We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy Home away from Home”
Review of Rayanne House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rayanne House
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Holywood
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Classy Home away from Home”
Reviewed 26 April 2012

I have been travelling for in excess of 30 years and never have I stayed in a more welcoming Guest House. 7 of us needed comfortable lodging for our 12 night stay in Belfast for the World Irish dancing championships and this was the perfect place. Comfortable rooms, comfortable beds and all very classy. The owners Bernie & Conor were absolutely delightful as was each and every staff member - a special mention of Charles (Conor's brother). The breakfasts are AMAZING - the gourmet selections are to die for. We also had the "Titanic dinner" and every last detail for each course was impeccable. The three teenagers were thrilled to learn that there was complimentary wifi so that they could stay in touch with friends back home in Australia via facebook. Thank you to all at Rayanne House for making our stay in Holywood (which is a beautiful quaint town) very memorable. We miss you all already! Your Irish dancing friends.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    22
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
45
85
15
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Rayanne House is a name that I have heard bandied about in the tourism circles in which I used to work (I was heavily involved in the creation and delivery of Titanic Belfast!) as the epitome of quality on every front. So, as a special 'thank-you' to my wife for her fortitude during my long period of illness I thought I would treat her to a one-night stay in Rayanne House and so we would together taste the 'Rayanne experience' of this 5-star, award winning guest house.

There is no doubt that the house itself is stunning; a period dwelling which retains much of the character of it's time, both in the downstairs decor and furnishings (e.g. restful sitting rooms, art deco collections and period ornaments) and in the stairways and landings, and it was delightful to sit in one of the residents' lounges and read and enjoy a glass of wine from crystal glasses!

We were given Room 6, which was at the front of the house and had views of Belfast Lough over the other houses' roof tops. The general quality of the room was very good, bordering on excellent, with complementary port and chocolates on arrival, bottled water and quality glassware in the room and for those who care to know, they also had left 3 bottles of red wine, with a cork screw and glasses, in the room for use (you had to pay, off course!) together with their house wine list. The bathroom was modern with an array of personal items made available, although if you don't like Lynx you may have a problem. Perhaps Molton & Brown products would have been more fitting?

We were really looking forward to the "...pleasures of superior cuisine..." and the gourmet breakfast. To ensure that your breakfast experience is optimal you have to order at night (reminiscent of a hospital menu!) for the morning. Alongside the normal breakfast fayre of beverages, breads, preserves and fresh juice, you order your starters and mains. There are some very extraordinary dishes available, and we choose the home-made prune soufflé on a purée of green figs (Pamela, my wife) and the compote of warmed spicy breakfast fruits (spiced with dark rum, brandy, cinnamon and cloves). These were the most exquisite breakfast dishes we had ever tasted, and were truly gourmet! However the mains were not so gourmet! My wife had the 'Rayanne Sausages' (organic pork and prune), which looked terribly thin, served with potato waffles (which looked very like the Captain Bird's Eye version we used to cook for our children) drizzled with a Dijon mustard, cider and honey sauce (which was to die for!). I ordered the traditional Irish grilled breakfast (nothing fried!), which was certainly not gourmet, unless you count the cross symbol carved into the tomato! To be honest, we were disappointed with the breakfast, as apart from the excellent starters we could have had juice, toast, tea, coffee, an grill (or fry) and potato waffles at home!

Another feature of our stay that didn't add to our enjoyment was that while the staff are exceptionally professional, they are cold and slightly aloof (except for Conor, the owner, who stopped to chat with us for a few minutes) and all the staff we saw were male! This made for a more cold atmosphere than we had expected.

Other small issues were the chandelier in our room had mixed bulbs (clear and opaque), and the shower head kept slipping down the shower pole, which meant you had to shower on your knees to get your hair wet!

The $64,000 question is would I be back? To stay ... perhaps not; that's why I have called this review a 'one-night' stand in Holywood!. But I will be back to sample their Titanic menu, and I hope that after that I can improve my ratings.

Room Tip: Room 6, at the front of the house was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wallace45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

9 courses carefully prepared & wonderfully executed, pairred with the perfect wines. The location was ideal, watching the sun set over Belfast Lough. I have been raving about this meal since it's digestion. I'm so proud to have this wonderful experience in my back yard. Living so close I've never had to avail of their accomodation but I was ecstatic to hear that you can book their famous breakfasts even without being a resident. Bernie & Conor you have a customer for life !

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bellefast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

we have just returned from a fabulous weekend in rayanne house .from the moment we arrived we felt welcomed and relaxed ,our room was breath taken ,large bay windows you could see the lough .the room had everything you could need or want . set on the dresser upon are arrival was port and hand made chocolates .the bathroom was huge with a powerful shower ,bath and hot towel rails .with every toiletries you could need. the bed was the most comfortable bed i have ever slept in the restaurant decor is beautiful . it was the little details like having pink roses and white daisies the same as the ritz restaurant on the titanic .the dinner was outstanding , each course gentle flowed into the next the food was cooked to perfection and tasted fabulous .nothing was rushed and you had time between each course .the cheese board had a very good selection of irish cheeses and fruit with a glass of port .the meal finished with coffee and petit fours .after a very comfortable sleep the breakfast next morning was excellent the menu choice was great .the staff showed great interest in their guest . i can highly recommend this guest house . if you are thinking of staying in belfast stay here

Room Tip: we stayed in the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank antoinette r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We had a fantastic stay at this beautiful guest house! Bernie and Conor were extremely welcoming and the room that we were appointed was very comfortable with a balcony view that overlooked the surrounding countryside and Belfast lough, stunning! We had breakfast the next morning, the Rayanne Breakfast Burger was amazing! Would highly recommend a stay at Rayanne!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottyusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2012 via mobile

We had the pleasure of the Titanic Meal. The meal is a culinary masterpiece, 9 courses carefully portioned and cooked quite simply to perfection.

Service superb, food amazing - Rayanne house has something very special about it, we can't wait to go back.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank sparkybouy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2012

After 29 hours of flying from Australia, we were warmly welcomed, but without an over the top fuss I've experienced at some b and bs.

The room and bathroom were clean, the beds were comfortable, the shower pressure was great. It was the small touches which helped, too. There were generous toiletries, daily room service and top up of all sorts of chocolatey treats for us.

But it was the breakfast menu that is the real star! The choices were so many and varied it was hard to pick each morning for fear of missing out! The traditional Irish "grill" (much preferred than the unhealthy fry up) was delicious. So was the scrambled eggs with lobster meat. And the County Down kippers. And the baked grapefruit with cinnamon. The kids loved the crepe. (I am having serious cravings just thinking about how well fed were!)

Nothing was a bother for the staff- we were looked after so well. We were staying for the World Irish dancing championships and I can't wait til they're in Belfast again so we can stay at Rayanne House again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldchampions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holywood
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 2 in Holywood
1,731 reviews
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stormont Hotel
#10 of 45 in Belfast
1,036 reviews
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rayanne House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rayanne House

Property: Rayanne House
Address: 60 Demesne Road, Holywood BT18 9EX, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Holywood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Holywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rayanne House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rayanne House offers a boutique experience where period meets present, charm & comfort, luxury & location, elegance & excellent service. Multi award winning Rayanne House is a unique period property with private grounds, parking and spectacular views over Belfast Lough. A genuine friendly welcome awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Rayanne House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rayanne House Hotel Holywood
Rayanne Hotel Holywood
Rayanne House Holywood, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing