We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Redcliffe Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
Certificate of Excellence
Trowbridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel great location”
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for the weekend in a large group. Have stayed here 4 times. This hotel has great location just on the beach rd. beautiful pool and sauna. Great staff could not be more helpful. Standard of food exceptional considering there was over 100 of us! No waiting for service it was just so well organised.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    83
    34
    12
    9
See reviews for
95
116
12
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newton Abbot
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Mp partner and i and a couple of friends went to this hotel today for Sunday lunch.We chose here because we were being treated to lunch by our friends and knew that the standard would be excellent.Everything was perfect,The setting(We had a window table) the service,And the food was piping hot served on hot plates,And good value as well.If your looking for somewhere for lunch on a Sunday then this is the place to go....EXCELLENT!

Room Tip: Try and get a Window table in the restaurant,The views are "Breathtaking"
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

The perfect location for our daughters June wedding, right on the coast in Torbay, the service and attention from the management team and the staff was second to none, right from the first booking to the wedding day itself, top class, hired the ballroom for the wedding breakfast and evening reception, even with an hours delay the staff worked efficiently to ensure the food and drink was exceptional, most of the family stayed until the following day and had breakfast with the happy couple! well done Redcliffe - you made our daughters day a special day to remember

Room Tip: Higher floors and a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We keep returning to this hotel every year and find the standards have been maintained year on year for the last 10 years ..... particularly the food which is exceptionally high.The views are excellent from the front and closeness to the sea.

Room Tip: Sea views are awesome and well worth having
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

A very pleasant building in a nice location, rooms with sea views are genuinely worth having. They very much appear to cater for the more senior guest and consequently the food on offer is a little dated. Having said that it was good but four courses as standard was a bit much to eat although good value at £22. The service is also old fashioned and you can expect well mannered waiting staff.

The health suite is mostly occupied by senior citizens who are clearly regulars they dominate pool and jacuzzi & give the impression that guests from the hotel with children are interlopers.

The hotel was quite empty and there was one staff member covering reception and bar. A sign in the bar asked guests wanting drinks to fetch someone from reception. Not terribly convenient or hospitable.

When checking out the bill was overly complicated as it did not resemble the booking made online and having had food and drink charged it was littered with credits, supplements and transfers, even the receptionist struggled to explain but we got there in the end. Overall impressions were good. The hotel is a little starchy but I expect some regular clientele might like that.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Just spent a perfect weekend here , perfect setting and nice friendly greeting with good service and great breakfast , very friendly owners and nice accomodation , looking forward to staying again , fantastic views from front rooms , chris @dawn

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cart25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We chose the Redcliff to celebrate our ruby wedding anniversary and we were not disappointed. I made an appointment to meet with the manager who spent quite some time with us planning our special event. we were shown different menus to choose from and also were able to change some of the menu to personalize it. We were given a private function room overlooking the sea. The elegant room was set out beautifully with a long table decorated with red flowers and napkins to match our theme A waiter greeted us with glass of wine and a small table and stand were provided for our wedding cake. The three course meal was wonderful and the staff were so willing to help.Nothing was too much to ask for.....although our booking was for 1.30 pm our daughter was allowed to go in early to stage the room with surprises and to our delight we were given the room for the remainder of the day at no extra cost.The staff even set up a dance floor and provided cd player so that we could dance to our favorite song. Their were 25 guests and everyone has said what a wonderful meal it was, the fact that two are chefs themselves I thought that was great recommendation. I can't wait to savor there menu once again!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank bayviewwriters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paignton
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
0.9 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#4 of 17 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,670 reviews
0.4 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#11 of 17 in Paignton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.6 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 17 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Redcliffe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Redcliffe Hotel

Property: The Redcliffe Hotel
Address: Marine Drive, Paignton TQ3 2NL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Paignton
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Paignton
#6 Family Hotel in Paignton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Redcliffe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly situated on the Seafront of Paignton in the "English Riviera". The Redcliffe offers every facility to ensure a enjoyable and memorable stay, whether for business or pleasure.The Redcliffe is a privately owned hotel with 69 bedrooms, set in 3 acres of grounds at sea level, and enjoys panoramic views across Tor Bay, from elegant Torquay on one side to the quaint fishing port of Brixham on the other.All bedrooms are en suite with Digital LCD TV, Radio, Free 5G Wi Fi, tea making facilities, hairdryers and direct dial telephones. There are also a number of inter-connecting rooms, ideal for families.Private car parking for 100 cars is available in the hotel's spacious grounds.We pride ourselves on the warm and friendly atmosphere within the hotel and our many long-serving staff ensure that standards of service remain as high today as they were 30 years ago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Redcliffe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redcliffe Hotel Paignton
The Redcliffe Hotel Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing