were lovely gardens, which were well maintained. Plenty of parking to the rear of the hotel.

The rooms were nicely decorated, as was the whole hotel. The beds were comfortable and offered a good nights sleep. Breakfasts were delicious and the service from the staff was second to none - they couldn't do enough for you and always asked about our day. We were also able to purchase some gorgeous handmade jewellry.

Although there is a lift in the hotel, we would not recommend staying here to wheelchair users or anyone who finds walking difficult as the hotel is situated on a steep hill and it can be difficult to get from the car park to the entrance,

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank darceyhorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2010

The service from every member of staff was exceptional, very friendly and helpful. The room was immaculate and decorated to a high standard. The location of the hotel was in a quiet area. The dining room and bar were excellent with sea views and the food was out of this world. Now we found this hotel we would not stay anywhere else, expect to see us again very soon. Overall our stay was highly enjoyable and they were most accomodating to us. Highly, highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2010

We have stayed at this hotel 6 or 7 times now. My husband was born in Paignton and likes to go back every now and then to see his old haunts.
This is a really friendly hotel, rooms are very well equiped with fantastic power shower, comfy beds and are spotlessly clean.
The breakfasts are really lovely, nicely presented and very tasty. As I dont eat fry ups I really enjoyed the Mexican version.
We have eaten there in the evenings also and the food was superb,
The family running the hotel are friendly and welcoming and we will return as soon as we can

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caroldeeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.7 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#3 of 17 in Paignton
541 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
0.3 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 17 in Paignton
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 17 in Paignton
391 reviews
1.3 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#11 of 17 in Paignton
281 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Bay Esplanade Hotel
#9 of 17 in Paignton
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summerhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerhill Hotel

Property: Summerhill Hotel
Address: 2 Braeside Road, Paignton TQ4 6BX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Paignton
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Paignton
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paignton
#1 Business Hotel in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Summerhill Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian detached building set on its own grounds close to harbour, park and beach. Summerhill offers high standard of accommodation and profesional friendly service. Ample Free car parking,level access, ground floor rooms, lift, bar. Only 10 min walk from Paignton train station & town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Summerhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summerhill Hotel Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing