We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Belfast visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Culloden Estate & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Holywood
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Belfast visit”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed here for one night, this is luxury in Belfast, beautiful gardens friendly staff and the best bed I have slept in. The food is excellent really good breakfast. I am sure the spa will be very good didn't have time to sample this.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cullodenhotel, General Manager at Culloden Estate & Spa, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear John S

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your very kind comments regarding the Culloden Estate and Spa.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Culloden Hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely


Mr James McGinn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,719 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,175
    238
    158
    91
    57
See reviews for
366
734
43
194
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
349 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The hotel is in a very picturesque location and the grounds are well cared for. My room was a bit dark, but otherwise very nice. The dining room allows the opportunity to look out over the sea while eating a locally sourced breakfast. The business centre has a strong wifi connection and plenty of space and options. However the key asset for the hotel is the staff, all the ones I met were polite, friendly and helpful

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cullodenhotel, General Manager at Culloden Estate & Spa, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Eddie M

I would like to take this opportunity to express my thanks for your very kind comments about the Culloden Estate and Spa and particularly about our staff.

I was delighted to learn that you found our staff to be a “key asset” within our hotel. It is always extremely rewarding to hear such positive feedback regarding the team within the hotel.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Culloden Estate and Spa in the near future.

Yours sincerely




Mr James McGinn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
736 reviews
206 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 458 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed a couple of nights at the Culloden. The hotel is very nice and the spa is superb. The rooms are large and clean. The service is friendly and efficient. Unfortunately the food is very poor and below the hotel standard. Prices are competitive for the overall quality.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank new_world_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cullodenhotel, General Manager at Culloden Estate & Spa, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear new_world_travellers

I would like to take this opportunity to express my thanks for your very kind comments about the Culloden Estate and Spa.

I was delighted to learn that you thought the Spa was “superb” and found the service to be “friendly and efficient”. Thus, following such positive comments, it was disappointing to learn that on this occasion, we failed to exceed your expectations with regard to the food served at the hotel.

At the Hastings Hotels Group we are passionate about food and believe that eating is one of life’s greatest pleasures. We embrace the use of carefully selected local and seasonal quality foods to enable our chefs to prepare and create the most delicious dishes in our kitchens.

I was disappointed that you felt the food was “below the hotel standard”, and in response to your review I will have this area monitored closely to ensure that all aspects of the hotel exceed guest expectations.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Culloden Estate and Spa in the near future.


Yours sincerely



Mr James McGinn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

We had a three night stay at the Culloden as we we attending a birthday party in Holywood . The flight from Leeds was early and we were able to check our bags in to the hotel and head to the Titanic Quarter. On our return the bags had been placed in the room which was up graded to a suite. This was our second stay at this magnificent hotel, with manicured grounds and stunning views over Belfast Lough. The Crozier lounge is new a large bar yet intimate with small seating areas. The staff are attentive and knowledgable . The room was the same as we had been allocated on our last visit. When we returned each evening the bed was turned down curtains drawn, the lights turned on and a chocolate left on the beside table lovely touch. Breakfast was good with a variety of different cooked and cold food. The hotel was also had the pop group Mcbusted staying but this did not affect our stay as there were plenty of staff on duty. Overall the staff go the extra mile to make your stay special, and a valued guest.
We plan to return later with friends from Leeds so they can enjoy the Belfast hospitality in a truly amazing setting.
The Culloden more than justifies it's 5* rating . We are looking forward to our next trip in this relaxing and wonderful setting.

Kevin

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cullodenhotel, General Manager at Culloden Estate & Spa, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Kevin D

I would like to take this opportunity to express my thanks for your very kind comments about the Culloden Estate and Spa.

I was delighted to learn that you found the staff “attentive and knowledgeable”, and that they were always prepared to go that extra mile to exceed your expectations.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Culloden Hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely




Mr James McGinn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Had a wonderful relaxed time with my son who was visiting me for a few days. Afternoon tea was exquisite & vegetarian option not a problem. Staff friendly & helpful. Time flew by. Just great experience. Definitely will be back again with friends.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank GrannyMcV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cullodenhotel, General Manager at Culloden Estate & Spa, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear GrannyMcV

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your very kind comments regarding your recent visit to the Culloden Estate and Spa. It is delightful to learn that you and your son had such a “great experience” while enjoying Afternoon Tea. I am particularly pleased to know that you found our staff to be “friendly and helpful”.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Culloden Hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely


Mr James McGinn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Hi I spent 2 days and wonderful nights at the hands of this hotel in fact in the hands of Linda White, Nothing was too much trouble My Partner & I were made to feel we were the only ones there. Not just any thing we needed we only had to ask but You never had to look for staff they were there. Although all the staff were so attentive there is a special thank you to, Linda White. We were lucky to have the Hotel the hotel is lucky to have Linda White.
Regards P. A. J. Rudelhoff.

Room Tip: Facing the Sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 88Rudie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cullodenhotel, General Manager at Culloden Estate & Spa, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear 88Rudie

I would like to take this opportunity to express my thanks for your very kind comments about the Culloden Estate and Spa.

I was delighted to learn that you found the staff to be “so attentive” and it is extremely positive to see such a personal mention for Linda. I will ensure this feedback is passed on to all members of staff and especially Linda.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Culloden Hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely




Mr James McGinn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I was on a business trip to Northern Ireland, Hotel staff were very helpful and polite, went to my room it was perfect and I have never said that before. The view from my window was simply stunning, over looking the bay, the whole bay I could see for at least 5 miles. never new Ireland was such a beautiful country.

Anyway back to the hotel, my room had free wifi with fast broadband speed, breakfast was excellent. noise zero, cleanliness excellent, room temperature excellent. The grounds were again just so nice.

If I have to find fault it rained heavily on a few occasions

Room Tip: top of the third floor main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cullodenhotel, General Manager at Culloden Estate & Spa, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Peter W

I would like to take this opportunity to express my thanks for your very kind comments about the Culloden Estate and Spa.

I am delighted you found your bedroom to be “perfect” and that it exceeded your expectations. We are extremely fortunate at the Culloden Hotel to have such picturesque views, and I am thrilled to hear your bedroom view impressed you greatly.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Culloden Hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely




Mr James McGinn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holywood
Rayanne House
#2 of 2 in Holywood
214 reviews
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stormont Hotel
#10 of 44 in Belfast
1,016 reviews
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Culloden Estate & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culloden Estate & Spa

Property: Culloden Estate & Spa
Address: 142 Bangor Road, Holywood BT18 0EX, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Holywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Holywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Culloden Estate & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing high on the wooded slopes of the Holywood hills, overlooking Belfast Lough, is the magnificent Culloden Estate and Spa, one of the most prestigious 5 star hotels in Northern Ireland.Originally built as an official palace for the Bishops of Down, the Culloden stands in 12 acres of beautiful gardens and is 5 miles from Belfast City Centre. The exclusive Spa offers health and leisure facilities, and a full range of ESPA spa therapies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Culloden Estate & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culloden Estate Hotel Holywood
Culloden Estate And Spa
Culloden Hotel
Culloden Estate Holywood
Culloden Estate & Spa Holywood, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing