We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely Place!”
Review of Wine & Company - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Wine & Company
Price range: US$2 - US$27
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a lovely Place!”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our evening there and a lovely juicy steak dinner. The staff were very friendly, especially the guy in the suit at the restaurant (manager). He was also quite sexy as was the young guy behind the bar downstairs.
Will definitely go there again.
Onion rings were gorgeous, by the way.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Malibu571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    11
    3
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Last time, last visit, never again”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

My long suffering better half suggested a meal out, Christmas was hectic. The Iona was closed, went to wine and co. When we arrived there was only four other people at a table. The starter list was poor, no prawns( a personal fav) I decided to have the "deep fried mushrooms", if they were deep fried it was in Luke warm oil, greasy oily disgusting. My wife asked me not to complain, so for her I said nothing. I then has the sirloin , I asked for med rare, it was rare in fact I am sure I heard a moo, I am also not sure what it was but never a sirloin. However it seemed tender enough so nothing said to the very helpful waiter. I had asked the waitress if chips came with the steak, I was told "no", so I ordered a side of chips. When the steak arrived it was served with a nice little basket of chips, the other chips also appeared as a side. The third bite of the steak revealed a bit of gristle?..... Still my Bernese dogs ate the rest. All in all a bad meal so far, but then the dessert. I should have known. I love apple crumble so I ordered the bramble apple and sweet cranberry crumble. Sweet? Not in this life they were as sour as sour cherries. The only decently cooked item were the chips. My waiter proudly informed me that the "chef" had been trained at Dean 's, well Dean's should be ashamed of themselves. Possibly he trained as a dish washer???.Never, Never,NEVER AGAIN!!!!!LL!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerald E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holywood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“great place to meet up with friends”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

this has a reasonable priced menu and service is of a high standard. unfortunately it can be a little on the dark side during the day ( and im not talking about luke skywalkers dad when i say the dark side) overall a nice spot to visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rmcg85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lunch”
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

My husband and I enjoyed our first lunch here last week. I had the fish cakes and hubby had the beer battered fish. We both enjoyed our meal, the setting and the service. Look forward to lunching again.

Helpful?
Thank pinkredbells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
“Food quality has gone downhill badly lately.”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Me and my girlfriend have been going here once or twice a month on friday nights for over 3 years. Normally the food in the upstairs restaurant has been very good (thats why we kept going back ) But however we have both noticed that lately the food quality has gone downhill badly and many of the dishes taste like they have been sitting under a heat lamp for 6 hours before you get it. We last went here 3 weeks ago and to be honest I don't think I will go back as the beef burger I got had to be the worst around. The meat Tasted too dry and the bap was hard and my girlfriends chicken dish was filled with allot of unnecessary vegetable oil .

I don't know what has happened with the chefs or in the kitchen but something has gone wrong somewhere in the last few months as the food has gone from great to awful.

Come on Wine and Co you can do much better!!!

John

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J0hnny43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wine & Company also viewed

Holywood, County Down
Holywood, County Down
 
Holywood, County Down
 
Holywood, County Down
Holywood, County Down
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing