We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Faultless guest house and lovely hosts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sonachan House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sonachan House
Ranked #9 of 100 Paignton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Burnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Faultless guest house and lovely hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed this weekend with my partner and 3 kids. Was greeted by a very warm welcome from the owner, who was so helpful with local information etc. Guesthouse was spotless and beautiful garden immaculately kept. Located in a lovely quiet road. Sweet little secret garden was a hit with the kids. Plenty of parking. 10 minute walk from Goodrington Sands (dog free may - sept) and 15 minute walk from the seafront and pier which has great play areas/pubs etc. We booked a family room and were surprised to find it was a suite, with a single room and a large room for 4. Lovely for my teenager to have her own room! Both rooms had a sink as well as there being a separate bathroom. Everything was spotlessly clean and every guest including the kids was given their own towel bale. Generous tea and coffee tray and bottled water. very comfy beds. The most storage space I have ever seen in a guesthouse room, loads of hangers in the wardrobe.Breakfast room was lovely, as was the breakfast. Wide choice of cereal, toast, fruit salad, juices, jams etc, and a lovely full English. can't fault anything about this B&B. They even let us leave our car there after we checked out so we could enjoy our last day at the beach. Comes with the highest recommendation from me!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahpep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonySmyth, Owner at Sonachan House, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you sooo much for your lovely review. We were really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    18
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
72
53
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Meillard
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Well I just want to mention the warm and professional welcoming of Julie and Tony. Both are very helpful and they run their hotel perfectly for our best comfort. My room was very cosy and comfortable. The breakfast is also a pleasant start of the day. I had a great time in Paignton in a quiet and lovely place, a ten minute walk from the harbor. I will recommend the hotel to one of my workmates who is about to go to Paignton in June.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Florence D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonySmyth, Owner at Sonachan House, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor - it really is appreciated. We look forward to welcoming your colleague and hope he's happy here too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Julie and Tony are great hosts, friendly, nothing is to much trouble, and have a great knowledge of the local town Paignton and the surrounding area. Sonachan House has plenty of parking out the back, which was great for unloading the bikes and storage of vans and bikes over night

The Hotel was spotless, with amble size rooms, I was the lucky one and had a double room to myself, avioding the snorers, nice touch was the bottle of water and chocate sweet

The back garden has table and cheers and we had a great time relaxing out there in the evening sun while Tony managed the bar bringing us the required liquids to qunece out thrist after our ride

A fantastic place to stay

Room Tip: room 10 view of the paignton and the sea loverly
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwibiker n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

The miniute you walk into Sonachan House your welcomed by Tony and Julie you are made to feel at home ,they are great hosts. The Hotel is well maintained and spotless. Breakfast is excellent as was the evening meals nothing was to much trouble ..Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonySmyth, Owner at Sonachan House, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thanks for your positive review - we're looking forward to next year too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We had a great time in Paignton and especially at Sonachan House. We were made very welcome by the friendly hosts and nothing was to much trouble for them. The whole place was spotless and the food was superb

Room Tip: All the rooms were equally good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BruceS221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonySmyth, Owner at Sonachan House, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for your great review - glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again next year. You all helped make our weekend really good fun too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

I have been using this hotel for the last 12 yrs. The hotel is always spotless and immaculate. Julie and Tony are excellent hosts and nothing is too much trouble. I would recommend this hotel to anybody wishing to have a quiet relaxing time in Paignton. Can't wait until next year.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianEllson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonySmyth, Owner at Sonachan House, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for your kind review - always lovely to see you - you're all part of our family now!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

My third visit to Sonachan House and loved every minute of my stay.
Tony, Julie and family make you feel so welcome. The hotel is beautifully maintained and clean.
Food is always amazing .

Will return

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lakeside101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonySmyth, Owner at Sonachan House, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Love having the bikers here - you are all such lovely people and a pleasure to look after. Shame you get so argumentative when we do quizzes!!! (all good fun really!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.0 mi away
Two Beaches
Two Beaches
#2 of 100 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Belle Dene Guest House
Belle Dene Guest House
#4 of 100 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beecroft Lodge
Beecroft Lodge
#6 of 100 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blue Waters Lodge
Blue Waters Lodge
#1 of 100 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonachan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonachan House

Property: Sonachan House
Address: 35 St. Andrews Road, Paignton TQ4 6HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonachan House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small, friendly, licensed Guest House ideally situated for the numerous attractions of Paignton, including the beach, pier, multiplex cinema, crazy golf, harbour, the green, Torbay Leisure Centre and Paignton & Dartmouth Steam Railway. Goodrington beach is a short walk away where you will find Quaywest Water Park and many other water attractions. We have 9 en-suite bedrooms all of which have beverage tray, TV, clock radio & hairdryer. We have a bar where you can relax with a drink and/or join in the games and quizzes that we organize. Guests are welcome to enjoy our gardens where you can relax and take in the peace & quiet while you have a pot of tea or something stronger! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Sonachan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonachan House Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing