We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and calm.”
Review of Sonachan House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sonachan House
Ranked #6 of 97 Paignton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Easy booking procedure and great price value. We met helpful owners and really clean and comfortable rooms. Kind atmosphere. Separated parking places. Free WiFi option. Only 3 minutes from the beach by car.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drfrischmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonySmyth, Owner at Sonachan House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thanks for your lovely review - glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

A warm welcome starting with the tea and coffee when we arrived. The hotel is excellent for children as it is five minutes' walk from Goodrington Sands (just a bit further to Paignton), there are rabbits and guinea pigs in the garden and there are toys and DVDs for them in the lounge. Wide choice for breakfast.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Keith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonySmyth, Owner at Sonachan House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thanks for your kind review - glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

On our arrival Tony made us feel so welcome, we were shown to our rooms which were perfect. The presentation and cleanliness were outstanding, everything we could want or expect was catered for. The location being just a short walk from the seafront with lots of places to eat and relax. Both Tony and Julie were so helpful with suggestions of "things to do" in the local area, even to the point of reserving a parking space at Greenway (NT).
Look out for the full English Breakfast, you probably will want to skip lunch if you that, but it is worth it!
Derek an Christine

Room Tip: We only saw the downstairs rooms, lounge, breakfast room and garden, all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delclark33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonySmyth, Owner at Sonachan House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thanks once a gain for a great review - Hope to see you both again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed this weekend with my partner and 3 kids. Was greeted by a very warm welcome from the owner, who was so helpful with local information etc. Guesthouse was spotless and beautiful garden immaculately kept. Located in a lovely quiet road. Sweet little secret garden was a hit with the kids. Plenty of parking. 10 minute walk from Goodrington Sands (dog free may - sept) and 15 minute walk from the seafront and pier which has great play areas/pubs etc. We booked a family room and were surprised to find it was a suite, with a single room and a large room for 4. Lovely for my teenager to have her own room! Both rooms had a sink as well as there being a separate bathroom. Everything was spotlessly clean and every guest including the kids was given their own towel bale. Generous tea and coffee tray and bottled water. very comfy beds. The most storage space I have ever seen in a guesthouse room, loads of hangers in the wardrobe.Breakfast room was lovely, as was the breakfast. Wide choice of cereal, toast, fruit salad, juices, jams etc, and a lovely full English. can't fault anything about this B&B. They even let us leave our car there after we checked out so we could enjoy our last day at the beach. Comes with the highest recommendation from me!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahpep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonySmyth, Owner at Sonachan House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you sooo much for your lovely review. We were really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Well I just want to mention the warm and professional welcoming of Julie and Tony. Both are very helpful and they run their hotel perfectly for our best comfort. My room was very cosy and comfortable. The breakfast is also a pleasant start of the day. I had a great time in Paignton in a quiet and lovely place, a ten minute walk from the harbor. I will recommend the hotel to one of my workmates who is about to go to Paignton in June.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Florence D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonySmyth, Owner at Sonachan House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor - it really is appreciated. We look forward to welcoming your colleague and hope he's happy here too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Julie and Tony are great hosts, friendly, nothing is to much trouble, and have a great knowledge of the local town Paignton and the surrounding area. Sonachan House has plenty of parking out the back, which was great for unloading the bikes and storage of vans and bikes over night

The Hotel was spotless, with amble size rooms, I was the lucky one and had a double room to myself, avioding the snorers, nice touch was the bottle of water and chocate sweet

The back garden has table and cheers and we had a great time relaxing out there in the evening sun while Tony managed the bar bringing us the required liquids to qunece out thrist after our ride

A fantastic place to stay

Room Tip: room 10 view of the paignton and the sea loverly
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwibiker n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

The miniute you walk into Sonachan House your welcomed by Tony and Julie you are made to feel at home ,they are great hosts. The Hotel is well maintained and spotless. Breakfast is excellent as was the evening meals nothing was to much trouble ..Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonySmyth, Owner at Sonachan House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Thanks for your positive review - we're looking forward to next year too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.1 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
354 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
0.8 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 17 in Paignton
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Two Beaches
Two Beaches
#1 of 97 in Paignton
287 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sands Hotel
The Sands Hotel
#84 of 97 in Paignton
110 reviews
0.5 mi away
Belle Dene Guest House
Belle Dene Guest House
#2 of 97 in Paignton
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonachan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonachan House

Address: 35 St. Andrews Road, Paignton TQ4 6HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range: £60 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonachan House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small, friendly, licensed Guest House ideally situated for the numerous attractions of Paignton, including the beach, pier, multiplex cinema, crazy golf, harbour, the green, Torbay Leisure Centre and Paignton & Dartmouth Steam Railway. Goodrington beach is a short walk away where you will find Quaywest Water Park and many other water attractions. We have 9 en-suite bedrooms all of which have beverage tray, TV, clock radio & hairdryer. We have a bar where you can relax with a drink and/or join in the games and quizzes that we organize. Guests are welcome to enjoy our gardens where you can relax and take in the peace & quiet while you have a pot of tea or something stronger! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Sonachan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonachan House Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing