We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxed”
Review of The Torland Hotel

The Torland Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Torland Hotel
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
Reviewed 30 August 2013

booked this hotel last minute and got lucky.this place is gr8 the staff are very polite and helpful,the beds are so nice and the linen is beautiful,this is an old building but the owners have been working hard to get the standard to a good one.the lounge has been done recently in black and white its lovely and in the bay window there are a couple of sets of binoculars,because its on the seafront you can see straight across to the wheel in torquay wonderful views.the bedrooms are tidy with ensuite.after breakfast one of the girls came to top up the beverage tray, they supply you with a little more than most about 10 teas and coffees and loads of milk jiggers so you can have hot drinks till it comes out of your ears.the full english beautifully cooked and large kept me going till teatime,it must be big my hubby eat it all and needed a rest [he did eat every morsel],a grand place to stay ,so comfortable and homely. ,thanx to all at the torland

Room Tip: this hotel as good parking at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marina j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2013

Had a lovely time at this really well located hotel right on the harbour for ferry to Torquay (30mins) the breakfasts were great,rooms clean and comfortable and Chris and Janet were great hosts definitely one to recommend:)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here before. Always made to feel welcome. Stayed for birthday and it was grest. Clean. Friendly. Great home cooked food. Sea views are great and location is perfect. So much to do in and around paignton.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 07071964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013 via mobile

Such a lovely place, really friendly really helpful people. Had a fab breakfast my little boy loved the stay too.
The family room was big enough for us three, was well equipped with facilities.
This hotel is vey popular so book up early, we are going again very soon.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fluffyfaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Another great holiday staying at The Torland Hotel ... We were looked after very very well by Chris and Marie , and are looking forward to our return holiday in sept ... we can highly recommend The Torland you will be made very welcome ..

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rubyq1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the Torland a few times now and never been dissapointed I seem to have a better nights sleep here than I do at home :) it's in a perfect location and has lovely sea views even the dining room looks out over to the beach whilst you tuck into your lovely breakfast ...

See you again soon.... Hopefully we won't forget anything this time :)

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claire-ian2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Just arrived home from a very wet south devon, but still had a fab 3 days.. The zoo is fantastic, wet or dry.. The hotel was very clean, basic, but friendly.. regarding the man who complaind about no bar. well who on earth gives kids cola for breakfast?????? there was orange juice, milk, and tea, coffee. the granddaughters were there and they were quiet and polite. no problems what so ever..Good breakfast. the only complaint was breakfast was far too early, 8.30am.. to 9.00am.. hard work trying to wake 3 young sleepy kids up. lol...very central. on the flat, 5mins walk 2 harbour, and beach. had a great time. the pier is great all the 2p machines. felt like we had won miliions.haha. a must is Brixham. its lovely and kids can go crab fishing, fab food, so if you are thinking of visiting then i can recommend The Torland Hotel ... great value. and very friendly. owners thank you for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: all rooms are good, we had a back view, but was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krissywales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
0.1 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 17 in Paignton
561 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 17 in Paignton
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Rosslyn Hotel
Rosslyn Hotel
#12 of 17 in Paignton
77 reviews
1 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#11 of 17 in Paignton
299 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Bay Esplanade Hotel
#9 of 17 in Paignton
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Torland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Torland Hotel

Address: 24 Sands Road, Paignton TQ4 6EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
Price Range: £56 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Torland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Torland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Torland Hotel Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing