We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chaotic”

Brewers Fayre Inn On The Quay
Ranked #136 of 182 Restaurants in Paignton
Price range: US$13 - US$19
Cuisines: British
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Level Contributor
353 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Chaotic”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

I guess you get what you pay for. The good bits - reasonable food at a good price with the various offers available, friendly and helpful staff. The downside - chaotic ordering system meant a long wait to pay for the food, then another long wait to actually get it.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank soul_man_dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    191
    202
    153
    197
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dartmoor National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,297 reviews
703 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4,257 helpful votes
“Very poor for a chain pub”
Reviewed 24 March 2012

You don't really expect much visiting a chain pub like this, but, even by they're standards, this was a poor restaurant. It was a busy Saturday afternoon admittedly, but why you would only have one till for food (I was queuing for 10 minutes), whilst three other staff are not doing anything (for drinks orders only) is beyond me. The fact that everyone was trying to order snacks because it was hot and this was not allowed on a weekend is another questionable policy. A 25 minute wait for cold, and half missing food wasn't pleasant either. The only plus was the staff which were polite, the toilets were fine too, but the food was a big let down and the ordering system needs to be improved greatly. Won't be returning.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
14 Thank chammp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“this place was awful”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

on a packed bank holiday monday, we wanted some light lunch because the weather was not the best it could have been, so we found a table and ordered a snack type meal. We waited and waited and waited for over an hour for a starter and a burger and chips. The standard of the food was poor, in both quantity and quality and cold. Rather than wait for a replacement we decided to pay the bill and leave eventually. We complained to the company about the experience and they apologised with a lot of regret and kindly compensated us for a bad experience, at a later date we had another meal at another establishment nearer to home and that was a great improvement, the service was better, the meal was more enjoyable and the environment was a lot more pleasant.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
9 Thank elizabeth l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“I wouldn't go again if they paid me.”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I haven't been here for a couple of years and it did use to be quite good, so we decided to try it. We went for lunch, I had scampi and chips, the chips were great but the scampi was cheap and under- cooked and the peas were hard. I left most of the scampi. Still ill the next day though... My boyfriend had a burger, it was rubbery, like it had been miked. It wasn't good really. If you go here, get cheesy chips, they may be good. It was really busy, loads of children running around, maybe we were just unlucky.!! On a positive note the hot chocolate was lush.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank Angie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Average food - well below average customer focus”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Went here on Sunday for a quick / cheap evening meal with the family.
The weather had been good all day and we arrived around 630pm. It was obvious that they had had plenty of visitors to the beer garden during the day as the whole area resembled a rubbish tip with all the days rubbish strewn everywhere - I couldn't believe the staff had allowed it to get in such a state and it kind of set the scene for the rest of the visit .
The CArvery must have been left out since lunchtime - it looked dry and unappetising. Nevertheless my partner opted for this and after waiting nearly 10 minutes for a member of staff to come and serve at the carvery counter was served. They had run out of cauliflower cheese so she asked the server if he could get some more - she then waited about 5 minutes for him to serve a few more customers before he went into the kitchen never to return - she then gave up waiting as her meal was cold.
Other meals were OK for the price paid.
My partner though the carvery offer was £9 for a 2 course meal and when she went up to get the sweet was informed it was a salad starter she should have had. This was her mistake so fair enough. She went to the salad counter only to find half the offers had run out and what was left probably ready for teh bin so didn't bother - after the earlier performance it wasn't worth asking the staff to stock it up we'd probably still be there.

Overall average food, poor service and disgraeful housekeeping outside.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Bigfishjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brewers Fayre Inn On The Quay also viewed

Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 

Been to Brewers Fayre Inn On The Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing