We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A UK hotel that doesn't disaapoint” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Culloden Estate & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Culloden Estate & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Holywood
Certificate of Excellence
Lisburn, Northern Ireland
2 reviews
“A UK hotel that doesn't disaapoint”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2009

Enjoyed a great nights stay at the Culloden recently, which my wife booked as a welcome home treat having just returned from working abroad for some time. As with all UK hotels of a high star rating I was somewhat apprehensive that our stay would be a consistent story of high pricing low return, in short not value for money, however I can refreshingly say that the Culloden did match the 5 star rating that it has attained. The rooms were clean, modern and of a size that you would expect of such a hotel, as mentioned in a previous review they were warm at night, however nothing that an open window couldn't fix. The beds were excellent both in size and comfort. My wife had booked a 1 night package from the hotels website inclusive of breakfast and dinner both to be taken within the hotels Mitre restaurant. The food was simply excellent, I enjoyed probably the best steak I have eaten and the quality of the food was matched with professional, courteous and knowledgeable service. If I was to be slightly critical I would say that maybe the indoor pool area looked a little tired around the edges and they definately could do with 1 or 2 more loungers to be able to relax around the pool area. However, those points should not detract from a great stay. My wife and I will definately return.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dogwash6362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,644 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,115
    227
    154
    90
    58
See reviews for
340
709
39
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2009

Im so lucky to have been able to stay here again so soon after my previous visit and once again, the whole experience was faultless!!!
A friendly welcome, friendly, efficient and helpful staff, wonderful bedrooms and amzing food.
I have to be honest and say that I have read some other reviews and find them very odd - particularly the that finds testing the fire alarm system strange. I was under the impression that all establishments where guests would be sleeping overnight have a legal oligation to carry out a routine check of their fire alarm system. I applaud the Culloden Estate and Spa for taking the safety of their guests seriously and ensuring that, if such an unfortunate epsiode such as a fire were to happen, that all fire doors, alarms etc are working properly. This is to be praised and not criticised!! Im sure I read in the guest directory in the bedroom that this would happen on a Monday morning at 11am.
Well done Culloden for ensuring guest's safety!!
Top marks again!!! Can't wait to return very soon!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank queeniebee67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N. Ireland
Level Contributor
230 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2009

My Wife and I took a one night 'gourmet' break at this hotel, just to get our head showered, and allow the kids to have abreak from us!

It was a very positive experience from the start!

We had a couple of gins in the relaxed atmosphere of the bar area, followed by a swim in the pool.... or perhaps more of a 'float' in the pool.

We then dressed for dinner in the award winning Mitre restaurant - what a gastronomic experience, it was fabulous.

I highly recommend this hotel package, and plan to return before Xmas!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beckinhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2009

My husband and I had booked to stay again at this wonderful hotel a few months ago after a previous visit there and it just so happened it conincided with the Tall Ships visit to Belfast.
To avoid the build up of traffic that was expected to cause delays as hundreds of thousands of people decended to watch the Parade Of Sails we arrived at the hotel mid morning.
We were greeted as usual by a friendly , efficient and professional Receptionist who carried out all the necessary check in details swiftly and who assured us she would ask Housekeeping to be as quick as possible in getting our suite ready once the previous guests had checked out.
We said we were not in any rush ... that we were just happy to have avoided heavy traffic and would have a cup of coffee and relax in the drawing room until such time that our suite was ready. The Concierge then took charge of our luggage while we relaxed over coffee and delicious shortbread .
Before we had finished our coffee the Receptionist presented us with our keycards and wished us a very pleasant stay and also confirmed our dinner reservation in The Mitre restaurant.
This high standard of customer service is just another reason that keeps us coming back to The Culloden.
Housekeeping as always are to be commended on their very high standards and our suite was serviced to the highest grade in next to no time.
We decided to settle ourselves on a seat outside to watch the Tall Ships sail out of Belfast Lough and we had a superb vantage point which enabled us to take lots of photographs and video footage of this fabulous spectacle as well as chat to other people who were also enjoying the sunshine and views from the terrace.
Most were there to have lunch or afternoon tea and all agreed that the hotel is second to none.
After a casual bar lunch we took a stroll around the magnificent gardens which are so beautifully maintained.
Dinner in The Mitre restaurant is a delight for the taste buds, food and service are of the highest standard . We have had no hesitation in recommending the restaurant to friends, family and business acqaintances ,who have all agreed that the food and service are wonderful .
The chef is to be complimented on his food and the front of house staff are attentive and courteous but never intrusive. It is just so lovely to eat superb food in a truely elegant restaurant looking out over Belfast Lough...the whole " experience " that the hotel has to offer is amazing and each time we stay there it makes us so proud to know that visitors from around the globe experience the warmth and hospitality that this very special hotel has to offer.
We so enjoy the cooked breakfast during our stays in the hotel , it is truely scrumptious..indulge yourself and sample a truely wonderful Ulster Fry in a beautiful majestic setting.
We have already booked our next stay in a few weeks time to celebrate our wedding anniversary and we are so looking forward to once again staying in this fine establishment .
We would like to thank all the staff and management who work so hard to maintain the highest standards of customer service and who make our visits so special.
A little tip from us......
finish your night off by relaxing by the fire with coffee and brandy in the wonderfully elegant surroundings of one of Northern Irelands greatest Hotels.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loracgrahem1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2009

my husband and I stayed here for 1 night after a hectic week talk about dying and gone to heaven we had a wonderful time from checking in with a welcoming and efficient staff settling in to a first class bedroom very inviting strolling in the gorgeous grounds and dining in the luxurious mitre restaurant wine food and service was impeccable cant wait to return

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cockadoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2009

I recently stayed here with my husband for a night during the Tall Ships festival. As my husband said to the receptionist - if Basil Fawlty had walked down the stairs he wouldn't have been a bit surprised!

The highs: The hotel building is beautiful and in a lovely setting which was great to see the Tall Ships leave on Sunday. The rooms are perfectly comfortable and clean.

The lows: The kitchen has a serious hygiene problem. The staff, though pleasant, are completely clueless. The service is shockingly bad. The food is terrible.

We sat down to have lunch on Sunday when the hotel was relatively quiet. The restaurant manager sat us at a table that had been previously used and said he would set it for us. He proceeded to turn the dirty, stained cloth over! We were too shocked to complain, then it went further downhill- every piece of cutlery and every plate that was put on the table was filthy, previously used napkins, jam on the tea and coffee pots, butter smeared all over the condiments. We complained and the manager agreed to start again. After waiting for an age for the dirty stuff to be removed we gave up and went to our room. The receptionist agreed to send the food to our room. A full hour and 10 mins after ordering food we received it (a salad and an omelette). The sugar bowl was filthy and full of water. The glasses in the room were also filthy.

Breakfast was also very disappointing. Nobody to sit you, give you a menu. We had to chase after the staff to order tea and coffee. The breakfast came out very fast - clearly its all precooked and wasnt very nice. The juice seemed to be gone off and "fizzy". Not what we expected from a 5 star hotel.

The bar and reception weren't staffed at various times which was strange - it may be that the hotel is understaffed. But we did spend a lot of time wandering around looking for someone to help. Strangely our phone rang at 4.30 am - reception didnt know anything about that. Bizarrely the fire alarm was tested at 11am in the morning.

The manager we dealt with was extremely pleasant and took on board all our complaints. We were given a discount on the room when we went to pay and were offered a free room for the next time we visited but we turned it down. We'd rather pay to go somewhere decent than stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank legelease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2009

We recently picked from all the hotels and venues in N.Ireland the Culloden for our most important and memorable day and in EVERY little way it was clear to see that the people we encountered appreciated this and wanted to provide 100% customer service and make it special.
Both myself and my wife,extended family and friends who were there through the day and overnight had not one fault to air about the hotel rather praise for every detail so it is so hard to review everything and everyone.
From arrival every member of staff were so helpful and catered for every need of ours and our guests and at the same time not overbearing or intrusive. A special thankyou to people like Charlie and Cheryl goes without saying as they both ran the reception and the hotel side of the wedding to a standard that must be noted. The staff play a very important role in making a hotel memorable and it is not difficult to see why this is the original and still the best 5* hotel in N.Ireland.
Everyone from the porter on the door to the guys and girls in the mitre restaurant were so friendly and polite yet not in an overbearing or fake way. This could be further demonstrated when the young guy with sandy ginger style hair, sorry bad with names!, who was looking after the residents bar the night before walked past me the Sunday and asked if had a good day and night and had a friendly chat about the events of the day ending in us buying what remained of a bottle of rum we ordered especially in before the poor bloke got a chance to sample it!.
All the guests were more than impressed with the standard of service and food and the buffet meal as it was spectacular. Then there was the cake or should I say the profiterole tower ( Croquembouche ) that blew everyone that seen it away so again the team behind the scenes need a great praise bestowed on them, Outstanding!. We also had Cameoflage perform and they worked in perfectly with these guys.
Anyone who stays in this hotel should have great memories from the position and surrounding fantastically kept grounds to the main foyer / lobby to the fantastic array of rooms available. These range from the latest modern style to the old grandeur style in keeping with the age of the hotel,of which the Dufferin suite was our choice and perfect in every way.
It has been all for all these reasons I have wanted to review here and went on a bit but after the 18th July this is tops in ours and all our guests minds for a total package for a wedding venue or a leisure break,as spa also fantastic. Us included they will see many faces back again and hope alI will enjoy the next visit as much as I am sure I will.

Keep up the good work as reviews speak for themselves. A faultless hotel!. Thank you.

Alan.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grovesy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holywood
Merchant Hotel
#3 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,327 reviews
Stormont Hotel
#11 of 43 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rayanne House
#2 of 3 in Holywood
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Culloden Estate & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culloden Estate & Spa

Property: Culloden Estate & Spa
Address: 142 Bangor Road, Holywood BT18 0EX, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Holywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Holywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Culloden Estate & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing high on the wooded slopes of the Holywood hills, overlooking Belfast Lough, is the magnificent Culloden Estate and Spa, one of the most prestigious 5 star hotels in Northern Ireland.Originally built as an official palace for the Bishops of Down, the Culloden stands in 12 acres of beautiful gardens and is 5 miles from Belfast City Centre. The exclusive Spa offers health and leisure facilities, and a full range of ESPA spa therapies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Culloden Estate & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culloden Estate And Spa
Culloden Estate Hotel Holywood
Culloden Hotel
Culloden Estate Holywood
Culloden Estate & Spa Holywood, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing