We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good restaurant with slight drawbacks”
Review of Enigma - CLOSED

Enigma
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
301 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant with slight drawbacks”
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Just back from their Sunday Jazz Lunch. Lunch was great. With seven friends the food was super, as it always is. No complaints from any of us and a lot of praise. Staff are super. Busy place and that is good for them and the customers.
Downside - jazz it isn't and too loud. Why use hyped amplifiers in what is a smallish restaurant. Conversation was restricted because of the volume, never mind the other diners.
Overall, I like it a lot but the Music Lunch is not for me.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DLP555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    19
    2
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant, and well priced.”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Had a family meal here just after Christmas. The staff were excellent, and the food very good. It was well priced, and had pleasant decor and music. Overall, a nice experience, and I would happily recommend it to friends.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FlyingSpacer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern ireland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Just superb”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

There are a lot of restaurants in North Down but Enigma stands out as one of the very best. It is the consistency of the food which makes it so different from the rest. great to see that it has recently been awarded with the accolade of being the Best in North Down,
Superb food; wonderful service; great wine list and very expensive wallpaper!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bryansomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holywood,Co Down
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Spoilt for choice in Holywood”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We have dined in the Dirty Duck and Coast, both restaurants in Holywood, and thoroughly enjoyed them both. Therefore when we heard about Engima we thought we would try it for a change. What a revelation. From the warm welcome, lovely ambience,good service and delicious food we have now a new favourite restaurant .

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Avid_traveler27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkley
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Buzzy and fun, but above all, great food !”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Despite being packed out, service was great. Highlight dish was the lightly-curried monkfish. Some interesting ' rare ' wines on the list at decent prices ( though I wasn't paying ! ) Only small blemish was that wine-glasses were filled to two-thirds - a good way of rocketing through a Gevrey Chambertin, but not good form !

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SeanIlkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Enigma also viewed

Holywood, County Down
Holywood, County Down
 
Holywood, County Down
 
Holywood, County Down
Holywood, County Down
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing