We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good beer, reasonably priced and edible pub grub.”
Review of Isaac Merritt

Isaac Merritt
Ranked #56 of 186 Restaurants in Paignton
Price range: US$4 - US$15
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Basildon
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Good beer, reasonably priced and edible pub grub.”
Reviewed 25 March 2013

A typical Weatherspoon experience. We visited here every night during our 4 day stay in Paignton and I enjoyed trying the different ales, from local breweries, on tap each day.

We ate her on Friday and the offer of beer battered cod and chips plus a beer fro £5-99 seemed to good to be true. Well cooked and tasty food at an excellent price.

This is a typical Weatherspoons pub which offers good local Ales at a fair price plus a choice of food.

The only downside is the recent rationalisation of their menu means that items such as poached salmon no longer appear - a shame!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
p515, Manager at Isaac Merritt, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Thank you for your feedback, i am glad you have enjoyed spending your evenings with us and sampling our ales.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    86
    34
    9
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always good”
Reviewed 22 March 2013

A very good Wetherspoon pub.We have always found the food here to be good and as always with Wetherspoon the prices are very reasonable.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael140250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
p515, Manager at Isaac Merritt, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Thank you for your review, we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
394 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 354 helpful votes
“A Welcome Drink on a winter morning”
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Called in at the Isaac Merritt on a very cold February morning, being familiar will the weatherperson group of Pubs we knew it would be a good place to warm up with a Hot drink in pleasant surrounding's. The Pub is well furnished with Booths plus open seating. We had the Hot Chocolate, £1.35p each served in a large Mug, excellent value, and a tasty drink. Always good value in this chains Pubs.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKC0uple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best in Town”
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Arrived to meet with friends this evening at 5.00pm. found the place to be buzzing, the bar was soo well run that there were no que's building up this was ,. due to the efficiencey of the bar staff especially Denny who appeared to be in charge and knew exactly were everyone was in the que. We ordered the Aberdeen Angus steak, this was melt in the mouth the best steak I,ve tasted for years, the chips were cooked to perfection, we all thouroghly enjoyed our meals. We all agreed that we shall definately be returning very soon. Its more than just a pub.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ang441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just a pub.”
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Just a pub, standard Weatherspoons. Cheap drinks and cheap food. Packed most nights, good meeting spot.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lollington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Isaac Merritt also viewed

Paignton, English Riviera
Brixham, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 
Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 

Been to Isaac Merritt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing