We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant find in Paignton!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paignton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Harbour Lodge Guest House
Ranked #61 of 97 Paignton B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 1 September 2010

What a brilliant find in Paignton!! Wonderful choice of breakfast, very comfortable, clean room. Nothing was too much trouble by the hosts. Ideal location for a short walk into Paignton itself, and near to Goodrington as well. A great base to visit all the surrounding attractions in the area. Great to be able to park the car off road, and use local transport!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nannyjan52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2010

We stayed in Harbour Lodge this weekend as we had a family wedding to attend. We were travelling as two couples (in our twenties and thirties) and had two double rooms at Harbour Lodge. We were greeted warmly and shown around and the rooms were bright and clean (one with lovely sea view). The rooms were well equipped-ensuite with decent shower and what looked like new furnishings. The towels were clean and there were complimentary toilettries and 'vanity' packs-a nice touch. There was a small TV in the room with freeview, a hairdryer and generous refreshments. The beds were comfortable and the location quiet-tucked away behind the harbour. Lots of information about days out to hand and the owner Christine was happy to answer any questions. They also had free WIFI, we just requested the code to gain access.

We were so happy with our stay. Christine was so welcoming and friendly and happy to accommodate our needs. The breakfast was superb-fresh fruit, organic yogurt, cereal, juice, tea/coffee, toast. The cooked breakfasts were made to order and you could choose any combination you wished-even have bacon in a roll/eggs on toast. The food was good quality and I understand that lots of it is fairtrade/organic/from local suppliers where possible. So much food we couldn't get through it all!

We didn't want to come home! We know Torbay very well and always enjoy our visits, but having found this hidden gem, it really was the icing on the cake. If you're looking for faceless, chain hotels, where you remain an anonymous guest and the food is kept warm in vats, then don't book a room here. The decoration might not be to everyone's taste, but if you are after something more personal, cosy and individual, then please stay here-it really is Devon at its best!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank caf07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2010

Stayed 2 nights 7/8 May 2010. Chris was very welcoming, the room was well decorated and lovely, everything you needed in a bedroom, spotlessly clean and plenty of storage space, heating that YOU could control, en suite, again, spotlessly clean and all toiletries supplied. Breakfast, good deal of choice and the full English certainly sets you up for the day. Wonderful, I would not hesitate to visit Harbour Lodge again. Thank You.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Petal5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2009

Came here for a short holiday in August, with my boyfriend! WAs brilliant, made to feel very welcom, everyone was really friendly. Everything was really clean and looked after. I felt at home at this place. It was brilliant here.

The service we got was amazing. They rooms were cleaned regulary, they served brilliant food and they made sure that we were ok, and if we needed anything they were there.

The room was a really good size, tidy, clean and everything it should be.

The location was beautiful, so much to do. SO many places to go, and lots to keep to occupied.

I liked the whole experience :D

Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
2  Thank xCasey-Susannahx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2009

We have just spent an overnight stay at Harbour Lodge on our way to stay at Brixham for a week. This was our second visit and was just as good as our first. Chris and Pete are very friendly and welcoming. The rooms are nicely decorated, comfortable and equipped with everything you could need. The breakfast was excellent, with plenty of choice, nicely cooked and appetising. There is a wide range of tourist information leaflets, both in the rooms and in the hallway. Anyone new to the area would find this really useful - so good, no need to visit the Tourist Information Office.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brixham23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2009

stayed for three nights but wish we had longer,christine and peter were lovely and very helpfull,it was are first trip to devon and they gave us ideas on what to do.my advice is leave the car and use public transport, we used bus,steam train and the boat . food was great and the weather was lovely and hot. sue and ian cheshire.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2009

last year it was the fantastic four this year it was the fantastic twosome yet again we were made to feel wellcome . christene and peter were fantastic .the weather was not bad could of been better but we still had fun .the torbay carnaval was good ..there is so much to do so little time to do it all .still we are going back next year .so see you all soon alan .jackie. from london.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thefantasticfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.8 mi away
Rosslyn Hotel
Rosslyn Hotel
#14 of 17 in Paignton
76 reviews
0.2 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
354 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 17 in Paignton
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Berry Hotel
Berry Hotel
#12 of 17 in Paignton
21 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
1.1 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#10 of 17 in Paignton
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Lodge Guest House

Address: 4 Cleveland Road, Paignton TQ4 6EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range: £56 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour Lodge Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Harbour Lodge we offer 4 star bed and breakfast accommodation. We are ideally situated approx 100 metres from Paignton harbour in the quieter Roundham area, but only a short stroll to the beaches and amenities of the town, including the steam railway. All rooms are en-suite and we have off-road parking. This is the ideal location for a short break and to explore the wider South Devon and Dartmoor areas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Harbour Lodge Guest House Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing