We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Totally perfect in every way!”
other travellers have booked this property
Holywood Hill (Summer 2016)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Holywood Hill (Summer 2016)
Holywood Hill in Winter (Jan 2016) Cottages in Winter (Jan 2016)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
Holywood Hill (Summer 2016)
Holywood Hill in Winter (Jan 2016)
Cottages in Winter (Jan 2016)
Entrance to cottages with view over reservoir (Jan 2016)
Ballydavey Cottage - Large double bedroom with picture window - views of Belfast Lough
Ballydavey Cottage - Living area, comfortable, fully equipped with Large TV, Free WIFI
Ballydavey Cottage - Bright, open plan dining area with view of Belfast Lough
Ballycultra Cottage - Dining area and access to balcony
Ballycultra Cotage - Open plan, modern, fully equipped kitchen
Ballydavey Cottage - Double bedroom, great space and personal touches for a comfortable stay
Ballycultra Cottage - Large Double Bedroom with original artwork
Ballydavey Cottage - Large modern bathroom, with hot water via the solar heating system
Holywood Hill Country Cottages - A homely, welcome entrance
Ballydavey Cottage - Large Twin Bedroom with built in wardrobe and wall mounted TV
View from Ballycultra Cottage Balcony - Uninterrupted Views of Belfast Lough
Ballycultra Cottage - View from bedroom - as far as the eye can see
Ballycultra Cottage - Modern bathroom, design panels, towel rail and illuminated mirror
Ballycultra Cottage - Single bedroom lots of storage space for those little extras
Ballycultra Cottage - Lots of Built in storage to maximise space for your comfort
High Chair - available free of charge for our little visitors
Children very welcome to Holywood Hill Country Cottages
Pine cot with bed linen available free of charge for our tiny guests
Original watercolour painting a present to us from one of our guests - view from Ballycultra Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Holywood, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Lisa M
Lisburn, United Kingdom
1 review
“Totally perfect in every way!”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We recently had an extended stay in this fabulous property. It is comfortably furnished and spotlessly clean with everything you could need for your stay. The welcome pack is a lovely touch and includes fresh eggs from their hens. The beds are so comfy that it's hard to get out of them to appreciate the amazing scenery in this peaceful location. The views over the surrounding countryside and Belfast Lough are ever changing and there is an unbelievable amount of wildlife including birds of prey, hares, foxes, owls and even newts.
Only minutes away is Holywood with it's fantastic shops, pubs and restaurants. There are plenty of places for walks and major tourist attractions are within easy reach.
Wendy and David are brilliant hosts and nothing is too much trouble. it is just quite simply perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2014
To be honest your family staying at the cottages, bringing such appreciation for the countryside and wildlife, really made us value the beautiful surroundings once more. Thanks for a lovely review, and we'll continue to keep in touch. Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francine...
Warminster, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning place to stay”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed for a long weekend, fabulous place to stay. Stunning location and the accommodation is 5 stars. We arrived to beautiful welcome basket of goodies and a warm welcome from David. Wendy was very helpful emailing us before our arrival with details on what is going on in the area at the time of our stay. We can’t wait to return next time we are in Ireland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2014
Thanks a million for your 5* review. Delighted you enjoyed your stay at Holywood Hill. David and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian B
Limerick, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful location convenient to Belfast & quite rural setting”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The Holywood Hill Cottages are well furnished and extremely comfortable. The games room/laundry was a bonus - we just didn't get a chance to play the Wii! We found it really convenient for Belfast which had plenty to do for the kids. The owners are really nice & accommodating. We definitely recommend these cottages to anyone looking for a spacious, modern, fully furnished cottage/apartment close to Belfast.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Close to Belfast & quite rural setting
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2014
Thanks for a lovely review - glad you and your young family enjoyed a holiday in Ballydavey Cottage. Yes, although we are a countryside location there is so much close by for families to visit and enjoy. David and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kismi
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for 2 nights and we loved it. The cottage was spotless and had everything we could ask for including fresh milk, butter, bread and freshly laid eggs from the hens outside. The beds were so comfy that I actually slept better here than I do at home!
There are great views and farmland all round so we wouldn't have known we were in Belfast - it was fabulous waking up feeling like we'd come on a country retreat! We'll definitely be staying here again next time we're in the area.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2014
'Perfect' - What a compliment! Thanks a million for your review and glad you enjoyed your short stay at Holywood Hill. Wendy and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
avensus
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Just great place to stay in Northern Ireland”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We recently stayed at the Cottages and they are extremely good,well maintained and with every amenity you would need. Quite close to Belfast and with the shops and restaurants of Holywood nearby
Excellent hosts Wendy and David were very helpful and we would highly recommend these Cottages as a base to tour Northern Ireland as well as County Down where they are located.
A real find!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: So well equipped and beautifully looked after
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 May 2014
Thanks for your kind comments --- we're glad you found us too, as it was lovely having you stay at Holywood Hill. Kind regards. Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
superbrai...
Midlands
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent cottages and lovely hosts”
Reviewed 15 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

I stayed in the Ballycultra cottage with my wife and 3 yr old for 3 nights. The cottage was immaculate and tastefully decorated. Everything was nicely taken care of. The hosts Wendy and David were extremely helpful and friendly too.

Even before we reached there, Wendy made considerable effort to provide me with all the information I could need. She was considerate and inquired about our needs like cots, high chairs etc.

When we arrived, the cottage was in perfect order. Wendy took the time to explain everything to use. We also got a welcome pack which was a really nice touch and something that I have not seen often in self catering accommodation. Wendy and David also provided fresh free range eggs laid by their chickens.

There were plenty of toys and games for children of all ages, books and movies for children and grown ups, and a Wii console with loads of games in the laundry room for the guests.

The location of the cottages is quite good if you are looking for a place away from the city. It is less than 15 minuted from Belfast so you get the best of both world.

Overall a thoroughly enjoyable stay and it is a place we would highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 May 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review the cottages. Your comments are a great insight into the personal service we provide at the cottages. Best wishes. Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stulawn
Dromahair, Ireland
1 review
“Fantastic Accommodation in a Beautiful Location”
Reviewed 30 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We stayed just before Easter with our 2 children aged 6 and 11 months and these apartments are totally new and spotless. The owners, Wendy and David, made us feel very welcome and went out of their way to make sure that everything was OK for the baby including getting a proper cot and high chair for us to use. The place was warm and cosy and my son loved the chickens and dogs running around in the large garden out front. They were a constant source of entertainment.

The area isn't as well known as some parts of Belfast and NI but one place you have to visit if you come here is the Ulster Folk Park. It is 5 mins from the apartments and transports you back in time to how we used to live 100+ years ago. We thought we would only be visiting it for an hour but ended up staying at 3-4 hours exploring the wonderful houses, farms and shops that create a turn of the century village complete with in character guides who demonstrate crafts and skills from old rural Ireland.

We were enjoying ourselves so much we extended our trip by an extra day and Wendy and David managed to squeeze us in even though they had another visitor booked to arrive the next morning. I wholeheartedly recommend this place to anyone looking for a break in NI or Belfast.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 May 2014
Thanks a million for taking the time to give such a detailed review of your holiday at our cottages. Really glad the kids had such fun in the open countryside. Thanks again for the kind words. Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing