We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Redcliffe Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
Certificate of Excellence
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“fantastic hotel”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

well that says it all really we were on a dance holiday with a local coach company and it was the f irst time they had used this hotel We had a sea view room which was lovely the dining room was overlooking the beach sea and was equally stunning. the food was excellent 5 courses for breakfast and evening dinner served by very attentive staff who couldnt do enough for you. Tea and coffee facilities in the bedroom were fine. we made use of the swimming pool,jaccuzzi steam room and sauna. we didnt use the gym though we could have done so. We would definitely go to this hotel again, one thing to mention was that after all of us making an effort to dress for dinner as asked that some people were wearing jeans and tee shirts dont feel they should have been allowed to eat there. It was such a lovely dining room almost as stepping back in time. I would recommend this hotel to anyone its definitely a favourite.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RINGSTEAD99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    85
    38
    14
    12
See reviews for
101
122
13
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
South West
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

After 11 years of organizing group holidays to The Redcliffe this review is truly overdue!
In all the time we have been visiting the hotel the standards have been consistent and the management and staff dependent and reliable to deliver good service from both the perspective of myself organising the holiday and the exeprience of our holiday makers while on the holiday. We are a dance group but the focus of our holiday is by no means simply about the dancing. In the hotels we use we look for comfortable and spotlessly clean accommodation along with a high standard of cuisine and a level of service that is professional and friendly. The fact that we have been returning to The Redcliffe at least twice a year for the past 11 years is testimony in itself to what the hotel offers. It is worth saying that we have on numerous occsasions stayed as private guests aswell as with our group and things are equally good from both view points. I notice there are comments here about the dated decor etc and would like to comment that this is a very large and well used building and while the decor may be traditional it is very well cared for and is still in very good order, for many guests the charm of this hotel lies in the fact that it is unashamedly traditional. This being said as a group organiser I have seen at some time or another most of the bedrooms and of course all of the public areas on a regular basis and as rooms / public areas are refurbished they are sensitivley modernised and updated while maintaining the heritage of the building. We have just returned from another 4 night stay and we have had a great time in every respect, the food was exceptionally good as was the overall holiday experience. The beauty room represents good value for money and is well worth a visit. Thankyou Redcliffe for many great times over more than a decade! We look forward to many more.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bendance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

This hotel has definitely got the Sunday Dinner experience off to a fine art.
With Silver Service,Beautiful Food and Lovely staff and all for £15.00 a head.
Brilliant all round! Well Done to the Redcliffe.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deeshay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south devon
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Arrived to enquire about a booking," Front of House" not professional, untidy, with staff at? 3pm cleaning brass at the front desk... what a smell.!

The Hotel badly needs a "makeover," very dated . Carpets and wallpaper in a "time warp".

I have had tea upstairs , and no , very shabby.

Would not recommend any of my family to stay here.

Come on Redcliff Hotel " get your act together" as you have a prime position, right on sea front.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kezziedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Originally built by a retired Indian Army officer on an Eastern theme. Later owned by Paris Singer (sewing machine manufacturer), very conveniently his lover Isadora Duncan lived next door! The Redcliffe has been a hotel for over 100 years
We have stayed at the Redciffe Hotel every spring for the last 12 years, going as part of sequence dance group, (about 50 of us). We are always pleased with the hotel. The silver service dinner in the restaurant is always superb. The service cannot be faulted. The rooms are very comfortable and are of different sizes. One excellent feature is the swimming pool complex which has a jacuzzi, steam room and sauna. This free for residents, locals pay for membership. There is also a fitness room fitted with different exercise items(The hotel provides lovely towels at no charge.) This hotel is often used for functions by the local rotary club or for wedding receptions. The locals reckon it is the best hotel in Paignton. Car parking is adequate, but it gets a bit crowded when locals arrive for Sunday lunch. We have the use of the dance floor evry evening after dinner, there is a well stocked bar close by

Room Tip: The nicest rooms are situated above the dance floor, facing the sea... Room 52(?) is situated in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Conway1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We had a one night stay which was originally an x-mas party with a night's stay and breakfast ...... unfortunately the party was cancelled due to lack of numbers but we decided too keep the booking and have the normal table d'hote evening meal plus B&B. We were not disappointed .... food, room, service were all excellent, we were lucky enough to get a sea view which was wonderful. This hotel certainly gives "good old fashioned service"

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

I am rather tardy in filing this report as I stayed last June/July for a week. It was actually one
of the best holidays myself and husband had experienced for many years. This hotel provides
exactly what it says it will on its website, excellent service levels from everyone though we had
a particular soft spot for Trevor in the restaurant. Nothing at all was too much trouble. The
hotel is well looked after and in immaculate order, the decoration tends to the traditional but
rather that than looking mutton dressed as lamb. I have stayed at many a 4 star hotel that
did not have such very good standards as this one. I especially like the smart dress rule in
the restaurant as it was very nice to enter and see that everyone had made some effort. When
we stayed there were several formation dance groups from the Midlands who had visited
several times a year for very many years. Lovely people and it was a delight to watch them
dance in the evening.Very well positioned especially if you book early and have a sea view
room as we did. Good safe parking. Well situated as we could walk into Paignton and used
the trains/buses the entire week . We have spent the last few months deciding where to go
in 2012 and guess what it looks as if it will be the Redcliffe as it is all we like in a holiday
hotel.

Room Tip: Book very early in the season if you want a seaview room, especially if you would like a balcony as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcsuzy1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paignton
0.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#3 of 17 in Paignton
542 reviews
0.9 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
334 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#11 of 17 in Paignton
282 reviews
0.6 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 17 in Paignton
506 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Redcliffe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Redcliffe Hotel

Property: The Redcliffe Hotel
Address: Marine Drive, Paignton TQ3 2NL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Paignton
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Paignton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Paignton
#6 Family Hotel in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Redcliffe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly situated on the Seafront of Paignton in the "English Riviera". The Redcliffe offers every facility to ensure a enjoyable and memorable stay, whether for business or pleasure.The Redcliffe is a privately owned hotel with 69 bedrooms, set in 3 acres of grounds at sea level, and enjoys panoramic views across Tor Bay, from elegant Torquay on one side to the quaint fishing port of Brixham on the other.All bedrooms are en suite with Digital LCD TV, Radio, Free 5G Wi Fi, tea making facilities, hairdryers and direct dial telephones. There are also a number of inter-connecting rooms, ideal for families.Private car parking for 100 cars is available in the hotel's spacious grounds.We pride ourselves on the warm and friendly atmosphere within the hotel and our many long-serving staff ensure that standards of service remain as high today as they were 30 years ago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Redcliffe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redcliffe Hotel Paignton
The Redcliffe Hotel Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing