We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“superb accomodation, stunning views, warm...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
59 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Holywood, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 59 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

irishwate...
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“superb accomodation, stunning views, warm hospitality”
Reviewed 9 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Exactly as described, but even better than expected. Spotlessly clean, tastefully decorated and furnished.Helpful hosts. well thought out welcome pack. The eggs from the resident hens were delicious.Within a few minutes walk of a country park and a short drive to all main amenities.
We can honestly say, without doubt, that this is the best self-catering accomodation we have stayed in anywhere in the world .
Well done!

Date of stay: October 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: clean, well equipped, modern accomodation,tastefully decorated.
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Oct 2014
Overwhelmed once more with this lovely review. What a compliment! Thanks so much. David and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray L
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unbelievably excellent accommodation”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We are a family of 5, 3 children 4 and under and the lengths went to by Wendy & David to make sure we had everything we needed was wonderful. Providing a cot for our youngest and a bed rail for our middle child, making the beds for our kids so one was for a boy and the other for a girl. From the welcome basket left for us to the standard of accommodation, this cottage is truly excellent. Beautiful views of the hills and water, peaceful location and chickens too! The beds the kids used were so perfect we've now got the same one for our eldest! Every room is beautifully decorated and they have everything you could ever need, including a nightlight for the kids, highchair etc. Little things that meant a lot. We were so impressed we kept showing it off to our family and friends! We hope to stay again but fear that because it is so good it will be fully booked very quickly! Thanks Wendy and David for letting us stay and we hope to be back soon.

Date of stay: August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2014
Whooow! I don't know what to say to such lovely comments. Glad the little ones were happy with everything too - always a bonus! Thanks for sharing the memories of your holiday and we look forward to seeing you all again. David and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M
Lisburn, United Kingdom
1 review
“Totally perfect in every way!”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We recently had an extended stay in this fabulous property. It is comfortably furnished and spotlessly clean with everything you could need for your stay. The welcome pack is a lovely touch and includes fresh eggs from their hens. The beds are so comfy that it's hard to get out of them to appreciate the amazing scenery in this peaceful location. The views over the surrounding countryside and Belfast Lough are ever changing and there is an unbelievable amount of wildlife including birds of prey, hares, foxes, owls and even newts.
Only minutes away is Holywood with it's fantastic shops, pubs and restaurants. There are plenty of places for walks and major tourist attractions are within easy reach.
Wendy and David are brilliant hosts and nothing is too much trouble. it is just quite simply perfect.

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2014
To be honest your family staying at the cottages, bringing such appreciation for the countryside and wildlife, really made us value the beautiful surroundings once more. Thanks for a lovely review, and we'll continue to keep in touch. Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francine...
Warminster, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning place to stay”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed for a long weekend, fabulous place to stay. Stunning location and the accommodation is 5 stars. We arrived to beautiful welcome basket of goodies and a warm welcome from David. Wendy was very helpful emailing us before our arrival with details on what is going on in the area at the time of our stay. We can’t wait to return next time we are in Ireland.

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2014
Thanks a million for your 5* review. Delighted you enjoyed your stay at Holywood Hill. David and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
I3023ADbr...
Limerick, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful location convenient to Belfast & quite rural setting”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The Holywood Hill Cottages are well furnished and extremely comfortable. The games room/laundry was a bonus - we just didn't get a chance to play the Wii! We found it really convenient for Belfast which had plenty to do for the kids. The owners are really nice & accommodating. We definitely recommend these cottages to anyone looking for a spacious, modern, fully furnished cottage/apartment close to Belfast.

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Close to Belfast & quite rural setting
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2014
Thanks for a lovely review - glad you and your young family enjoyed a holiday in Ballydavey Cottage. Yes, although we are a countryside location there is so much close by for families to visit and enjoy. David and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kismi
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for 2 nights and we loved it. The cottage was spotless and had everything we could ask for including fresh milk, butter, bread and freshly laid eggs from the hens outside. The beds were so comfy that I actually slept better here than I do at home!
There are great views and farmland all round so we wouldn't have known we were in Belfast - it was fabulous waking up feeling like we'd come on a country retreat! We'll definitely be staying here again next time we're in the area.

Date of stay: June 2014
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2014
'Perfect' - What a compliment! Thanks a million for your review and glad you enjoyed your short stay at Holywood Hill. Wendy and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
avensus
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Just great place to stay in Northern Ireland”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We recently stayed at the Cottages and they are extremely good,well maintained and with every amenity you would need. Quite close to Belfast and with the shops and restaurants of Holywood nearby
Excellent hosts Wendy and David were very helpful and we would highly recommend these Cottages as a base to tour Northern Ireland as well as County Down where they are located.
A real find!

Date of stay: May 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: So well equipped and beautifully looked after
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 May 2014
Thanks for your kind comments --- we're glad you found us too, as it was lovely having you stay at Holywood Hill. Kind regards. Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
$USD
United Kingdom
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.