We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Culloden Estate & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Holywood
Certificate of Excellence
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Relaxation”
Reviewed 25 July 2009

Excellent hotel with excellent service!
The grounds to the hotel are beautiful, set in very peaceful surroundings but is still close to the main routes. The actual hotel itself is an amazing piece of architecture and it very comfortable and clean.
Upon arrival we were greeted by a very helpful concierge, check-in was quick and very helpful - I can see why the hotel's reception has won awards!
Our room was very clean, spacious and modern with all the facilities that you need.
We used the leisure facilities and found them most adequate and clean.
We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weegee88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,140
    232
    154
    90
    58
See reviews for
345
722
42
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2009

A short review as the experience was just fantastic. Magnificient setting, very friendly staff and a fantastic room. Great value for money. A truly 5 star experience. Only disapointment was that we had only booked for one night. We definitely will be back.
We had originally planned to stay in Newcastle but the hotel, we favoured, was booked out. Having looked at other hotels in the Newcastle area, we decided to widen our internet search and found the Culloden Hotel. It lived up in every way to our expectations and we had a fabulous time. It was a relatively short journey from Dublin and from the moment we pulled in to the driveway we knew we had made the right choice.
The hotel is wonderful and all the staff from Concierge, Reception to room and restaurant service were really friendly and helpful. Couldn’t find fault with the hotel. Just one tip, we found that the food and service is better in the hotel than in the Cultra Inn which is part of the hotel but located in a separate building in the grounds. Service in the Cultra Inn was still good and the food was excellent, however the service was a little slow. This didn’t in any way, impact on what was a fantastic experience. We will be back to stay in the Culloden.
Their attention to deatil followed through when i received an email from the Hotel Manager thanking me for filling in the Guest Survey. While I accept that this could have been automated, even if that was the case it shows the exacting standards and high attention to detail that this hotel provides.
We will be back and hopefully very soon.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EasyGoingDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craigavon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2009

Lets get rid of the negatives first no Mini bar in room not good i like my Vodka chilled.

Everything else oh my god was fantastic you ask for ice its there you keep phoning and asking for things they just appear like that fantastic service from the start and finsh of our stay.

Reception Fantastic they made us dinner plans in the mitre, was worried i was slightly to common, but me and my partner were made so welcome by the lovly staff ,our evening was so magical. The cocktails in the chancel bar made by Sean Orgasmic got to go again just to have one. The stay was just relaxing especially in the Spa the massage so soathing.

The staff was fantastic and magical i want to come back now but got to go back to the real world.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ca28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2009

I have stayed at the culloden before on Business and have found the rooms comfortable (although the bathrooms are really too small for a 5*), the spa facilities are very good and the staff extremely helpful and pleasant. However, this is the first time I have visited in summer and with no air con in the room I found it extremely warm and had a poor nights sleep (not great when on business). Although the windows open it is neccessary to keep the curtain drawn for privacy (no net type curtains) and the bed only had a thick duvet, no sheets - so you are either covered in bed or not at all. The last hotel I stayed in that only had a duvet was a well known budget chain. On a separate notethe online booking is terrible - you can only book one room at a time and if you phone you don't get the same offers over the phone - poor. Unlike my last Culloden experience this was not a good one - perhaps a summer stay is best avoided.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajs&mf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cullodenhotel, General Manager at Culloden Estate & Spa, responded to this review, 31 July 2009
Dear Ajs&Mf,

I wish to thank you for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor regarding your experience at the Culloden Estate & Spa.

I would like to take this opportunity to express my thanks for your very kind comments about the Culloden Hotel and particularly about our staff. I was delighted to learn that you had found our staff to be extremely helpful and pleasant.

Over the past one hundred years, the Culloden has had several major renovations and extensions, the hotel now boasts 105 bedrooms and we have exciting plans for the future. We do have forty three bedrooms which include air-conditioning and can be allocated on request. Each of our bedrooms is set to the highest standard by our housekeeping department, who manage the bed linen on a seasonal level. You may at any stage throughout your visit state your preference and our staff will fulfill your request.

With regards to your online booking experience I can only apologies for the inconvenience caused. It would be normal practice that any offer you see on our Hastings Hotels website can be booked directly with any of our reservations agents.

If you would like to discuss your review in greater length please do contact myself directly.

Yours Sincerely,



Kem Akkari
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enniskillen
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2009

We went to the Culloden for our our 20th wedding anniversary Getting such a lovely room really was a big deal for us and everyone in the hotel was consistently pleasant and helpful. Its not always easy to keep a smile and a can do attitude day after day but everyone we met seemed to have both. Special treats are a very occasional part of our lives but all at the Culloden made it memorable.

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kazimax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2009

I went to the restaurant in Culloden last Thursday evening with my parents for my graduation dinner. It could not have been a better evening. The service was excellent, all the staff were extremely friendly and could not have been more helpful. The head chef presented each of the dishes beautifully and the food was delicious. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jl-2395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2009

Staff from the Concierge to reception to Mitre restaurant & Cultra Inn were welcoming & professional.There were weddings in the hotel on two of the three days we were there but unlike other hotels we know there was no noise in the main building or car park. We dined at the Inn & also in the main restaurant. Food & service was excellent & really good value when compared with comparables in the Republic. On arrival we were given a room at the rear of hotel which looked onto a flat roof & extractor fans which were noisy. The receptionist changed us to a slightly smaller but nicer room overlooking the gardens & Lough. This was spotless & very peaceful. Only improvement we would have liked was a small fridge or mini bar although everything else was provided. A pleasant surprise was how adjacent the local Cultra station was with regular local trains into City cente & to Bangor. The Ulster Folk Park & Transport Museum too were only a short walk away. We really enjoyed our stay at The Culloden & will return again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank battyee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holywood
Rayanne House
#2 of 2 in Holywood
5.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Stormont Hotel
#11 of 43 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Merchant Hotel
#2 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,411 reviews
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Culloden Estate & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culloden Estate & Spa

Property: Culloden Estate & Spa
Address: 142 Bangor Road, Holywood BT18 0EX, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Holywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Holywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Culloden Estate & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing high on the wooded slopes of the Holywood hills, overlooking Belfast Lough, is the magnificent Culloden Estate and Spa, one of the most prestigious 5 star hotels in Northern Ireland.Originally built as an official palace for the Bishops of Down, the Culloden stands in 12 acres of beautiful gardens and is 5 miles from Belfast City Centre. The exclusive Spa offers health and leisure facilities, and a full range of ESPA spa therapies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Culloden Estate & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culloden Estate Hotel Holywood
Culloden Estate And Spa
Culloden Hotel
Culloden Estate Holywood
Culloden Estate & Spa Holywood, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing