We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Julie Court Apartments
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Paignton
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Rosslyn Hotel(Paignton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
The Palace(Paignton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Berry Hotel(Paignton)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Marine Hotel(Paignton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (19)
Filter reviews
19 results
Traveller rating
10
3
1
0
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
3
1
0
5
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 19 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2010

We stayed at Julie Court for one week in July and had a very good time. The apartment was clean & tidy & had everything we needed. The owners were very friendly and gave us good advice on which places to visit. We went to the beach almost every day and some days twice a day. We really liked Torbay and hope to visit again.

Rita & Vova

Kiev, Ukraine

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vova_kiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2010

Great accommodation, a stone's throw from the beach. The apartment was well appointed and the owner was very friendly and helpful when we needed him

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarkRBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2010

Do NOT book Julie Court. Save yourself time, stress and more importantly money. It is nothing like it is advertised, "Quote 2nd finalist twice, modern spacious apartments" Claiming to be 3 star, This statement is what lead us to book the accommodation in the first place. I've since found out as of 12th June 2010 they haven't even been assessed yet. So bad we refused to stay and asked for our money back which he refused, wasn't interested in listening to our complaint. There is a smell as soon as you open the door, we'd booked room 6 with the balcony. The MODERN decor is woodchip paper which the owner said it can't be taken off - asked what the problem was with it anyway. There is a pull down bed behind a grubby curtain and an old 1970's flat pack wardrobe both in the lounge. The bedroom had a shower cubicle in the bedroom with a grubby shower curtain, when I said the cooker didn't look very good the reply I got was "well you don't cook when your on holiday" I could go on and on. Have made a complaint to the tourist board, and trading standards - these people should not be allowed to rip people off like this. When I said if the website had shown it like it really was I wouldn't have booked it and was told I should have asked for more pictures to be sent. Why would anyone ask for more pictures! His sign outside states luxury apartments when I pointed this out he said he didn't know how to take it down. Apparently he's had 7 years to do it in.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank saphire303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliecourt, Owner at Julie Court Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2010

Julie Court is rated three Star by Visit Britain since 2004 and inspection is yearly and the last inspection was in September 2009 and another one is not due until September 2010. Draw your own conclusion from the facts presented to you!
Please also consider what Langhams has paid for the apartment designed for 4 – appx. £13pppn and see below what they got for their £13!
The apartment has gone through a complete renovation in May 2010 with the followings :-
New laminate flooring (more hygienic) throughout, New white bathroom with ceramic tiled flooring, New mirrored stainless steel bathroom cabinet, all woodwork (door/skirting etc either glossed or replaced), Bedroom has New Bed, New Orthopedic Mattress, New Quilt, New ultra bounce pillows, New ceramic tile surrounding to the en-suite shower, New solid wood wardrobe, New solid wood chest/side cabinet. In the living room all New curtains, pair of brand New( 1 day old at the time of their visit) genuine leather chocolate -brown colour sofas, New modern stainless steel triple light ceiling light, new 5' Ikea floor lamp and last but not the least a new 24" LCD full HD TV & DVD player (in complaint it was described as 19"). Do you think we did all this and left a grubby curtain round the wall bed? We didn't replace the wood chip wall papers as Julie court has 40+ rooms and it is not cost effective to do that but was freshly painted. A real luxury for the money. We have challenged them to show us of any evidence that the apartment is not clean - only thing that was discovered by them a small barely visible scuff mark on a new door caused by a dragging suitcase/luggage.
We have invited Visit Britain (inspection regime), Tourist Board to investigate the complaint! If anyone interested can contact us for photos of the apartments as it is

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2009

We booked a ground floor flat for 3 nights (only stayed 2!)- it was in fact semi basement and had a damp smell due to either a current or recent damp problem I would imagine. The room was clean but the decor dated. There was noise at night caused by equipment from the neighbouring pub so we couldn't have the windows open. Had to wash everything we took with us when we got home to eradicate the damp smell from our clothes.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank snoopy333cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliecourt, owner at Julie Court Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2010

Julie Court is closed between Nov-April. However, this year part of the building was closed early for refurbishment work and this couple booked the place very cheap knowing we were about to shut down and that there would be no heating provided by us. However electric heaters were provided in every room but they wanted to save money instead. Autumn is normally quite pleasant in Torbay however this year was an exception. We experienced mostly wet September/October with temperature falling well below normal.

All our Apartments are inspected, and this year English Tourism Council carried out their full inspection of Julie Court in September. Anybody owns a hotel knows how meticulous their inspection is and we were graded as ‘very good’ and awarded a three Star.
Julie Court was twice finalist for best self catering in whole of the Torbay.


Thousands of satisfied visitors from all over the world stays in Julie Court every year and if we were anything like this review suggested, we would be out of business a long time ago.

We always try to look after our customers, if they are not happy with their apartments whatever the reason we can provide them with an alternative apartment if available. BUT if they don’t bother to tell us how can we help them.

Please read some of our visitor’s comments on our website to get a real feel of Julie Court. Thank you for your patience and for reading our response.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2009

My brother booked an Apartment for us in Julie Court for our 25th wedding annivarsary treat. We arrived a day later (normally Saturday check in) and arrived at the apartment at 11:00 at night. The proprietors were very helpful and friendly, even at that time of the night they turned up to greet us. The apartment had plenty of information about Julie Court facilities as well as well as getting around. My wife really liked the launderatte facilities and for me, the seured parking. The apartment was very clean, uncluttered, nicely furnished and the bed was really comfortable. The lounge had leather sofas and a nice fireplace.The children slept in the second bedroom where there were two single beds and plenty of storage facilities. We enjoyed the spaciousness of the amartment.The living room was quite big and children played games at one end without disturbing us watching television at the other.
Julie Court is situated ideally close to the seafront (about 50-60m) and bus route. There were two tescos and loads of other facilitites all within walking distance. The weather was not very good for couple of days but there were plenty of indoor activities nearby we wouldn't have discovered but for the weather. The beach adjacent to Julie Court was the best of all we tried around. Every evening after dinner(quite a few good restaurants around and some are very reasonable priced) we all went for a stroll on the seafront.(I always carried my cup of tea with me) The view of moon shimmering on the sea was absolutely amazing.
The rides at the fair were brilliant, I enjoyed them as much as our two children did and not mention all the fun we had on the pier. But all came to end too soon for us. We booked for next year at Julie Court and luckily got the same apartment as most others have already gone. I will definately recommend Julie Court to any one with family or without. Oh,I forgot to mention I really made use of free internet wifi access provided.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GlobeTrekker9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews