We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantasticlly welcoming and lovely hosts”
Review of The Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Sands Hotel
Ranked #45 of 96 Paignton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fantasticlly welcoming and lovely hosts”
Reviewed 24 April 2011

we were made to feel really welcome and nothing seemed to much trouble for Brian, Lorraine and Jonathan. Would recommend The Sands to family and friends. Location was great.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worcs101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    4
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
34
43
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2010

You are made welcome from the moment you arrive. Food is excellent and plenty of it.
Rooms are Modern and always clean. Great sea views and a few minutes from the town. Lots of places to visit in surraounding area.
Will definately go again soon

Linda & Geoff, Birmingham

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda186402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2010

if you want the best welcome ever visit THE SANDS Brian,Lorraine & Jonathan are fantastic hosts .We thoroughly enjoyed our four day break it was like visiting your own family, the food and service was exceptional. Rooms were very clean and comfortable , We knew by the other guests that the welcome is extended to everyone. They even helped to celebrate my birthday, you can stay and have a drink in the bar and then just go to bed. Everything is within walking distance so you do not need to use a car once you get there.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LorGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2010

We have just returned home from 3 days spent at The Sands in Paignton. Believe me, you just cannot fault this hotel - the whole place is immaculate, the breakfasts are huge (if you want) and delicious, the location is perfect, everyone who works there is friendly. Brian, Lorraine and Jonathan (NOT forgetting the legendary Scooby!!) are such nice people and really take the trouble to make sure your stay is comfortable and relaxed. Perfection!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaggieWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2010

We stayed at this hotel for a week over the Bank Holiday at the end of May 2010 and we had a fantastic holiday. The breakfasts were lovely (very filling & tasty and we loved the coffee as well); the room was great, very clean & spacious, nice sized lovely clean bathroom and a fantastic view across the bay. Brian & Lorraine are lovely people, very friendly, always ready for a chat, and the nice thing was they treated all their guests the same (different to other hotels we have been to). The next time we are in the English Riviera we will definitely be visiting this hotel again and would recommend it to anyone, go and stay there you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxine31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton,Devon
1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2010

We have just returned from The sands hotel in Paignton which we stayed for 10 nights as we found that 5 nights was simply not enough. The reason being our luggage was carried to our room by the propitier, the rooms were immaculate and the breakfast was outstanding whether you went for a continental or a full English. And the fully licensed bar was not only fully stocked but it was also very good value.
We know that Brian and Lorraine and their son Johnathan have been running this guest house for a considerable amount of time, their knowledge of the area and things to do for all ages is priceless due to their amount of repeat custom , we are able to relax in the evening, swap stories and ideas with other guests for our next days entertainment, therefore we highly recommend if holidaying in Paignton if there is any rooms available. then stop at the Sands Hotel, sands road, Paignton.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mellymelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2009

I have to agree with what everyone else has said here fantastic hotel, clean, tidy and spacious rooms, friendly owners can’t say a bad word. Hotel is close to the beach in fact if it was any closer you’d be on the beach its self and if you are lucky enough to get a sea view the views are fantastic.

The area around the hotel is very clean and tidy and there is no noise during the night, everything is close to the hotel by foot and the harbour is 5 minutes walk around the corner should you wish to go on any trips. We chose this hotel after searching the internet for ages and emailing some local hotels, only one other hotel other than this one got back to us and they cost more and couldn’t accommodate the days we wanted e.g. Sunday-Sunday as they only did the standard Mon-Fri and Sat-Sat.

Brian & Lorraine the owners within reason will accommodate any day/s you want which you can’t get better than that.

The only downside was for me was they don't do a credit/debit card payment to pay for the room and only accept cash or cheque, maybe to keep costs down as they were one of the cheapest hotels around but maybe in the future they will get this up and running.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavin-Maria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.3 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
323 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Torland Hotel
The Torland Hotel
#16 of 17 in Paignton
42 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Bay Esplanade Hotel
#9 of 17 in Paignton
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#10 of 17 in Paignton
277 reviews
0.0 mi away
Briars
Briars
#14 of 96 in Paignton
171 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paignton Court Hotel
Paignton Court Hotel
#37 of 96 in Paignton
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands Hotel

Property: The Sands Hotel
Address: 32 Sands Road, Paignton TQ4 6EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sands Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sands ideally located in magnificent position on Paignton Seafront just a few yards from the beach, green and harbour, and only a short level walk to the town centre. Efficently run in a friendly manner. We have gained a reputation in ensuring everyone is made to feel welcome and relaxed during their staywith us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sands Hotel Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing