We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location but it ends there...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Redcliffe Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
Certificate of Excellence
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
226 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Fantastic location but it ends there...”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We called in for lunch as our two very elderly guests had both been before, on several occasions, and said that it was nice.
The weather was glorious so we sat outside on the veranda with probably the best panoramic view in Torbay as it is almost exactly in the middle of the bay and right at the front.
We had drinks at first, which were fine, and the bar staff were very friendly.
We then ordered lunch which had to be done from from the bar which is not great.
We waited a long time for the starters to arrive (chicken liver pate) which was badly let down by 'plastic bread' and a meagre salad. We had just started eating our starters when the main courses arrived which is appalling service and not acceptable. As three of us had ordered crab salads we chose to keep them (we would have sent back any hot food) and particularly as one of the guests had no starter but a hot main course which they brought out with our cold starters (accident or deliberate we didn't ask).
The quantity of crab was fine, albeit heavily biassed towards brown meat, but each of us had several bits of hard shell in the crab which was poor preparation as well as a shock to the teeth! Again, it was served with 'plastic bread' and an excuse for a salad.
We were extremely disappointed with the food overall and did see food left on plates at other tables which may, or may not, indicate that others felt the same.
Our elderly guests were too polite (old fashioned) to say anything and we chose not to so as not to embarrass them at the time.
We are due to take them out again soon and I know that one of them will suggest the Redcliffe because of the view and their low expectations of food.
However, we will suggest an alternative venue as I really feel that the Redcliffe probably has regular customers who are impressed by the overall general appearance of the hotel, its terrific location and are happy to accept incredibly average food.
Probably an excellent place in the 70s but not good enough today.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peterindevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    83
    34
    12
    9
See reviews for
95
116
12
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a ballroom dance themed weekend. It was fab!
The hotel is in a gorgeous position, right on the seafront. With windows all along the services side, it feels like a cruise ship. Our room was a little old fashioned, but spotless clean,with balcony, seaview and lovely bathroom. The food and service in the dining room and bar was very good. The staff were all pleasant and could not have been more helpful. Good old-fashioned service in the best way possible. Lovely dance floor too. Would definitely go here again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We called in for a cream tea, with my Aunt who is 101 years, she was in a wheel chair, we had to walk around almost half the building on the outside of the hotel, and try to find a fire exit door that was open, so we could enter the building, which we found totally unacceptable.

We did however have a nice cream tea, but totally spoiled, with the Lack of Access for Wheelchairs, to be honest I really thought that all establishments had to have 'Disabled facilities'

As nice as the cream tea was, we will never go back again, until they have better access, Im really not sure how guests who stay at the hotel manage...!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Janetb2929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redclfe, Front Office Manager at The Redcliffe Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
We thank you for leaving us a review but would like to say that we are very disappointed that you feel we have not been satisfactory in reaching an outcome for you and your guests.

There are a range of facilities for the less mobile within the hotel and we are continually trying to improve our facilities to meet these needs.

We always strive to assist any of our guests with entrance to the hotel and would like to clarify that we have ramped access at the rear of the hotel, along the terrace is all flat and very easily accessed and we also have disabled toilets and newly created changing facilities in the leisure complex alongside two of our rooms which we let out for the less mobile guest.

Please be assured that we will always give you our best attention and would like to see you return to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kosice, Slovakia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I spent a wonderful holiday with my whole family in this exceptional hotel !!!! The views are unforgettable and the whole stay was as pleasant as you cannot imagine.... The hotel is very clean and it has its own cosy atmosphere. It is located just by the sea, the food is fantastic, the chef is really perfect. Moreover, the staff in the whole hotel are really very kind, helpful and friendly, they do their best to help you to enjoy your holiday as much as possible. We do travel quite often and we have spent a lot of time in different places and different hotels in the world (mostly Europe but in Asia and The US as well) and The Redcliffe Hotel in Paignton has become one of our favourite places. Paignton is also a very convenient place for holidaymakers as in its neighbourhood there is so much to see and if you have not got a car there, the bus station and the railway station are very close to the hotel. We will definitely come back soon (and I am sure we will be regular guests).

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are the best ones but you can enjoy the view from the bar terrace and from the restau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Silvia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
118 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Have just got back from spending yet another weekend at the Redcliffe. We were in our usual room 101, now freshly decorated with magnolia walls. This is a traditional hotel with traditional high standards of service to match, plenty of waiting staff at dinner ready to serve food of very high standard. The breakfast menu is also very good, with haddock or kippers as an alternative to traditional English breakfast. I opted for mushrooms on toast as my alternative, and they were cooked to perfection. My well traveled bear came with us this time, photos can be seen of him at the Redcliffe at https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.613568628737206.1073741836.340563206037751&type=1

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a weekend function.
Very smooth check in. Room satisfactory but not great. Nice sea view though.
Evening meal was lovely both evenings as was the breakfast. Staff were exceptional and could not do enough for you. Would certainly return.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Although the location is great and the views are stunning this hotel is very old fashioned, with its nineteen twenties deco and layout.

The staff are keen and friendly and at all times very helpful but this does not hide the fact that you are taking a step back in time.

Only a personnel preference but I do prefer the more modern hotels, saying that I could not really find fault , the food ok but a limited choice, the pool area is a good size with sauna and hot tub and the gym was quite well fitted out.

My room was no 36 with views down the coast with a great size bath and shower, the blankets on the bed were quite old and scratchy but once again it did the job.

As stated if you stay here you will bump into lots of elderly guest as they have been staying here for years and have become part of the charm. (If that floats your boat).

WIFI does not work in the rooms you have to be in reception or close to it

And the furniture in the rooms with free standing wardrobes and old style dressers is a reminder of the age of this place.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monkey170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paignton
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
0.9 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#4 of 17 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,671 reviews
0.4 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#11 of 17 in Paignton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.6 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 17 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Redcliffe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Redcliffe Hotel

Property: The Redcliffe Hotel
Address: Marine Drive, Paignton TQ3 2NL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Paignton
#2 Business Hotel in Paignton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Paignton
#6 Family Hotel in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Redcliffe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly situated on the Seafront of Paignton in the "English Riviera". The Redcliffe offers every facility to ensure a enjoyable and memorable stay, whether for business or pleasure.The Redcliffe is a privately owned hotel with 69 bedrooms, set in 3 acres of grounds at sea level, and enjoys panoramic views across Tor Bay, from elegant Torquay on one side to the quaint fishing port of Brixham on the other.All bedrooms are en suite with Digital LCD TV, Radio, Free 5G Wi Fi, tea making facilities, hairdryers and direct dial telephones. There are also a number of inter-connecting rooms, ideal for families.Private car parking for 100 cars is available in the hotel's spacious grounds.We pride ourselves on the warm and friendly atmosphere within the hotel and our many long-serving staff ensure that standards of service remain as high today as they were 30 years ago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Redcliffe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redcliffe Hotel Paignton
The Redcliffe Hotel Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing