We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I expected more”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Culloden Estate & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Holywood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

I attended a wedding in the Culloden in January 2014. Of course with the reputation of the Culloden I expected great things & was somewhat disappointed.
The exterior & grounds of the hotel are beautiful. Perfect for wedding photos. Parts of the interior however let the hotel down. As it was a very wet day a lot of the photos were taken inside in the room with the staircase. To get there we had to walk through badly maintained corridors & rooms & it was disappointing.
The service was fair but nothing special.
The food was disappointing to be perfectly honest. The children were forced to wait until 7.30 for their meal to be served - at the same time as the adult mains so after starter & sorbet with lengthy pauses. At best the food was average, not what I would have expected from a 5* hotel.
I would guess it is much better if you were staying overnight & having a meal in the restaurant but I wasn't impressed that they have clearly cut corners to make weddings as profitable as possible.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrscurrie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,747)
There are newer reviews for Culloden Estate & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

901 - 907 of 1,747 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2014

Just had a wonderful dinner and overnight stay with my husband in this fantastic hotel. The Mitre restaurant is stunning as was the food, the parfait and the pork belly especially amazing. The staff were fantastic, so friendy, attentive and professional, looking forward to our next stay already.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Just enjoyed a very brief stay whilst hosting a Corporate breakfast for 40 movers and shakers in Northern Ireland. The stay was superb. Great rooms, great warm friendly service and good food.

A special thanks to Lynn Beggs and her team - Rebecca, Nicole, Michael and Gemma, for working tirelessly throughout the morning to ensure that our event went smoothly. Every attendee that I met as they left complimented the event and also the attentiveness of the staff. Great job Guys, and thank you. Very much appreciated.

We will be coming back in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJR719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed my stay here. Rooms are amazing. Service is great. Breakfast is soooo good! Had a 4 course meal in the mitre restaurant - very good. The only downside is the spa - not much to do only a sauna, hot tub and swimming pool. Galgorms spa definitely beats it! The other downside is when we were waiting to checkout the line was quite big and had to wait around 20 minutes to get served. But apart from that highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Themalojancollecter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

The property is delightful, beautifully landscaped grounds set on a rolling hillside sloping towards a lake. The main hotel sits at the top of the slope with the restaurant and lounge areas with the best vistas. The owners have taken great care to maintain the character and ambiance of the original stone building. A charming building at the lower part of the slope houses what looked like a delightful restaurant - my one night stay did not permit me to try it out. The room was warm, the bed was comfortable, and had all the necessary amenities. Throughout my short stay, the staff were professional but warm and friendly.

This hotel is one of those gems that, once discovered, you will not be in want of another.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TinyThots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This review is long overdue, my fiance and I stayed here in December last - time slipped quickly away between this and then but I can't not pass on how amazing we found Culloden.

I had read some reviews here before we went, and I must admit I was not sure what to expect as the reviews were very mixed, but I can honestly say we thoroughly enjoyed our break away here. All staff we encountered throughout our stay were both courteous and helpful. We used the pool the evening we arrived and my partner used the spa the following day, he truly enjoyed his massage.

Dinner was beautiful, the dining room boasts stunning views. On return to our bedroom the turn down staff had been in and had left us a lovely surprise of mince pies and bottled water.

Unfortunately I took ill during the night (absolutely nothing to do with the hotel or the wonderful meals I had enjoyed there) and the night staff on duty were so so helpful to get the doctor out - I believe it was 3am when the doctor was called. The following day I was unable to go out and enjoy Belfast as we had planned, so my partner went out on his own and accommodation staff simply advised that he put the "do not disturb" sign up and I would not be bothered all day. I was left sleep peacefully all day and I was so grateful for that.

It was the following day again before I managed to get up, when I accompanied my partner to breakfast - which looked amazing and I am assured tasted amazing - all members of staff that I met were so polite in inquiring as to how I was feeling and commented that it was nice to see me up and about.

Unfortunately we were leaving that day so I did not get to see as much of the hotel or the area as I had planned, but we will definitely be returning in the hope that I can fully enjoy the stay this time.

The Culloden is located in a stunning area and has truly amazing staff - true luxury !

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elliembb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Food was not as good as I expected it to be. The room was cold but staff did provide us with an extra heater. Rom was quite noisy and seemed like it was cheaply built. Was not informed that we had use of spa. Should take some tips from eth Galgorm on how guests are informed of hotel amenities at check-in.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmalouisemonaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holywood
Rayanne House
#2 of 2 in Holywood
217 reviews
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Stormont Hotel
#11 of 44 in Belfast
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Culloden Estate & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culloden Estate & Spa

Address: 142 Bangor Road, Holywood BT18 0EX, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Holywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Holywood
Price Range: £160 - £604 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Culloden Estate & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing high on the wooded slopes of the Holywood hills, overlooking Belfast Lough, is the magnificent Culloden Estate and Spa, one of the most prestigious 5 star hotels in Northern Ireland.Originally built as an official palace for the Bishops of Down, the Culloden stands in 12 acres of beautiful gardens and is 5 miles from Belfast City Centre. The exclusive Spa offers health and leisure facilities, and a full range of ESPA spa therapies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Culloden Estate & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culloden Estate Hotel Holywood
Culloden Estate And Spa
Culloden Hotel
Culloden Estate Holywood
Culloden Estate & Spa Holywood, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing