We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Guesthouse”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Haldon Guest House
Ranked #20 of 100 Paignton B&B and Inns
Bloxwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic Guesthouse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

This was our first visit to the Haldon & definitely won't be our last. It is very clean and Fee & Mike are so welcoming, nothing is too much trouble! Very welcoming and friendly hosts, their home made marmalade is fantastic! Not far from the train station and very close to the beach.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHaldon, Owner at The Haldon Guest House, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Karen and John, many thanks for taking the time to review us, we are so pleased to read you will be back, maybe John could then enjoy making sandcastles in the sun perhaps? He is a lovely lad and so polite we would love to welcome you back to the beautiful English Riviera - so much to see and do still!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
31
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Etwall, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

This was our 1st visit to Paignton,we spent few days at Haldon Guest House and had an excellent time,great hosts,food,accomodation,we had the room with four poster bed which was really nice,will definately return again here without a doubt.x

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHaldon, Owner at The Haldon Guest House, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Dawn and Paul - thank you for your kind words, we were so pleased your brother brought you down and you got so much out of your holiday - even one of our yummy cream teas!! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have stayed at the haldon guest house three times now each time we have found it very clean and have had a very warm welcome from Fee & Mike. Breakfast is nicely cooked if you like a nice marmalade you must try their home made one. Rooms are very clean beds are comfortable will hope to go again in August /sept. Very near the train station

Room Tip: The room is so near the town in easy walking distant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemarie0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHaldon, Owner at The Haldon Guest House, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Hi Rosemarie and Roger, thank you so much for your review, its always lovely to see you both. You're right, we are close to the train station - especially good when the big steam trains come through, what marvelous sights they are! ;-) Looking forward to seeing you August/September.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenfig Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Loved our stay - 3 nights from Friday-Monday. Very clean, lovely breakfast and very good choice too. Clean, comfort & we'll decorated room. Really friendly and go out of they're way to help. Already booked again. Thank you
Will definitely recommend

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JRoach7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHaldon, Owner at The Haldon Guest House, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Hi Jacqui and Philip, thank you for taking the time to review us. It was lovely to meet you both and so glad you enjoyed the fabulous Bikers festival (BMAD) - we're so pleased you've booked again for next year! Looking forward to seeing you again next month! Safe journey down.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Clean and tidy throughout; recently decorated. The owners are lovely - very friendly and knowledgeable about the local area and cook a great breakfast. Good value for money. I would stay there again :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHaldon, Owner at The Haldon Guest House, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Hi Michele - thank you for taking the time to review us and for your kind words. We love the area and try to encourage our guests to get the best out of their stay here in the beautiful English Riviera. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, England
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

We are regular visitors to Paignton due to family living in the town, however this trip there was not room for us to stay with family so i took to trip advisor to find a guest house.
Haldon came highly rated and we booked with Booking.com, £96 for 2 nights B and B in the four poster room.
We arrived at around 9:30pm and were showed to the room by the landlady.
The guest house is well kept and very clean, the room was good with a sink in the main room and a separate small bathroom with a shower and toilet, the landlady explained that the room can be cool sometimes but they had provided a secondary heater which was good.

We had a good nights sleep and breakfast the next day was pleasant, the breakfast room is nice and bright and looks out over the communal grassed area in the street. The food was very well cooked with no signs of any fat. we were also given some really nice marmalade made by the owners!

the location of the hotel is perfect, A minute or so walk from the town and amusements and 30 seconds to the sea front, ideal for children as there is a lovely large play park that has only just been built on the sea front.

Will stop there again!

Room Tip: consider calling the hotel direct as the agents are not always the cheapest option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ste451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHaldon, Owner at The Haldon Guest House, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Steven and Louise - thank you so much for taking the time to review us. Hopefully your kind words will prove of great value to those who choose us as their accommodation provider, when staying in Paignton. We look forward to receiving your call, the next time you are due to visit your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

We've just come back from another enjoyable break at The Haldon Guesthouse in Paignton. Everything is as we remembered it, the welcome, the rooms, the food, it's all up to standard. We had the superior double room again but we noticed the family room on the first floor was being redecorated so perhaps we'll try that one next time.
Thank you Mike and Fiona for another lovely stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are slightly different so if you book directly with the Guesthouse you can discuss you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arewethereyet2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHaldon, Owner at The Haldon Guest House, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Always so lovely to see you both. Thank you for your very kind review and for the 'room tip' for future guests. Until next time..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.0 mi away
Brampton Guesthouse
Brampton Guesthouse
#28 of 100 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Waters Lodge
Blue Waters Lodge
#2 of 100 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ashleigh Guesthouse
Ashleigh Guesthouse
#10 of 100 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Belle Dene Guest House
Belle Dene Guest House
#4 of 100 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kingswinford Guest House
Kingswinford Guest House
#3 of 100 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trentham Guest House
Trentham Guest House
#16 of 100 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Haldon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Haldon Guest House

Property: The Haldon Guest House
Address: 6 Beach Road, Paignton TQ4 6AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Haldon Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Haldon Guest House is a 7 bedroom property ranging from superior single and double en suite to twin en suite. It is situated on the level, just 5 minutes walk to the beach, town centre, train and bus stations. The full English breakfast incorporates locally sourced produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Haldon Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Haldon Guest House Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing