We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply lovely” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rayanne House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rayanne House
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Holywood
Certificate of Excellence
Aurora, NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

Visited family in who live nearby. I had a large comfortable bed, wonderful tea makings with assorted teas, hot chocolate as well as cookies, a spacious bathroom. My daughter, 5 year old grandaughter and new baby joined for breakfast every day and the staff was so accomodating. The menu for the included breakfast was large and imaginative. The 5 year year old quite loved the banana and peanut butter stuffed french toast. Its walkable to Holywood which has many shops and coffee houses. All in all I quite enjoyed it!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alplausrobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    20
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
41
81
15
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

We were looking for a B&B to allow us to visit family over the holiday season. The handling of initial enquiries, booking, and requests for information was excellent. We had some dietary needs which were handled smoothly and comfortably. We felt most welcome. We probably didn't make full use of the House and its facilities. Would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DiW2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

My husband and I stayed in this Boutique Hotel last summer and had one of the best experiences in a long time. The ambience, friendliness of the staff, beautifully appointed bedroom and bathroom and a breakfast worthy of a Michelin star was total decadence. The crowning glory was getting a dinner cancellation at the last minute and being able to experience the Titanic nine course dinner. Words fail me when it comes to describing this wonderful meal,each course more delicious than the last. The attention to detail was superb and if the matching of the colour of the superlative rose sorbet to the colour of the roses in the table decor
was designed or accidental who cares.....the effect was just perfect. Having dined so magnificently we could only groan when requested to fill out the breakfast menu cards and hang them on our door for the chef's attention. It was next to impossible to think of more food......but we did and the result was magnificent. It was not a cheap weekend but then you get what you pay for and it waas worth every penny. A perfect place for a special occasion.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luamc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012

Just returned from spending a weekend at Rayanne with friends on a visit to NI. The room was spacious and comfortable, with lovely thoughtful amenity boxes in the bedroom, with candles and fab shampoos etc - amazingly soft and warm dressing gown too! Decanter of port with chocolates added to the decadence, with a choice of wine to buy aswell.

We were greeted by Bernie at the door, who continued her warming welcome with a complimentary drink as we waited for a cab to take us to the Dirty Duck pub - much appreciated.

I could write reams about how good breakfast was, but I don't want to spoil it for your visit, the chilled porridge was amazing, as was the fruit compote with yoghurt and rum (although an unwise choice after a night on the guinness!) Boiled eggs were fab, as was the peanut butter french toast.

Can't rate this place highly enough, Holywood is a lovely part of Belfast, very close to the airport for a weekend visit (but not under the flight path) and close to the bay and the many golf courses too. Relaxing weekend full of laughter - made all the better for a comfy nights sleep and a bellyful of breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellertash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremen
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

We celebrated a fiftieth birthday party with family and close friends at Rayanne house: the age range of our guests spanned from 16 to 78 and each and every guest had an absolute ball!
Bernie and Connor welcomed us into their house so that every one felt at home. The rooms, each with their own individual style and very comfortable, were spacious and wonderfully equipped. Small touches like the crystal carafe filled with sherry or port (? Not quite sure as I didn't try it but that's what it looked like!) and the two crystal glasses are the extra touches which gives the house its special atmosphere : a lot of thought and love has obviously been invested in making this house what it is.
Holywood, the village where Rayanne is located, is ideal for many day trips with good proximity to Belfast, the City airport, the coastal towns of the Antrim coast and not ten minutes from the new Titanic Quarter where we spent most of the day. (Bernie helped us with the organization of our day program giving us super tips for it too). In the evening we sat down to the nine course Titanic dinner in the restaurant. The food was excellent, the service super friendly and efficient. Time literally flew past and before we knew it we had all nine delicious courses!
The next morning we didn't really need breakfast but we decided to test the award "best breakfast 2012" and again we were not disappointed - it would be worth going to Rayanne just for the breakfast!
We went home very happy people, filled with good food and happy memories.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

This was an phenomenal find. I did some research before heading here with my mother and grandmother, and I booked a room with two double beds. When we arrived, the hosts brought in a third bed so we would each have our own, at no extra charge. That was unexpected and so nice. One of the hosts noticed that my grandmother and I were perusing through the books on the book shelf in the hallway and she told us to take some home if we wanted. I chose a book of photos of Ireland's unmatched countryside. Late that night, my mother hurt her knee, and we phoned downstairs and they immediately brought up a bucket of ice and some plastic bags for her to ice her knee. The next morning, they told us of 3 must-see locations on the Antrim coast for us to see that we wouldn't have known about otherwise (complete with detailed directions). They were the nicest hosts we could possibly ask for.

Aside from their great friendliness, the room was gorgeous--the view was outstanding and we watched the sunset over the Irish Sea from our balcony. Everything was extremely clean and in great working order, plus the detail in the decor was adorable. Breakfast was DELICIOUS. I got the peanut butter-banana french toast and I've tried to make it myself since then, and it's just unparalleled. Great breakfast. We ate as we looked out to a peaceful and sunny morning through the huge picture window. I've been meaning to write a review ever since this trip because this place is a rare gem.

If staying in Northern Ireland--the Rayanne House is definitely the place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peatruck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

We had a most enjoyable stay at Rayanne House. We were in Belfast for the weekend with relatives and visiting other relatives in the City. Rayanne House is very convenient yet sufficient outside for it to be a peaceful, tranquil place to come back to. The rooms are tastefully decorated to make the stay relaxing. We stayed in Room Number 4 - and my only message to the proprietors here is that the bathroom, whilst perfectly clean, does need updating to today's standards (I found it a bit "80's" with its avocado suite). The other rooms' bathrooms have been upgraded - so perhaps this one was last on the list. I hasten to add that the room was lovely - with a superb view to Belfast harbour. We also had a small sun terrace (and there was some sun that weekend - although not a huge amount). Breakfast was quite an experience: the choice was not only varied but quite exquisite with some of the options available truly imaginative. I definitely recommend this place for a lovely relaxing stay in Belfast.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front of the building are lighter and of course have the view. Some of the rooms at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PCH_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holywood
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 3 in Holywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,644 reviews
Stormont Hotel
#11 of 43 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Merchant Hotel
#3 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,332 reviews
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rayanne House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rayanne House

Property: Rayanne House
Address: 60 Demesne Road, Holywood BT18 9EX, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Holywood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Holywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rayanne House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rayanne House offers a boutique experience where period meets present, charm & comfort, luxury & location, elegance & excellent service. Multi award winning Rayanne House is a unique period property with private grounds, parking and spectacular views over Belfast Lough. A genuine friendly welcome awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Rayanne House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rayanne House Hotel Holywood
Rayanne Hotel Holywood
Rayanne House Holywood, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing