We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs an update”
Review of Rosslyn Hotel

Rosslyn Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rosslyn Hotel
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
Certificate of Excellence
Swadlincote
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Needs an update”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Stayed here for one night which was enough. Tv in lounge did not work tried to ring. For help which did not come. The bin in the bathroom had not been emptied from the previous people, mould around the shower base, with very basic bathroom supplies (1 shampoo 1 shower gel). Plaster and bare wires showing in the entrance with a half painted wall further up. Definitely needs some tlc. Full breakfast was ok, but very rushed, never got time to order any preferences, very rushed experience. Bed was hard with springs prominent , this and it being right next to the railway line led to a very uncomfortable night . Very basic ok as long as you don't mind the disrepair and noise. Gentleman owner was friendly but lady was quite of fish with comments to her husband about my breakfast order which people overheard .

Room Tip: Make sure you view the room first .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    25
    5
    5
    6
See reviews for
20
34
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

A great hotel very friendly, basic but clean and tidy. Breakfast was great nothing was too much trouble. Would go again. We were greeted but the owner who gave asked if there was anything we wanted or needed. The decor in the rooms was clean and basic, carpets in communal area needs updating but clean. Very close to the prom a great location for a night away. We will be returning.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2013 via mobile

A small and simple bed and breakfast, great for a sleepover. Very kind staff. The rooms are small and simple but tastefully decorated. They were flexibel with our late arrival. The location is not particularly nice, it lies a bit off from the town centre.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kajlamacska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

lovely budget b and b tucked down a side street from the beach. great hearty breakfasts warm welcome clean comfortable rooms would definately return. in need of updating but as someone else said, thats just being fussy.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMMA W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our mini honeymoon break. We were greeted by the owner who was so friendly and couldn't do enough for us! The breakfast was lovely, fast service and everything was perfect.
The decor esp the carpet could do with some updating, but that's just being fussy! Who really cares what the carpet is like. The room was clean. We stayed in room 5 which was right by the train track but didn't really bother us, we were used to it by day 2!
This is the perfect budget hotel, fab location and excellent price!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJones2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

What a great little budget hotel. We arrived early (around 11am) and room was already serviced and waiting for us. Cliff (the owner) gave us a wonderful warm welcome showed us to our room straight away and showed us various leaflets of things to do in and around the area.
The room itself was small but well maintained with a small en-suite with toilet and shower which was perfectly usable given the amount of time we planned to stay in the room. There was also a sink in the room, tea making facilities and a wall mounted TV - all that's needed in our opinion. The room was also very warm which makes a pleasant change from some B&B's we've stayed in!
There was some exterior noise during the night but it's to be expected in a busy little town and the price paid - please don't be put off by this as you'd be missing out!
The walk to the main part of Paignton (the pier and shops etc) is about 10 minutes but is pleasant along the promenade and there is plenty to see along the way.
The following morning the breakfast was superb and again, Cliff was on hand to offer advice about where to go for the day. He was keen to recommend different activities which he had tried out.
All in all if you're looking for a clean, friendly, value for money place to stay in Paignton - this is the place to be!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scuz2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2013 via mobile

Just back from a short break with my husband and 2 young children(5 yr old and 2 yr old), we had a great time, rooms are small but clean, breakfast is served in a short space of time but tasted good every morning, Cliff would keep it warm if I had to deal with kids, very enjoyable stay and we would like to return in the future! Some people mention the railway behind, it never disturbed us! Parking is limited but we didn't have a problem, we walked into town most of the time! Overall a great stay, will recommend to friends and family!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LKParfitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
0.4 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#11 of 17 in Paignton
281 reviews
0.9 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Torland Hotel
The Torland Hotel
#17 of 17 in Paignton
42 reviews
0.6 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 17 in Paignton
504 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#7 of 17 in Paignton
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosslyn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosslyn Hotel

Property: Rosslyn Hotel
Address: 16 Colin Road, Paignton TQ3 2NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rosslyn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Rosslyn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosslyn Hotel Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing