We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“as usual fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Torland Hotel

The Torland Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Torland Hotel
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“as usual fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2010

We have just returned from our second visit to Torland this year. As before we were made very welcome by Chris the owner and treated like family. The room was excelent and very comfortable, and cleaned daily. Plenty of coffee and tea supplied. Food was just as we remembered it, superb, plentiful and an excelent choice. By the end of the visit we had trouble fitting into our clothes. We really enjoyed both of our visits there this year and would like to say a big thank you to Chris Janet and the staff for a very enjoyable holiday. Look forward to next year.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cruisingpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    13
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
19
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
stockport cheshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2010

stayed with my wife and kids aged 6 and 9 we loved it, we stayed in the mini suite which was great had the kids close by but had our own space as well, our bedroom had the most amazing view accross Torbay, breakfast was superb never seen my kids eat so much for breakfast ( and they got rewarded with a lolly pop ) we were offered bucket and spades for the kids to use on the beach i really enjoyed my stay at the torland and will return

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liamg117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2010

My husband, myself and our 3 children have just got back from staying here and we wished we didn't have to leave. We were made to feel so welcome. Chris, the owner, was fantastic even though she was rather unwell. She and her family did everything they could to make us feel at home. The rooms were excellent, they were spotless and so comfortable. My youngest kept pinching the milk so i was constantly asking for more, which was happily suplied lol. Jess, the waitress, is such a happy little soul who was so helpful. The bar was closed so we had drinks in the lounge wish was much better than sitting in the bar because we had the fabulous view across the bay. As for the food, it was excellent. I swear I have put on weight. My husband is a hearty eater and even he was full from the breakfast. He is normally hungry an hour after he has breakfast but the ones Chris cooked lasted him 'til lunchtime. The owners grandchildren popped in and were so friendly and they played with my 3 and they even lent them bucket and spades to use on the beach. We only stayed for 2 nights this time but we are going back at the end of august for a WHOLE week yay!!. I would totally recommmend the Torland to anyone. Everything about the place was just 'fab.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angela2202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry S.Wales
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2010

Arrived at the Torland, i was asked to fill out a booking slip in the hallway
(it says on their website, fill out slip in their lovely lounge while enjoying a free beverage of your choice). This did not happen.
The place is a little old fashioned, but i expect all guest houses are, just not sure how it got a 3 ***
parking was meant to be ample but had to squeeze my car in
they have also got two children who were polite but very,very annoying (in your face annoying).
was told their was a bar down stairs (in the basement) so my wife and i decided to return early as we had two little ones with us and didn't want to be out when all the drunks were out, and have a few drinks in their bar, well, their children called us down showing us to the bar as we got halfway down the stairs we were sent back up by the owner shouting BAR IS CLIOSED, which was quite suprising as this was bank holiday.
Breakfast was ok, burnt sausage bacon and as much toast and coffee as you like,
which was lucky as i couldn't drink coffee in our room because the little cartons of milk they left were gone off. the room itself was very basic but fine and the beds were ok too.
At breakfast i asked the girl working their is they had an alternate drink for the kids and she said NO , tea coffee or orange juice, and i thought to my self whilse driving to the shop quick to get a bottle of coke "you have a BAR downstairs"
but what the hey im glad we only stayed one night.
never go back again

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrew1974wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2010

Stayed here in March a pre easter break( as i have to work Easter) so relaxed, rooms very clean and comfortable, we had fantastic seaviews, dining room very light and with seaviews, breakfast really set us up for the day served by a very friendly waitress called Jess she never stopped smiling, we will be back at this great place very soon they are so friendly and helpful

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starlite2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
1.0 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#11 of 17 in Paignton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rosslyn Hotel
Rosslyn Hotel
#12 of 17 in Paignton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Wulfruna Hotel
Wulfruna Hotel
#14 of 17 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton South - Brixham Road
0.1 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 17 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Torland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Torland Hotel

Property: The Torland Hotel
Address: 24 Sands Road, Paignton TQ4 6EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Torland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Torland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Torland Hotel Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing