We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good friendly hotel”
Review of Torbay Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Torbay Court Hotel
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good friendly hotel”
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We travelled with GB Tours and the checkin was very quick. The bedrooms are small but the one we had had been modernised and was very warm (which we needed last week). The only problem with the room was the squeky floorboards. The staff were extremely friendly and would get you anything you asked for. The food was reasonable but good value for the money we paid.

We were a little disappointed with the outside of the hotel as it needed painting but the atmosphere and friendliness as soon as entered the door was extremely good. It is situated with a three/four minute walk to the railway station so we went on the steam train to Dartmouth, across the ferry and then had a cruise on the River Dart. We were lucky we picked the best day of the week as it was sunny but still cold.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulie027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMKayley, General Manager at Torbay Court Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us at The Torbay Court and taking the time to write a review. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the hotel, we strive to provide a welcoming and approachable atmosphere and am so pleased that you found our staff friendly and accommodating and will ensure that your comments are duly passed on.
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future to see more of the improvements on both the inside and outside of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    83
    53
    46
    31
See reviews for
36
121
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Stayed at the, Torbay Court Hotel, from 29/3/13 until 1/4/13. Easter Weekend.We both travelled through, G.B Tours me and the wife.

And i would just like to say now we thoroughly, " Enjoyed Our Stay". 3 nights DB&B.

When we arrived by coach on Friday, we thought from the out-side it looked a wee bit run down. We also noticed that Clive our driver had a bit of a struggle trying to park the coach. He had to get off the bus and get a few cars moved so he could pull up to the front of the hotel. The hotel is situated in a residential area and behind The Palace Hotel which is situated on the sea front. So parking could be a small problem at this hotel, there's only room for about 5 cars. We also noticed that they are building new house's across the road to the left front of the hotel. 9 new house's to be built there.

Well being at the front of the coach, we were first off and first to check-in. We were given room 2 on the ground floor at the front of the hotel. So we both headed off to freshen up for dinner. It was very windy and cold when we arrived, so it was great to feel the warmth in the room. The room was en-suite, had a double bed which was very comfortable, brand new thick carpet which was a pleasure to walk on, plenty of storage too for our clothes. It was only for the w-end so we didn't need much clothes.It also had a brand new flat screen T.V fitted to the wall, which was handy to catch up on the news. And was recently decorated. The bed takes up most of the room in the bedroom but we managed to get round it. It also has a double wardrobe in the corner and tea and coffee making facilities, in which the hotel was very generous, Up to 4 tea's and 5 coffee's every day. The en-suite could manage 2 people in it no problem as we found out when getting ready and dressed.

The hotel has just been taken over by new owners and there still is Work In Progress at the hotel. Especially the hall-ways and some walls in the dining room just need spruced up a bit and a lick of paint. But it did not put us off, would love to go back both of us and see it finished.

Breakfast is half and half. You get your own orange juice, cereal and make your own toast. The chef makes the hot breakfast part. E.g Full English or poached and scrambled eggs which is brought to you by the waitress or waiter. The evening meals which are also served to you are brilliant, great choice and you select your evening meal at breakfast time. They were always hot and very tasty. I hope the hotel can keep a hold of the chef, he is a credit to the hotel, fantastic meals.

I had to wait 3 minutes for a drink on Saturday night. It was the Bar-Tender's night off. So the receptionist doubles up as Bar-Tender. She apologised for keeping me waiting, I just giggled God Love her. She was just back from a weeks holiday. I said "No Worries Darling". Which leads me onto, A VERY BIG THANK-YOU from me and the wife. To all the staff at the Torbay Court Hotel. Who go all out to make sure you have a lovely stay at this hotel and go that extra mile in my book.

Our only gripe was with G.B Tours and nothing to do with the hotel. On Easter Sunday we had an excursion to Agatha Christie's house in Greenway. We left the hotel at 10 a.m and drove to a pick-up point to be transferred onto a smaller bus, because the coach was to big for the single lane, wyndey roads to get to Greenway 4 miles away.

We all transferred onto the other bus about 11 o'clock. A green old tiger from the 1940's it was beautiful and has been used in Poirot and other old movies and t.v programmes. So we arrive at Greenway and see Agatha Christie's house which is now owned by The National Trust. So after seeing the house which was beautiful after 20 minutes. We went a walk round the grounds for 10 minutes, that's all we could stand because it was freezing and very,very windy. We were told we would have to stay there until 3.30 p.m. It was now 12 o'clock and we had to suffer another 3 and a half hours of this, Oh and bye the way the smaller bus hopped it for his tea i think so we were stuck at Agatha Christies house after seeing it in about 20 minutes...! The small bus takes you there, then comes back for you at 3.30 p.m. That is far too long to see 1 excursion 4 and a half hours and especially on Easter Sunday. Where you only have a cafe to sit in and an expensive shop to browse in. So at 2 o'clock after 2 pots of tea and 2 hot chocolates and cake. Which cost an arm and a leg, we decided we are not waiting on the small bus to come back and collect us. So we decided to get a taxi back to our main coach and we were surprised by the amount of other people who done the same thing. The main coach was parked in a garden centre, were we waited on the rest of our party to arrive, who wouldn't pay for a taxi and were wanting to sit it out. So we got out the taxi and other taxi's also arrived at the garden centre with other guests of our party. I spoke to Clive our coach driver and told him of my annoyance of being stuck there on Easter Sunday for 4 and half hours. 2 hours would have been enough at that excursion. Then back to the hotel at 1 o'clock, to do what you want going round Paignton town centre. Having a nice Easter Sunday lunch somewhere. We didn't get back to Paignton gone 4.p.m. Day totally ruined to do any thing.

If me and the wife new that this excursion was going to be an all day shot, we wouldn't have gone...!

So if G.B Tours management team are reading this, 2 hours is enough at this excursion, after you have seen the house, had a walk and spent loads of money in the cafe. You are left sitting about waiting for the transfer bus to come back and take you to your coach. 4 and half hours stranded there, the management team are having a laugh...! Trying to fill your day. I was really annoyed about this on Sunday a day wasted and so were a right few other guests......!

Room Tip: Would return to this hotel, Service and Value Excellent....!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wa7 6nn
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

went on a 5 day break with gb tours on 18 march. From the outside it looks a bit run down but inside was so different. . Everything was warm and welcoming. The room wasnt big but it had everything i needed and was decorated nice the bed was comfy and water in bathroom was realy hot. The food in dining room was delicious plenty of choice and didnt take long to serve. The waiting on staff were very pleasant and did their best. The entertainment at night was good and for what we paid realy good value for money all in all a realy good holiday and i would definately go to this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irenewrexham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2013

I have just returned from a 5 day trip to Paignton with GB tours , my fiancee and myself arrived at the Torbay court hotel and when you look at the outside , you originally think that it needs a bit of TLC , but once you enter the hotel everything changes the hospitality of the workers at the reception were so friendly and helpful , once we entered the room we were greeted with how nice and modern the room was , every night the dinner menu was different and was always very filling and the catering staff were very polite and accommodating myself & my fiancee , from the moment we arrived till the moment we left the staff at the hotel were very welcoming and would quite happily recommend the hotel to anyone

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a lovely 5 day break at the Torbay Court Hotel Stayed at this Hotel 4 years ago was not that impressed What a difference this time, Staff wear Brilliant food was was better then very nice everything about the Hotel was superb You can tell the new owners have put a lot of money and thought into what the guest and Hotel needed Defiantly will be returning again soon

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Arrived at the hotel on Friday 22nd March and stayed for 3 nights with GB Tours. First impressions from the outside - looked like it needed some TLC. Our cases were unloaded and taken to our rooms. As we entered the hotel we were given our keys and shown the direction to our rooms. We asked for a room on the first floor or a room near to a lift, also a walk in shower and we were given exactly what we requested.The hotel was a lot better on the inside and looked like it had been refurbished. We had time to unpack, shower and get ready for evening meal. It took us a while to get the right temperature on the shower, but once it was OK it didnt alter. The water was hot in the hand basin too. Our room was quite nice, refurbished and always warm, just what we wanted with the weather being so cold.
There was a choice of starter, main meal and dessert and the food was really nice, Yes, sometimes we had to wait but the staff worked really well and on the second night we all applauded them for doing a good job. We wern't in a hurry to go anywhere and we enjoyed getting to know the people that shared our table, If there was any problems, or if we needed more of something, the staff would do their best to make sure that we were happy.
All the staff that we saw in the hotel were friendly and helpful.
Next comes the entertainment, the first night was 1 game of bingo followed by a Singer/Comedian and he was brilliant. The second night Bingo then a Quiz which went down really well (especially because we won lol). George, the Bingo come quiz master come Barman did a great job. We had to wait halfway through the quiz so that he could serve the drinks but we didnt mind.On the third night was Bingo and another Singer/Comedian who was also really good.
We had a really good weekend and met some lovely people, thanks to everyone in the hotel.

Room Tip: We had room 5 which had the walk in shower. A nice light room with a big bay window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1947Jackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

we have just returned home from the torbay court hotel after spending the weekend there.on the 1st.night it had good service and we had to give our choice of evening meal beforehand.everything went well. the following night was hectic.service was delayed because the chef had forgotten to put the bread rolls in the oven.the food was not of a good standard and the next morning tea and coffee was brought out a long time before orders for food taken.instead of using a tray to bring food out the staff were carrying one dish at a time mostly.we seemed to be lucky with our room but our bus driver was woken up about 3am because paper was falling off the wall.

Room Tip: work is still in progress so I don't think it matters which room.we had 43.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mamgu10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.6 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#11 of 17 in Paignton
274 reviews
0.4 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 17 in Paignton
475 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Torland Hotel
The Torland Hotel
#17 of 17 in Paignton
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
0.7 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
312 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 17 in Paignton
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torbay Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torbay Court Hotel

Property: Torbay Court Hotel
Address: Steartfield Road, Paignton TQ3 2BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Torbay Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Torbay Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torbay Court Paignton
Torbay Court Hotel Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing