We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive wetherspoons in disguise.”
Review of Noahs Ark

Noahs Ark
Ranked #56 of 182 Restaurants in Paignton
Price range: US$8 - US$24
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Noahs Ark is a child friendly restaurant. Menu consists of large wholesome meals from locally sourced steaks to freshly prepared pasta dishes. All main meals include a visit to our fresh salad bar but please dont pile it too high as our chefs are well known for their large portions!Love football?? We show every live sky sports game on 3 flat screen tv's and one 14ft full HD projector and screen, and dont worry if your local team clashes with another as we have the availability of showing 3 different games on our tele's. If your having a party don't hesitate to look at our downstairs function room which will hold parties of 25-60 with comfort, however if your party is a little bigger don't worry we will always cater for you in the pub itself!
Paignton
1 review
“Expensive wetherspoons in disguise.”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

My family and i went to the ark during the Christmas week. The service was poor. I waited at an empty bar for over five minutes to be served. When the food came out it had obviously just been microwaved. Wetherspoon quality at best. My daughter was ill the next day??? Noticed a dirty looking chef outside having a cigarette as we were leaving.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ellan69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex M, Manager at Noahs Ark, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Hello Ellan69

I can not apologise enough for what was clearly sub-standard service and food. Here at the Noah's our chef's work hard producing home-made, real food and usually exceed peoples expectations. I can assure you that our chefs are as disappointed as I am that you did not enjoy your stay with us here at the Noah's.
I would like to rectify what happened to you on the day you came to our pub as we are greatly disappointed in not giving you the customer satisfaction you deserve.
I will send you my personal contact details in a private message in the hope that you may contact me and we can rectify the mistakes we made when serving you.

many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    27
    18
    18
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Just been for another great lunch at The Noahs Ark, and the food, was, as expected superb. Service with a smile from a friendly and efficient crew, plenty of vegetables, and piping hot plates to boot, would happily recommend to any one that is looking for a more than value and filling place to eat.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simmo30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex M, Manager at Noahs Ark, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Hi simmo30

many thanks for your kind review of our restaurant in paignton I hope to see you again soon and look forward to serving you another of our great sunday lunches.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Excellent Lunch.”
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

Came for lunch after visiting the Zoo, very friendly and helpful service and the food was brilliant! Generous portions and good value for money along with a very welcoming decor and smart look, if in the area again will Deffinatly pop back in.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MatthewKershaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex M, Manager at Noahs Ark, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Hello Matthew and thank you for your review of our restaurant in Paignton.
I'm glad to hear that when you visited us you found we ticked all the right boxes for you!
We hope you don't leave it too long before visiting the area again especially if it is just for a quick lunch with us?
Thank you again for your kind words about our restaurant in paignton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westbury, null, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent meal yet again.”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Another trip for half term which results in a wonderful meal. Friendly manager and a great atmosphere and didn't feel on edge having children with us which in so many places you do. A fine meal enjoyed by all of us. Huge thank you. A truly family friendly place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex M, Manager at Noahs Ark, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Hello Sarah and thank you for your review of our restaurant in Paignton.
I am glad that you have visited us more than once and on each occasion you have enjoyed your stay with us. Here at The Noah's we pride ourselves on being the most welcoming friendly pub around and i am glad to hear that on your stays with us this was the case!
many thanks again for your kind words and we look forward to you visiting us again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent all round”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We visited Noah's ark for a second time, and were not disappointed. The meals are all freshly cooked, and full of flavour. I had a vegetarian option, which i can honestly say was the best vege meal i have had in a long time, and the portions are an excellent size, even the kids meals are big. The pub is bright and has a lovely atmosphere. We will definately be going back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank siellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex M, Manager at Noahs Ark, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Hello Siellen
Thank you for your review of our restaurant in paignton, We are glad to hear that you have visited us twice and we have exceeded your expectations on both occasions. At the noah's we pride ourselves on home cooked food with customer satisfaction our top priority, and we always appreciate it when we hear we are consistently achieving our high standards.
thank you again for your kind words
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Noahs Ark also viewed

Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 
Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Noahs Ark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing