We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from home!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Sands Hotel
Ranked #31 of 100 Paignton B&B and Inns
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Home from home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

Brian Lorraine and Jonathan (and not forgetting Scooby!) Thank-you for playing a big part in our wonderful holiday in Paignton!
Between us we occupied six rooms, all beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean, three with spectacular sea views!
The breakfasts were delicious and the service impeccable.
A top quality family run small hotel where you definitely arrive as guests and leave as friends!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smiley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    4
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
34
40
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
leicester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed here last year and had a great holiday and booked again for this year. We were told to confirm after Christmas which we did and asked if we were to send a deposit. We were told that we didn't need to asking as we were defiantly going. We said we were and that nothing could stop us but how wrong we were. My wife emailed the hotel in may to ask them something only to get an email back saying they had let our rooms go because we had not paid a deposit. We emailed again explaining we were told we didn't need to but we have not had any reply. Not even an offer of help trying to find a new hotel which at this time of the year looking for two rooms is proving to be impossible so it looks like our summer holiday this year is not going to happen thanks to the sands hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjb2608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRIAN H, Owner at The Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Yes the wife did ring in January we did discuss a deposit and she asked if it would be alright for her husband to send money now and again so they didn't have to pay a large amount when they came for their holiday which I agreed to, no money arrived by May so I let the rooms go. I did offer them alternative dates which they declined, if they had asked me I would have given them the numbers
of several hotels but they did not ask for any. I am sorry they feel let down but we do have a business to run and the reason we take deposits are to secure the rooms. At least they had no bad things to say about their stay with us last year or they would not have wanted to come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cradley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

Me and Mom just got back from our annual visit to The Sands in Paignton.
As ever, made to feel so welcome by everyone (including the dog) and we
both had such a relaxing time.
The whole place functions so smoothly there is absolutely no hassle or
stress whatsoever when you stay here.
Had a room with a sea view this time and it was fabulous, can see right
across the bay to Torquay and beyond.
The breakfasts are hot-cooked fresh to order and plentiful too,excellent.
I cannot praise this place enough, I would recommend it to anyone
without hesitation and did I mention its spotlessly clean everywhere.
Finally, the bar on an evening is a lovely place to chill out and relax
with a few drinks in a very relaxed atmosphere having a laugh and a
joke and a quiz or too !
Thanks to ALL the team here for making us feel so welcome, its very
much appreciated by both of us.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room-IF you are luckily enough to get one you will enjoy the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

We have stayed at the sands for many years and we have been made very welcome by brian, lorraine and jonathan they are very accommodating always ready to please and are very sociable with guests and have a Good variety of choice for breakfast including porridge. The rooms are spotlessly clean and homely. Very close to beach and all amenities can't wait to go back soon. Alan and shirley

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reverened s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

This is the second time my wife and i have stayed at the sands and it wont be the last, we took some friends this time they had the same opinion as us simply the best. All of the reviews speak volumes for the hosts Brian, Lorraine and Jonathan not forgetting Scooby, we intend making another visit next year. If you like a good English Breakfast this is the Hotet to stay.

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brianthornension
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

My second stay here for 4 nights on a business trip. It has all been said before. Looked after very well by Brian ,Lorraine and Jonathan. . Perfect location, just a few minutes walk from the centre of Paignton for restaurants, bars etc, but the Hotel itself is very quiet at night for a good nights sleep. Enjoyed the music quiz in the evening - think the women's team cheated a bit.
Would definitely recommend and look forward to return visit next year + The icing on the cake - "decent marmalade for breakfast" !

Room Tip: Convenient, quiet location
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jurassic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

i have stated at the sands several times with my husband, but this time took my family, lorraine brian and johnathan were as always so welcoming, my two grandsons (aged 11 and 8) had a wonderful time,and felt at home straight away. in fact they were spoilt by everyone from morning till night . when we played games and had a lot of fun. The hotel was spotlessly clean (a job well done by all including donna the cleaner) I stayed in room 4 which has a big window so you can sit in bed and watch the sea. i would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a good holiday. in a good clean friendly hotel. i cant wait until september when i will be going back again

Room Tip: sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carol a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.0 mi away
The Torland Hotel
The Torland Hotel
#15 of 18 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.9 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#11 of 18 in Paignton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seaways
Seaways
#42 of 100 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Paignton Court Hotel
Paignton Court Hotel
#23 of 100 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Waters Lodge
Blue Waters Lodge
#1 of 100 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beecroft Lodge
Beecroft Lodge
#6 of 100 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands Hotel

Property: The Sands Hotel
Address: 32 Sands Road, Paignton TQ4 6EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sands Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sands ideally located in magnificent position on Paignton Seafront just a few yards from the beach, green and harbour, and only a short level walk to the town centre. Efficently run in a friendly manner. We have gained a reputation in ensuring everyone is made to feel welcome and relaxed during their staywith us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sands Hotel Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing