We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BOWLS TOUR TO REMEMBER”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Redcliffe Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 January 2011

This was our first bowls tour and I do not think our stay at this hotel could ever be surpassed. The check in was well organised for a large group and our twin room was spacious with an excellent bathroom. Everything was clean and bright and serviced to the highest standard every day. The dining room was delightful and the food was superb. The breakfast was amazing and we were spoilt for choice, it really set us up for the day. Dinner was just as good, plenty of choice, generous portions and cooked to a very high standard. All staff were very attentive and helpful. I hope we will be going to this hotel again and we would recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladyb0wler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (399)
There are newer reviews for The Redcliffe Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

379 - 385 of 399 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2011

A couple of things that occured to us:

We feel that having the Pool table in the morning room where the television was downstairs was not a good idea. If people were in there watching television they would not want to be interrupted by people playing pool. The pool table should be moved to within the bar area.

We were also taken aback with staff attittudes when placing an order for lunch in the bar and the order came wrong and then it was taken away and just modified, however not satisfactorily. We actually felt we had been a real nuisance that day.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrissielittler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2010

We have been regular visitors to the Redcliffe Hotel for some years, always during the low season. As a family owned hotel, Guests are assured of the highest levels of service and personal attention. The Hotel is located in an excellent positon with superb views of Torbay and altthough only a short walk from the centre of Paignton, is far enough away not to be affected by the noise from the usual visitor attractions of a seaside resort. The comfortable lounges provide a quiet haven where guests can meet up with friends, whilst the Hotel Restaurant is a delight, the large panoramic windows affording magnificent views over the bay. Food quality is excellent - with a choice of imaginative dishes available each evening for Dinner from a varied menu that offers something for every taste. Similarly, Breakfast at the Redcliffe is a delight, with an excellent selection of all the usual goodies. The only minor observation (not a criticism) we would make is that for guests used to sleeping in a king size bed, the standard double bed can take a while to get used to. All in all, though, this is a Hotel that we would recommend unreservedly.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grandad69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2010

Do not be put off by the slightly dark appearance of both the foyer and the external walls of this hotel converted from a Victorian Gentleman's home in c1906. I must admit I had been put off in the past,but some friends of ours thankfully recommended the Redcliffe
( Incidentally,many people do admire this feature but not not to my taste).
This is a traditional seaside hotel with superb sea-views and an outstanding selection of food in a light and airy restaurant with exceptional silver service for which the hotel should be congratulated.
The hotel is a little old fashioned and the clients mature, but that is also its great strength; sadly I fit into this category and felt at home. The en-suite bedroom had a magnificent vista of Torbay and was immaculately clean if a little dated with only a standard double bed and slightly dated furniture.
The indoor swimming pool is superb with Jacuzzi and sauna-no charge!The outdoor pool is also very good with free towels. The Redcliffe is not competing with slick city hotels but it succeeds in providing great value, service and facilities for the rate charged for holiday makers who deserve to get value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johniec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2010

One word describes our group holiday, brilliant. From the duty managers down the staff were attentive and friendly. The food and food presentation was superb. The waiters/waitresses were fantastic. I have written to the managing director to say that I hope they never consider doing away with silver service at dinner, it is the finishing touch that makes it special. On our departure the duty manager came onto our coach to say goodbye, which I thought was an exceedingly nice touch. Well done to all at the Redclifee, a great holiday was enjoyed by all.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tess32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2010

We have been regular visitors to this hotel in the past, but some time has elapsed since our last visit. It was so refreshing to find that at this hotel the customer still comes first. The service was first class; attention to detail and well trained staff contributed to an outstanding stay. The restaurant provides excellent cuisine and the room itself is lovely.
We are already planning our next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrisandmike5304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2010

This is a lovely hotel right on the sandy beach with excellent food and service.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OastDartford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paignton
0.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#3 of 17 in Paignton
570 reviews
0.9 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
340 reviews
0.4 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#11 of 17 in Paignton
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
0.6 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 17 in Paignton
518 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#25 of 87 in Torquay
2,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Redcliffe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Redcliffe Hotel

Address: Marine Drive, Paignton TQ3 2NL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Paignton
#2 Business Hotel in Paignton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Paignton
#6 Family Hotel in Paignton
Price Range: £83 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Redcliffe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly situated on the Seafront of Paignton in the "English Riviera". The Redcliffe offers every facility to ensure a enjoyable and memorable stay, whether for business or pleasure.The Redcliffe is a privately owned hotel with 69 bedrooms, set in 3 acres of grounds at sea level, and enjoys panoramic views across Tor Bay, from elegant Torquay on one side to the quaint fishing port of Brixham on the other.All bedrooms are en suite with Digital LCD TV, Radio, Free 5G Wi Fi, tea making facilities, hairdryers and direct dial telephones. There are also a number of inter-connecting rooms, ideal for families.Private car parking for 100 cars is available in the hotel's spacious grounds.We pride ourselves on the warm and friendly atmosphere within the hotel and our many long-serving staff ensure that standards of service remain as high today as they were 30 years ago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Redcliffe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redcliffe Hotel Paignton
The Redcliffe Hotel Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing