We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent afternoon tea ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Culloden Estate & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Culloden Estate & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Holywood
Certificate of Excellence
Newtownards, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent afternoon tea ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

We attended here for afternoon tea for mums birthday and it couldn't have been better! We arrived a little early but this was of no trouble to the staff. They promptly showed us to our table and began to serve our food. Tea was poured for us and the whole time was brilliant. The selection of sandwiches / croissants / sweet things were all delicious and the fruit scones were so light. The hotel was well presented and everyone was extremely polite and courteous. Made the start of mums 50th birthday celebrations very enjoyable and memorable. A special mention to Amy and Harriet from the restaurant and the attention they paid us. All in all a great experience and well worth it. I would definitely go back!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank jonathanmorrow1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cullodenhotel, General Manager at Culloden Estate & Spa, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Jonathanmorrow1

I would like to take this opportunity to express my thanks for your very kind comments about the Culloden Estate and Spa.

I was delighted to learn that you found your Afternoon Tea experience to be “Excellent”.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Culloden Hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely



Helen Caters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,644 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,115
    227
    154
    90
    58
See reviews for
340
709
39
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limava
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Felt slightly let down after a visit to the Culloden yesterday afternoon.After tea & a coffee(cold)had been served we had to search for a waiter to give our food order.We chose charcuterie which was served less the sun dried tomato bread & olives as per the menu.Not up to the standards I remember from previous visits.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paddy6477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambs
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in September and were very impressed by the standards. The staff were efficient, friendly and helpful, the room was fabulous with a huge bed, and all the public areas were very attractive and well kept. The location and grounds are spectacular. The breakfasts were excellent. We didn't eat in the restaurant, but friends who did were very complimentary. A very nice pool area with spa and gym.
Overall, the hotel has a lovely relaxed feel and exudes quality. It is expensive, but worth the money for a few nights stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spinaltrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

We recently went to the Culloden for a meal for my wife's birthday. From the moment we entered until the moment we left, the service was excellent. We were greeted by Peter McAlister, the food and beverage manager, who was a complete gentleman, had excellent knowledge of the menu and the accompanying wines, and took care of us for the whole evening. After a complimentary glass of champagne while we reviewed the menu, we were shown to our table which had a beautiful view overlooking the gardens and the lough. The food was divine, and after the meal, the chef has made up a plate with a birthday message. It was definitely our best meal experience yet

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lorrie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed at the Culloden last weekend with our 2 teenage kids. The hotel very kindly and thoughtfully upgraded our rooms to junior suites so that our rooms were facing each other. The rooms were really nice with all the expected amenities. Really comfy beds.
The Culloden has one of the most welcoming Reception staff I have ever come across. The Concierge, Chris, was a mine of information and could not have been more helpful. The kids room was made up as a double although we had requested a twin. It was changed promptly while we were out to dinner. The Spa and pool are really nice.
We didn't dine at the hotel except for breakfast, which was excellent.
The property is somewhat let down by the bar which is rather coldly decorated and lit. It was quite noisy with the staff constantly grinding ice for cocktails. A shot of gin ranges from £7.50 to £11.50 co cavveat emptor!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stiofan111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
248 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

We arrived at the hotel and the meet and greet by the doormen and reception was fantastic. We were then shown to our room.
The room was 204 and half the rooms on this floor will have a view of the dirty mouldy wall of the spa! This was my first disappointment as I was hoping for a view of something not a dirty slabbed path and the spa wall and walk through.The room was very clean and had good facilities. Why they had the theme tune to Jurassic park playing when you enter the room I will never now! The room is dated in its decor and granted the main building is old but the decor can still be tasteful. Dreadful gold squared wall paper, carpet just as bad, no thermostat to control radiator so have to move tub chairs to get to controls on radiator, the ceiling in bathroom redecorated as alot of paint splattered over the mirrors, the MDF below sink water damaged and poorly painted over, at night had to use a pillow to block the light from coming under the door! The price of the room at £150 and the hotel has such good ratings I would expect the hotel to special.
The stuart suite has terrible carpet which gives it the feel of a cheap casino
In general the service was very good the evening meal was beautiful and the wine selection very good....Some of the drinks are very overpriced as if paying that price at other hotels you would have table service....Maybe the porter can help with bags and not point you to the room when your carrying 4 bags between 2 people!?
Breakfast was very good but having to wait for eggs and this was not only me many guests complained waiting for the buffet to be replenished....

Checkout was a little chaotic as waited 20mins to be able to pay and leave.

On the whole a good hotel but for me at the cost of the room, food and drink it should be doing more for the guest.

Room Tip: get a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ncokey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Visited the hotel recently with my sister and had high expectations, having read other reviews. The staff were excellent when I was booking and we were upgraded on checked-in. The room was nice, very clean but was unfortunately made up as a double when I requested a twin.

The porter advised that this would not be a problem and kindly offered to change our dinner reservation from the inn to the main restaurant and arrange to have the room rearranged during dinner. We decided to decline the offer to change to the main restaurant and the very helpful porter offered to drive us to the inn which is a few minutes from the main hotel.

Then the problems began. The very helpful porter, Chris seemed to get amnesia. he didnt seem to recognise us at all. We waited patiently for our ride ( my sis was on crutches so walking was not an option) but our very helpful porter was suddenly very busy being very helpful to other guests. We waited and waited and waited. We opted to change to the main restaurant instead. Then we waited and waited outside the restaurant at a dirty table. We got menus on asking and waited some more still outside the restaurant, still at the dirty table. Eventually we were shown to our table on asking again. The meal was very good as was the service. One small gripe about the bread. Irwin's soda bread. Really. It is local but hardly what you'd expect in a good restaurant.

We happily retired to our room, passing the still-dirty table along the way, to find the bed as we left it. I called reception and was advised that they would call back. We waited. Eventually we were moved to a duplex family room down the corridor. The room was fine and the beds were very comfy. During the night however I was wakened by a low sounding alarm. It persisted for some time but I eventually fell back to sleep.

Breakfast was the usual buffet and ok. I ordered soft poached eggs and received 2 watery hard eggs. Check-out was rather earlier than I think is reasonable. 11am feels a little inhospitable.

Checkout was fine and the manager approached us to apologise for the room issue and asked us to contact him regarding any staff training issues or should we wish to stay in the future. In a nutshell. 5 star hotel in a 5 star location with 3 star service. Such a pity.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank siobhan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holywood
Merchant Hotel
#3 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,331 reviews
Stormont Hotel
#11 of 43 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rayanne House
#2 of 3 in Holywood
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Culloden Estate & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culloden Estate & Spa

Property: Culloden Estate & Spa
Address: 142 Bangor Road, Holywood BT18 0EX, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Holywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Holywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Culloden Estate & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing high on the wooded slopes of the Holywood hills, overlooking Belfast Lough, is the magnificent Culloden Estate and Spa, one of the most prestigious 5 star hotels in Northern Ireland.Originally built as an official palace for the Bishops of Down, the Culloden stands in 12 acres of beautiful gardens and is 5 miles from Belfast City Centre. The exclusive Spa offers health and leisure facilities, and a full range of ESPA spa therapies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Culloden Estate & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culloden Estate And Spa
Culloden Estate Hotel Holywood
Culloden Hotel
Culloden Estate Holywood
Culloden Estate & Spa Holywood, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing