We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff service was not good”
Review of The Dirty Duck

The Dirty Duck
Ranked #2 of 51 Restaurants in Holywood
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Staff service was not good”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

I booked a table for 7 people for son's birthday but we got a table for 6 people and get 1 chair on hall way. I have few friend is bigger size. The table was too small for them. We we're require to get a small table that beside us together. The staff said no, he said all table are fully booked. And I asked again u sure all fully booked, u can't move this table, he said yes. At the end, I saw a table behind us was no customer there from we went to restaurant until we left there. I'm really not happy for their service .

Helpful?
6 Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    366
    249
    60
    36
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Lunch for two”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Ate here for lunch today. We had booked in advance so were seated upstairs. Views fabulous overlooking Belfast Lough. The menu provided choices of small courses or main courses - quite an emphasis on fish ( which I like). One of us had chicken and the other had the smoked haddock. Both enjoyed and had good sized portions. Fairly good value for money. Only downside is that the decor is a bit tired and could do with an upgrade although it is clean and comfortable. Parking is possible and free although requires a bit of searching in adjacent streets. A good bet for a nice lunch.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portadown, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Tasty!”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I always like places that have been recommended by discerning diners. This was recommended to us by friends.After having walked for 90 minutes along the coastal path, we were ready for our lunch. We were there just before opening and were amazed at how quickly the place filled up. There were 6 of us and all most happy with our meals, especially the fish dishes. Sizeable portions and an excellent standard of bar food. One of the group chose dessert, apple crumble with custard, definitely a must for those who like "puddings"! Will return and book a table in the restaurant next time.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DebsB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great place!”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

My parents always raved about this place so I went here once night and I was not disappointed! Beautiful views over Belfast Lough and amazing food and service to go along with it! I had the Basic and Beautiful followed by sticky toffee pudding and I can say without a doubt, it's one of the best deserts I've ever had! Portions are great in size so you get what you pay for and service is with a smile. A very lively, homely pub for people of all ages and I'd recommend this to anyone!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lunch at The Dirty Duck”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Very pleasant surroundings overlooking the sea. Lunch was delicious and reasonably priced. Staff were friendly and approachable. In good weather seats available to dine outside. Yesterday was somewhat breezy so I dined inside. Will visit again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Madge M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Dirty Duck also viewed

Holywood, County Down
 
Holywood, County Down
Holywood, County Down
 

Been to The Dirty Duck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing