We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food and reasonably priced”
Review of The Dirty Duck

The Dirty Duck
Ranked #2 of 50 Restaurants in Holywood
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“great food and reasonably priced”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

we visited here without a reservation on a Friday night and were told there were 6 parties in front waiting for a table. At most we waited half an hour before a table became available. The service was fast and the food lovely. I would go back but I would make a reservation first. The atmosphere was buzzing.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    348
    238
    60
    35
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Killinchy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Popular place”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

We had never eaten here though often in Holywood. Our friend visits regularly. Arriving around noon to a fairly empty place, we were surprised to be asked had we booked. It certainly got busy ( and noisy) ! The Caesar salad my friend had looked good, one of us had crab claws, prawns plate which was tasty. I ordered nachos with trimmings but thought the large one was not very large. Chilli beef and guacamole and salsa all good but the nachos were flavoured like Doritis rather than plain corn chips like I expected. The flavouring repeated on me all afternoon (apologies for the detail) so that was disappointing. Even though it was busy and we had finished our teas, we were not chased out which was nice, and a surprise when we saw the folk all waiting for a table. Would recommend as it's a great setting and has a wide choice of menu.

Helpful?
Thank SortedbyGwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A wee cracker”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Good food, relaxed atmosphere and great service. You can eat in the bar or up stairs in the restaurant which has spectacular views over the lough. It's tucked away down the esplanade so you might miss it. Take the train and it drops you right at it, then you can have a wee tipple with your meal

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank beverley a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Solid performance”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Had dinner at the Dirty Duck on Sunday. The bar was very busy but we managed to find a decent table. There was football on the telly and a good buzz about the place. There is a more formal dining room on the upper floor with spectacular sea views. Service was good and the food lived up to expectations. I had the Sunday roast, I was expecting something similar to your average Carvery but received a dinner more akin with a 4 star hotel..My partner had the Smoked fish with champ mash which was also top notch. Drinks were good value at 9.50 for a round of three ales.
Already planning a return visit.. Keep up the good work

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank micky m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Better than it looks from outside...”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Went here with family for parents golden wedding - what a delight. Great food, great service, good value for money - it puts to shame a lot of very flash restaurants I've been to. Wouldnt hesitate to go again

Helpful?
Thank JayneSloan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Dirty Duck also viewed

Holywood, County Down
 
Holywood, County Down
Holywood, County Down
 
Holywood, County Down
Holywood, County Down
 

Been to The Dirty Duck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing