We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking delightful hotel in perfect spot between two bays. Unique and full of character :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Redcliffe Hotel
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed here with my family and had a connecting room for my children aged 7 & 9, they even had their own key which they loved. Hotel magnificent, loved all the different rooms we could use, bar, so many lounges. swimming pool indoors and out we're wonderful. Staff so friendly and helpful. Offering advice where to go, days out, happy to talk to you which makes a pleasant change. Food was delicious, and staff happy to accommodate kids needs. The kids were very relaxed here, as we're we, they were able to go off and be independent whilst we watched from a distance. Also loved the secret tunnel to the beach. Hotel full of quirks, a real gem, not like chain hotels. Full of character which makes it unique.
The only negative was the wifi, for a big hotel the wifi needs to be properly reviewed. In this age of everyone on tablets, phones, iPads, laptops the hotel needs to move with times and update their system. There is no wifi in rooms despite having routers around the hotel. The only place you can get wifi is reception and there are only 2 chairs here. As a family, we had tablets thinking our children could watch films in room thru wifi. We were sadly disappointed. Something needs to be done to address this.
Overall though an excellent hotel and have already rebooked for next year. :)

Room Tip: We stayed room 47&48, connecting rooms opposite the lift so very handy when moving luggage. No s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

Having stayed at the Redcliffe Hotel for many years, we can honestly say that we have enjoyed the experience every time. Situated between Brixham and Torquay it is ideally placed for excursions around the Torbay area.

The hotel is somewhat dated in places, however you soon come to realise that this just adds to quaint charm of the building. This hotel is family run, but to a very high standard. With all of the amenities expected, Gym, Indoor pool, outdoor pool (seasonal), restaurant, bar and a really lovely Ballroom.

The rooms are very pleasant, especially if you happen to have been given one with a sea view.
The food was superb. All of the staff are ever so friendly and efficient. In fact one could surmise that the majority of the staff had worked there since the hotel was built, they really do look as if they are part of the establishment.

We will continue to stay at the Redcliffe Hotel whenever we are in Paignton.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view to enhance the experience of your stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank STERONJOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

attended a wedding rcepetion here on Saturday 9th of August , lovely location. the staff were very professional and helpful at all times. The wedding meal was excellent served hot and well presented, cannot praise the staff highly enough. All in all a great day and experience at the Redcliffe Hotel, many thanks.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank Hoops-Morton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
817
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

We ended up staying at the redcliffe for one night by chance. Having checked out of a truly awful hotel - the Imperial - which I have written a review of separately, we happened to get rooms at the redcliffe.

The service was excellent, five star in our opinion, from the first point of contact with Kate at reception to our checkout and in between. A proper seaside hotel. The furniture was olde world with an eclectic mix. The views over the bay were amazing and the children especially loved the "secret passage" to the beach.

The food was excellent, the staff friendly and professional and the whole experience was delightful. In fact, it was so amazing that we are going back in a couple of weeks to enjoy more time in this real gem of a hotel.

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This is a lovely traditional hotel. We have visited The Redcliffe on several previous occasions and always had a very pleasant time.The location is superb being alongside Paignton beach.
Car parking is free which makes a nice change.
This hotel is traditional in the best possible way. What makes this hotel is the friendly, helpful staff.
The food is good. The rooms are neat and tidy, clean and homely.
There is a lovely ballroom if you like dancing.
Many of the rooms have a sea view which is an added bonus.

Room Tip: A room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank williwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Oh I do like to be beside the seaside & yes I did like staying at the Redcliffe Hotel.

The location must be the best in Torbay , right on the seafront in the centre of the bay, the views were tremendous, especially from the dining room & the large terrace.

The thing that never failed to make me smile was the door in the bar which had a sign saying “ to the beach “ , through the door was a curved stone staircase leading to a tunnel under the terrace to the door in the cliff & steps down to the beach. Especially good when the tide was in & the water was deep. There was also an outdoor & indoor pool which were both excellent.

Other reviewers mentioned the hotel needed redecorating , but the vintage shabby chic was charming , how can you paint over genuine Victorian wall paper. The public rooms were large & plentiful & full of antique furniture & chandeliers.

I would rate the hotel generally a 4 star , I think the 3 star rating is due to the dated bedroom furniture & furnishings , but they were comfortable & clean & my bathroom was large & the shower worked well. I had 80 channels on the t.v & tea & coffee & a kettle. I would have liked the same towels in the room & by the pool which were used in the leisure facility , but I just grabbed a couple & used them anyway.

Also other reviewers have talked about the “ old fashioned service” – the service was 5 star; the sort of impeccable service you would get at the The Savoy or the The Ritz , nothing was too much trouble for the staff & there professionalism was a delight . A special thank you to the nice lady on reception who gave me a late checkout due to my late afternoon flight back home.

Breakfast was good , my lunchtime snacks by the pool of crab sandwiches were very good , all served flawlessly.

My stay at the Redcliffe made me fall in love with Paignton again & I booked a return trip when I returned home for some more of that quintessential English seaside experience.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Kymallia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

My husband and I have just come back from a 4 day stay. The Hotel stands right on the waters edge. My husband is disabled and the service we got was great. All the staff were friendly and could not help (when required) enough. We were allocated a room which had sea views towards Torquay from one window and along Paignton seafront and Brixham from another window and small balcony (big enough for seating of two chairs). The bedroom and bathroom was very clean and tidy. Food was excellent and plenty of it. After reading some reviews stating that the age group of guest is mainly over 60's, we were unsure, but when we stayed here the age ranged from 3 years to 80's with no minority age group. Although the wifi is free, it is very difficult, only seems available by reception. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank KimWearne9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paignton
0.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#2 of 17 in Paignton
635 reviews
0.6 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 17 in Paignton
561 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
354 reviews
0.4 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#10 of 17 in Paignton
299 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 85 in Torquay
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Redcliffe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Redcliffe Hotel

Address: Marine Drive, Paignton TQ3 2NL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Paignton
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Paignton
#5 Family Hotel in Paignton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Paignton
Price Range: £84 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Redcliffe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly situated on the Seafront of Paignton in the "English Riviera". The Redcliffe offers every facility to ensure a enjoyable and memorable stay, whether for business or pleasure.The Redcliffe is a privately owned hotel with 69 bedrooms, set in 3 acres of grounds at sea level, and enjoys panoramic views across Tor Bay, from elegant Torquay on one side to the quaint fishing port of Brixham on the other.All bedrooms are en suite with Digital LCD TV, Radio, Free 5G Wi Fi, tea making facilities, hairdryers and direct dial telephones. There are also a number of inter-connecting rooms, ideal for families.Private car parking for 100 cars is available in the hotel's spacious grounds.We pride ourselves on the warm and friendly atmosphere within the hotel and our many long-serving staff ensure that standards of service remain as high today as they were 30 years ago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Atrapalo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Redcliffe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redcliffe Hotel Paignton
The Redcliffe Hotel Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing