We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely!!!”
Review of Rosslyn Hotel

Rosslyn Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rosslyn Hotel
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
Certificate of Excellence
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“lovely!!!”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

lovely budget b and b tucked down a side street from the beach. great hearty breakfasts warm welcome clean comfortable rooms would definately return. in need of updating but as someone else said, thats just being fussy.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMMA W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    25
    5
    5
    6
See reviews for
20
34
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our mini honeymoon break. We were greeted by the owner who was so friendly and couldn't do enough for us! The breakfast was lovely, fast service and everything was perfect.
The decor esp the carpet could do with some updating, but that's just being fussy! Who really cares what the carpet is like. The room was clean. We stayed in room 5 which was right by the train track but didn't really bother us, we were used to it by day 2!
This is the perfect budget hotel, fab location and excellent price!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJones2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

What a great little budget hotel. We arrived early (around 11am) and room was already serviced and waiting for us. Cliff (the owner) gave us a wonderful warm welcome showed us to our room straight away and showed us various leaflets of things to do in and around the area.
The room itself was small but well maintained with a small en-suite with toilet and shower which was perfectly usable given the amount of time we planned to stay in the room. There was also a sink in the room, tea making facilities and a wall mounted TV - all that's needed in our opinion. The room was also very warm which makes a pleasant change from some B&B's we've stayed in!
There was some exterior noise during the night but it's to be expected in a busy little town and the price paid - please don't be put off by this as you'd be missing out!
The walk to the main part of Paignton (the pier and shops etc) is about 10 minutes but is pleasant along the promenade and there is plenty to see along the way.
The following morning the breakfast was superb and again, Cliff was on hand to offer advice about where to go for the day. He was keen to recommend different activities which he had tried out.
All in all if you're looking for a clean, friendly, value for money place to stay in Paignton - this is the place to be!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scuz2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2013 via mobile

Just back from a short break with my husband and 2 young children(5 yr old and 2 yr old), we had a great time, rooms are small but clean, breakfast is served in a short space of time but tasted good every morning, Cliff would keep it warm if I had to deal with kids, very enjoyable stay and we would like to return in the future! Some people mention the railway behind, it never disturbed us! Parking is limited but we didn't have a problem, we walked into town most of the time! Overall a great stay, will recommend to friends and family!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LKParfitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Clean, Very friendly owner, perfect breakfast...for £35 what more can you say? If you want a sea view, or a bigger en suite, or absolute silence...go to a hotel or a £80 per night B&B! we arived at 9.30 at night, had'nt booked and the owner was very accomodating.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 190759Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Gwent
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

For a budget hotel this hotel offers all you need a clean bed and a good breakfast along with excellent friendly hosts. I admit the decor is dated and there are no frills and tasteful decor but if you don't intend to spend ages in the hotel it's perfect. Everything is clean and breakfast is more than adequate. The hosts were friendly and not overly intrusive. I know several complain about cash upfront policy but in todays society when charging only £20 per night you have to be careful, margins of profit must be tight so think people should appreciate this. I am fussy and agree would like more opulent surroundings but the price reflects what you get. As a base for touring this area the hotel is perfect and more than adequate.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dianerowlands571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

This is a only a basic hotel but at only £39.95 for B&B for two people we were happy. The breakfast was well cooked and you could have cereal, full english and toast along with orange juice, tea and coffee. Cliff who dealt with breakfast was very friendly and got us gluten free bread especially for our dietry requirements and gave us what was left over to take home with us (though he didn't get it in time for our first morning). The rooms were quite a good size as well.

The rooms were very warm, which we liked, though you could open the window if you wanted. There was possible parking for 5 cars in total which was good. It would have been nice to have an info pack in the room with things like check-out time etc in it.

Downsides are a VERY hard and quite uncomfortable bed and the lady of the establishment seemed quite abrupt, as though we were disturbing her. We weren't even allowed to put our suitcases in our room until we had paid the balance of our stay though I asked her if we could - not what we wanted after a 5hr journey. She also didn't volunteer that there was parking around the back of the hotel, I just happened to notice at the bottom of the hotel sign it said there was some and asked. I had already mentioned about the fact there was no more parking out the front but she seemed more interested in getting back to watching the TV.

The pipework was very noisy as were the toilets, which have a masserator, and we were woken by the noise several times during the night. There was no chair in the room which was a shame and the lighting was not good for looking in the mirror.

Breakfast is from 8.30-9.30am though you had to be in the room by 9.00am.

A nice hotel but shame about the beds and noise, though out friend who also stayed there said it was quiter on the top floor.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AreWeThereYetNowThen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
0.9 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
312 reviews
0.4 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#10 of 17 in Paignton
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Torland Hotel
The Torland Hotel
#17 of 17 in Paignton
41 reviews
0.6 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 17 in Paignton
476 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 17 in Paignton
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosslyn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosslyn Hotel

Property: Rosslyn Hotel
Address: 16 Colin Road, Paignton TQ3 2NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rosslyn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rosslyn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosslyn Hotel Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing