We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wake up to the sound of the waves!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Redcliffe Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
Certificate of Excellence
Dartford
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wake up to the sound of the waves!”
Reviewed 29 September 2010

This is a lovely hotel right on the sandy beach with excellent food and service.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OastDartford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    83
    34
    12
    9
See reviews for
95
116
12
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Halstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2010

Although this hotel is rated by the AA as 3 star, it would not take a great deal for it to become a 4 star, which in my opinion it deserves.

Traveling with my 89 year old blind deaf mother, I stayed at the Redcliffe for a week, and from the moment we arrived to the time we left, the management and the staff could not do enough for us.

The Hotel although an old building has been maintained to a very high standard, and modernized over the years, whilst retaining the best of the older features

The bedroom was airy and well appointed, always keep spotlessly clean, as was the hotels public rooms. The restaurant was well run and staffed, the choice of food was excellent, well presented and cooked to a high standard.

When talking to the staff many of them had been with the hotel for a number of years, and they seemed genuinely happy to be working there. All the staff I came in contact with showed they where focused on customer service, which makes a change for some hotel staff these days.

I believe that the ongoing success of this hotel is all due to the owners, who have a very hands on approach, and can be seen around the hotel and are approachable.

I would recommend this Hotel to anybody wishing to stay in the Torbay area as it is comfortable and gives very good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raythorpetracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Coast
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2010

I stayed at the Redcliffe with a group of dancers in May 2010. The staff are wonderfully helpful; nothing is too much trouble. I am coeliac and dairy intolerant and the restaurant staff went to a great deal of trouble to ensure that I could eat from the menu, showing me each morning what was for dinner in the evening. If there was nothing I could eat from the menu they prepared special food for me.

The location is wonderful. The famous jockey turned author, the late Dick Francis stayed at this hotel each summer for many years and I can truly understand why. The rooms are clean and well appointed and the building has an ambiance that is lacking from many hotels these days. Well done to the Management and Staff. Long may you continue to run this superb hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SouthCoastBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2010

I stayed at the Redcliffe Hotel with a large group of Parkinson's Disease Sufferers. Everyone who came thoroughly enjoyed themselves. ALL STAFF were amazing and couldn't help my passengers more if they had tried. Everyone wanted to help. The hotel itself was fantastic, the food out of this world.

We will definitely bring another party again soon. Thank You Redcliffe!!

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine6631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2009

We have just spent one night at the Redcliffe as part of a group for a large function on the Saturday night.

The hotel is in an excellent quiet location right on the sea front and thankfully away from the town centre and the pier. There is a large car park and although it was pretty full we managed to find a space.

The staff on reception were welcoming and helpful with local information and we were able to get into our room before the usual 2.00pm check in time.

The lobby, magnificent staircase and function rooms are impressive, although the carpet in the corridors was a little threadbare in parts and on the stairs quite dusty. Furnishings were mixed, shame about the cheap low tables next to plush couches and lamps - although undoubtedly more expensive it would have been far better if it had all been in keeping with the era.

The bedroom was spotlessly clean but quite small with cheap looking pine furniture, the decor a bit naff with a floral border to match the curtains. In the bathroom there were soap and toilet paper dispensers but none of the usual toiletries. There was plenty of storage space and the bed was very comfortable. With a little more thought and design and not too much expense, guests could have had the opportunity to stay in a room that reflected the times when the hotel had been built

We were disappointed with our view - looking in one direction over the car park and in another a flat roof and in the distance the sea. It really was the luck of the draw as fellow guests had a balcony leading off their rooms with a full panorama of the sea.

The hotel's terraces leading off the bar and dining room were superb and a real sun trap. The outdoor pool was closed (gates locked) although it certainly would have been hot enough to sunbathe. The sunbathing area looked lovely with plenty of sun loungers.

The dining room was delightful with beautiful chandeliers and the most amazing view of the sea. As it was warm, the doors leading onto the beach were open and we could wander onto the balcony for stunning views of Brixham and Torquay. The waiting staff in the dining room and bar were most pleasant, nothing was too much trouble.

The food at dinner was excellent, piping hot, well presented and plentiful - breakfast the following day far less so. There was a selection of cheap watered down juices, cereals, yoghurts and tinned fruits. Rolls and croissants would have been welcome. The cooked English breakfast was disappointing - small portions, greasy and over cooked.

Paignton's main street has one amusement arcade, discount shop and café after another. So on the Sunday after we had checked out, we decided to go to the picturesque harbour of Brixham (15 minute drive) which is well worth a visit and then onto Greenway a National Trust property (another 10 minutes). This was the holiday home of Agatha Christie and was acquired recently by the Trust. It contains many of Agatha's personal belongings and has been kept as it had been when she lived there. The gardens and grounds were magnificent so need to allow a couple of hours to see everything. A space in the car park needs to be booked in advance and visitors are given a timed ticket for entry into the house.

All in all we had a lovely weekend and would return to the Redcliffe if we found ourselves visiting the area again.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank awmw2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2009

Would recommend this hotel to anyone, have just spend a wonderful weekend there.
Its got something for everyone and is ideal for young and old.
The staff are very friendly and the rooms are a good size.
Throughout the whole hotel everywhere is exeptionally clean with a touch of old world charm and elegance. Cannot understand the negative reviews were they at the same hotel, there is one hotel with a very similar name!!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestMidlandsTess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2009

We stayed at the Redcliffe for a week with our young children. Our family room was excellent, one very large room divided into two so the kids had their own room but were still right next to us. The bathroom was enormous, with lovely long bath and a seperate shower cubicle. Each room had its own TV. There was plenty of wardrobe and drawer space, comfy beds and everything was spotlessly clean. We stayed for b&b, but also had a few meals in the bar, which were excellent value - huge portions! The breakfast was delicious with several options to choose from and the staff always helpful, especially with the children's likes and dislikes.

We used the superb indoor pool and jacuzzi every day, also very clean with helpful staff. I can't recommend this hotel highly enough, and talking to other guests it seemed that families return here year after year for the excellent service and facilities. I hope we do too!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CherryChocolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paignton
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
0.9 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#4 of 17 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,670 reviews
0.4 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#11 of 17 in Paignton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.6 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 17 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Redcliffe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Redcliffe Hotel

Property: The Redcliffe Hotel
Address: Marine Drive, Paignton TQ3 2NL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Paignton
#2 Business Hotel in Paignton
#6 Family Hotel in Paignton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Redcliffe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly situated on the Seafront of Paignton in the "English Riviera". The Redcliffe offers every facility to ensure a enjoyable and memorable stay, whether for business or pleasure.The Redcliffe is a privately owned hotel with 69 bedrooms, set in 3 acres of grounds at sea level, and enjoys panoramic views across Tor Bay, from elegant Torquay on one side to the quaint fishing port of Brixham on the other.All bedrooms are en suite with Digital LCD TV, Radio, Free 5G Wi Fi, tea making facilities, hairdryers and direct dial telephones. There are also a number of inter-connecting rooms, ideal for families.Private car parking for 100 cars is available in the hotel's spacious grounds.We pride ourselves on the warm and friendly atmosphere within the hotel and our many long-serving staff ensure that standards of service remain as high today as they were 30 years ago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Redcliffe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redcliffe Hotel Paignton
The Redcliffe Hotel Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing