We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the views and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Redcliffe Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Fantastic food and served in a manner that made it a special occassion.The rooms are very dated but I think perhaps it adds character to the place. We were lucky to be allocated a room with uninterupted sea views which was fanfastic.although the beds were not particularly comforable.The hotel is in a great location to enjoy touring the area however we went at the peak of the price tarrif and I consider it far too expensive.Would go again if a deal was available.

Room Tip: Definately go for the sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JACRayleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (418)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

389 - 395 of 418 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2011

Fabulous location overlooking the sea with lots of outside space to sit and savour the views. A ten minute stroll into the town centre.
Excellent facilities with an indoor and outdoor swimming pool. The hotel has lots of character as it was built in the 19th century in the style of the raj and has been sympathetically extended and is in a good decorative order.
We had a fantastic room with a great sea view and my parents were upgraded to the honeymoon suite. The room was comfortable and spacious and the housekeeping was extremely efficient.
Food was good and staff were very friendly. We would definitely choose to stay in this hotel again and would have no hesitation in recommending others to stay.
There is also a spacious car park.

Room Tip: Book early as there is no extra charge for a sea view and website advises that the best rooms are al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theothertwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

This is about the 7th or 8th time we have stayed at the Redcliffe Hotel and every time we do we are always very pleased. The location is marvellous, literally on the waters edge, and the sea is never more than a few metres away wherever you are. The dining room is fantastic and the views from the centre of the bay where the hotel is situated are unbeatable. The whole dining experience is one of the highlights of the holiday for us and we look forward to every meal we have in there. We used to eat out about 50% of the time in the past, but now we never bother and opt for the dinner, bed and breakfast option. Its much easier especially with young children. The food is always good and the staff are helpful and courteous. The last time we were not in the window which was a bit of a shame but never the less it was still lovely. Overall the hotel has pretty much everything you would want from an independent family run hotel. Indoor and outdoor pools, jacuzzi, steam/sauna rooms. Gymnasium, table tennis, pool, etc and lots of lovely sitting areas where you can relax in peace and read, talk or just generally while away some time. There are a few areas within the hotel which could maybe do with a bit of updating but overall the standard is very good. The rooms are clean and practical and lots of them have sea views and some have balconies (brilliant place to sit and take in the scenery) The only downside to our last visit was the floorboards in the corridor outside and also in our rooms were so squeaky they would wake people up during the night. Nothing a few well placed screws wouldnt fix though. So all in all up to the usual standard and we cant wait to go back again.

Room Tip: When booking ask for a room with a sea view and balcony if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gazzalad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Built as a home in the 1860's and converted into a hotel in 1904 this hotel is a family friendly, family run hotel. The nicest staff I can remember anywhere. It sits on the beach at Paignton and commands great views. Despite its age it is well maintained retaining many original features whilst offering a modern gym indoor and outdoor pools with sauna/steam room etc.

Take tea on the veranda overlooking the sea and have the biggest slice of cake you can imagine.

The dining room faces south east over the sea and with a sympathetically added conservatory is light and airy. The meals were of a high standard and each day there is a good selection of main and sweet courses. The 5 course dinner table d' hote is, well, filling. I am still trying to lose weight since having spent a week here. Met some really nice people too.

Room Tip: You don't have to book a week or have to check at weekends. No single supplements either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waywoodwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We recently stayed at this hotel for four nights. Its location is excellent for people who have a love of the sea. The reception and housekeeping staff are friendly and extremely efficient. There may be a cleaner hotel somewhere but I have never stayed in it.
However the adopted practice of the restaurant staff undermines the superb performance of their other colleagues.
At dinner on the first night we were subjected to a continual icy blast from the vent of a clearly defective air conditioning system. Despite three polite requests for action.All met with assurances this situation would be rectified. No action was taken. Apart from the discomfort our food all became cold before we could consume it.
On the second night we were more assertive and requested immediate action from the duty manger before commencing to dine. We received an apology for the previous oversight and the offending unit was turned off.
On the third night we were intercepted en route to our table by the duty manager and engaged in a discussion in the middle of the restaurant within earshot of most of the other diners.
It was explained to us the air conditioning unit would have to be operational that evening since if it were n’t the staff would be inconvenienced. Despite remonstrations to the effect the system was defective no assurance was given the it would be attended to and repaired. On reaching our table we did manage to eat before the air conditioning was turned on. The urgency of expecting an icy blast to once again descend upon us did detract from any enjoyment we might otherwise have had of the meal.
We dined elsewhere on the fourth night after our shaming experience of the previous evening.

This incident quite ruined our short holiday. It also caused me to notice other practices which I might previously have ignored.
The removal of unused items of cutlery during the meal, whilst you are eating even if it proved necessary to stretch across the plate setting.
The appearance of these items being put back in a fresh cutlery drawer when they should ideally go to the dishwasher.
Constantly being asked if the meal is to your satisfaction instead of being left to consume it in peace..
Do they not believe adults are capable of making known any difficulties if they arise ?
Used plates and dishes being snatched from the table by staff in transit rather than a systematic approach to clearance.
I could go on but I won’t
Possibly taking only bed and breakfast would enable you to enjoy the benefits of this hotel whilst minimising exposure to its less savoury element.

Room Tip: Sea views are ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank caveadsum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2011

There are some very nice things about this hotel. Silver service which is something which has near enough disappeared wth most european hotels. The eat as much as you want buffet is ok at times, but food served to you is something which I enjoyed very much.
The room was nice and the bathroom very clean. As for the food, it wasn't 5 star cooking but all the same very good and at times excellent. Would I go on our own? Yes I think it is great little hotel with very helpful staff. This is an old style english hotel at its best and very charming too!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are good but slighly smaller
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidF888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2011

Went here for a dance weekend. Excellent value & good facilities. On a very cold weekend the whole place was toasting. Nice pool. Good dancefloor. Restaurant staff were very good.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jag500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paignton
0.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#3 of 17 in Paignton
629 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
0.6 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 17 in Paignton
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
354 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#11 of 85 in Torquay
935 reviews
0.4 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#10 of 17 in Paignton
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Redcliffe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Redcliffe Hotel

Address: Marine Drive, Paignton TQ3 2NL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Paignton
#2 Business Hotel in Paignton
#5 Family Hotel in Paignton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Paignton
Price Range: £92 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Redcliffe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly situated on the Seafront of Paignton in the "English Riviera". The Redcliffe offers every facility to ensure a enjoyable and memorable stay, whether for business or pleasure.The Redcliffe is a privately owned hotel with 69 bedrooms, set in 3 acres of grounds at sea level, and enjoys panoramic views across Tor Bay, from elegant Torquay on one side to the quaint fishing port of Brixham on the other.All bedrooms are en suite with Digital LCD TV, Radio, Free 5G Wi Fi, tea making facilities, hairdryers and direct dial telephones. There are also a number of inter-connecting rooms, ideal for families.Private car parking for 100 cars is available in the hotel's spacious grounds.We pride ourselves on the warm and friendly atmosphere within the hotel and our many long-serving staff ensure that standards of service remain as high today as they were 30 years ago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Redcliffe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redcliffe Hotel Paignton
The Redcliffe Hotel Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing