We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Secluded and peaceful apartment for 2”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Paignton, English Riviera, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
fred254
Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Neat house but main house and driveway untidy”
Reviewed 29 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We rented this beautiful cottage over the weekend. TripAdvisor advertised it for £42 per night, but when we received an email back the price was significantly higher - around £150-00 per night.
The cottage itself was clean and tidy, and there were some complimentary wine and milk in the fridge! However, the yard, main house, and parking areas are worn down, grass was long, cobwebs everywhere, weeds etc. If the latter can be attended to, the stay would be more enjoyable. I think £150 per night is a bit too much for this cottage, given its location and distance from e.g. Torquay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Secluded and peaceful apartment for 2”
Reviewed 20 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Located on the outskirts of Paignton it is ideally situated for visiting the Torbay and Brixham area in general. The standard of the apartment was exceptional and Petula's attention to detail is to be commended as is her warm and friendly welcome on arrival. It was a pleasure to watch the wildlife from the balcony which during our stay included Bullfinches, Quail and 11 ducklings. A hideaway close to many amenities.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillnBern
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Peaceful and relaxing”
Reviewed 12 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Comfortable flat at rear of owners' house. Central heating and hot water all under your own control. Good bed, hot shower, well-equipped kitchen, comfortable lounge. Friendly owners provide a welcome pack of wine, biscuits, tea, coffee, milk. Quiet location looking out onto fields. Ideal for couple. Car essential. Older residents should be aware that a flight of stairs is involved to reach the accommodation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leanne C
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect little place to see in the New Year”
Reviewed 5 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Me and my partner have just returned from a lovely little stay at Brook Cottage in Paignton to see in the new year. The cottage is situated behind the residents house and it is a perfect little pad for a quiet and relaxing getaway. The rooms are spacious with all the modern comforts you would need from a holiday. Mrs Roberts was also very friendly and welcoming on our arrival and even provided us with tea, coffee, milk and a lovely bottle of wine! The town centre is a ten minute drive and the supermarkets are also very close by which was helpful to us nipping out to get the odd bits of food etc we also visited a lovely little restaurant called TJ's on the Harbour which we would also recommend trying if you stay here. Would defiantly recommend staying here again as it was simply lovely :)

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
checked01
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely peaceful cottage”
Reviewed 18 July 2013 for a stay in September 2011

We chose this cottage as it was detached, peaceful and close to Paignton and it did not disappoint. It is situated behind the owners house whom were very welcoming and has views of their garden overlooking all the chickens! Parking is off road in front of their house. There is a little patio to sit out on and the whole living area is upstairs. It is decorated and kitted out to a very high modern standard and is very clean throughout. The rooms are plenty big enough considering it is a one bedroom place, in fact the kitchen is a great size. We did however manage to set the smoke alarm off every time we cooked, that may have been our incompetence?! and it may have been relocated since?I highly recommend a stay here, we would definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fantastic condition throughout
Liked least: Smoke alarm!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirstiean...
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiet, Relaxing, Quite Simply a Perfect Place to Stay!”
Reviewed 27 November 2012 for a stay in November 2012

Me and my partner stayed at Brook Cottage from 3rd november 2012 for two weeks and had a fabulous time. The cottage is situated in a great part of Paignton which is within a reasonable distance to all local attractions. On arrival we were greeted by Mrs. Roberts who was very friendly and given a welcome pack of wine, biscuits and tea & coffee which we thought was a very nice touch. Our bed linen was changed after our first week and the washing up that we left in the sink from breakfast was also done that day (so if you see this Mrs. Roberts thank you ever so much and you really shouldnt have!) The cottage is gorgeous inside and out and it was a pleasure to be able to stay there, we will definitely be returning again. Our only slight concern was that we couldn't get any phone signal whilst inside the cottage but it may just have been our provider. Overall i recommend this cottage to anyone who is thinking of visiting Paignton or surrounding areas! Our winter break was simply perfect!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Perfect location
Liked least: No phone signal
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing