We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like a disappointing 4* hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Culloden Estate & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Holywood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I was so disappointed with our recent stay at the culloden hotel. I have stayed here on 2 seperate occasions before and have always love staying there, but this time I was very disappointed. The bathroom was looking very aged, the plugs were starting to have become rusty and the toilet seat was going yellow from. Age and constant cleaning. Even something as stupid as the lampshades were not on correctly ready did not make this hotel feel like a 5 star. Also the wallpaper in the room was very faded from direct sunlight and was covered in marks. The room cost approx 130 pounds with no breakfast and honestly we were both left disappointed

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Gareth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,747)
There are newer reviews for Culloden Estate & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

896 - 902 of 1,747 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed in The Culloden for two nights over the Easter holidays. Our room was one of the superior rooms..was well worth the extra money as it and the bathroom were lovely. We had full use of the spa which was nice and relaxing and never over crowded. The staff are very friendly and nothing is too much bother. The hotel is right next to the main train line into Belfast so was good to head into the town for the day without having to worry about parking the car. The folk an transport museum is next door to the hotel so we spent most of the Saturday at this which was great! All in all our stay was very pleasant and we will be back :)

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Vickimoore90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed 2nts whilst over seeing family showing off our new 3mth old baby and celebrating 10th wedding anniversary.

I noted in booking our 10th wedding anniversary and need for a cot for infant.

The junior suite room we booked was ok but ageing poorly, great views, very poorly maintained.
- bathroom with mould, old hard towels.
- bedroom with noisy old aircon, no fridge or free wifi

We arrived to no cot as requested (had to remind them) or gift (fruit, chocolates, champers etc as you'd expect in 5star with a special occasion like 10 th anniversary)

Bed linen and room where not cleaned replaced or tidied up after first nights stay, linen disheveled and crumbs on tables.
I had to ask for room to be cleaned properly again.
They did replace towels with more old towels.

We did Easter lunch in Mitre restaurant with family which was average for cost with two wrong orders and my lamb and steak courses over cooked.

We did room service breakfast the 2nd day and got 2 additional long black hairs delivered with food.

The staff however are very friendly, and grounds location beautiful but in general this is not a 5 star hotel experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The hotel and the grounds are absolutely fabulous but the hotel left me a little lacking. The food was not as good as expected and a few of the hotel reception staff could do with being a little friendlier.
The staff at the little bistro, not in the main hotel but still in the grounds were much more plesant and helpful.

All in all a lovely place to stay

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bd_derry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

My husband and I booked a 2 night stay at this Hotel in March while visiting Northern Ireland, we were expecting a relaxing break in a 5 star Hotel but this was not the case unfortunately.
The staff are all very friendly and professional execpt for one young lady that appears to be a supervisor / manager in the Mitre restaurant, she lacks what the other staff offer in abundance.
We were very disappointed with the breakfast, this is the first 5 star Hotel we have stayed in that we were not served a made to order breakfast.The bread/ toast that was served for breakfast was of very poor quality, my husband had coffee, he was not offered a pot of coffee, he had to draw the very busy waitress attention each time he needed a refill.I could go on these little things you expect to get in a 5 star Hotel.
Our room and bed was very comfortable, we stayed a Sat & Sun night it was after 2pm on Sunday before our room was serviced, so late I refused the service as we were getting ready to go out early that evening.
The Spa area is nice but not so much space to relax, it is very clean and tidy.
On Sat night / Sunday morning at 3.30am approx. the fire alarm was set off, we quickly went to the reception area along with about 100 other guests, there was no member of staff to advise us what was going on or where to go for our safety, after about 10mins or so a man/ member of staff arrived to advise us it was a false alarm, the alarm was set off by smoke coming from a sand bucket??
We received an apology letter on Sunday evening (put under our door)!!!! We were both shocked at the matter of fact attitude as well as the safety process in the event this was a real fire, not to mention been woken up from your sleep at 3.30am.
We were very disappointed with our stay at this 5 star Hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SurreyAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

I attended a wedding in the Culloden in January 2014. Of course with the reputation of the Culloden I expected great things & was somewhat disappointed.
The exterior & grounds of the hotel are beautiful. Perfect for wedding photos. Parts of the interior however let the hotel down. As it was a very wet day a lot of the photos were taken inside in the room with the staircase. To get there we had to walk through badly maintained corridors & rooms & it was disappointing.
The service was fair but nothing special.
The food was disappointing to be perfectly honest. The children were forced to wait until 7.30 for their meal to be served - at the same time as the adult mains so after starter & sorbet with lengthy pauses. At best the food was average, not what I would have expected from a 5* hotel.
I would guess it is much better if you were staying overnight & having a meal in the restaurant but I wasn't impressed that they have clearly cut corners to make weddings as profitable as possible.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrscurrie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Just had a wonderful dinner and overnight stay with my husband in this fantastic hotel. The Mitre restaurant is stunning as was the food, the parfait and the pork belly especially amazing. The staff were fantastic, so friendy, attentive and professional, looking forward to our next stay already.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holywood
Rayanne House
#2 of 2 in Holywood
217 reviews
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Stormont Hotel
#11 of 44 in Belfast
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Culloden Estate & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culloden Estate & Spa

Address: 142 Bangor Road, Holywood BT18 0EX, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Holywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Holywood
Price Range: £158 - £603 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Culloden Estate & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing high on the wooded slopes of the Holywood hills, overlooking Belfast Lough, is the magnificent Culloden Estate and Spa, one of the most prestigious 5 star hotels in Northern Ireland.Originally built as an official palace for the Bishops of Down, the Culloden stands in 12 acres of beautiful gardens and is 5 miles from Belfast City Centre. The exclusive Spa offers health and leisure facilities, and a full range of ESPA spa therapies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Culloden Estate & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culloden Estate Hotel Holywood
Culloden Estate And Spa
Culloden Hotel
Culloden Estate Holywood
Culloden Estate & Spa Holywood, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing