We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Book this accommodation”
other travellers have booked this property
Holywood Hill (Summer 2016)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Holywood Hill (Summer 2016)
Holywood Hill in Winter (Jan 2016) Cottages in Winter (Jan 2016)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
Holywood Hill (Summer 2016)
Holywood Hill in Winter (Jan 2016)
Cottages in Winter (Jan 2016)
Entrance to cottages with view over reservoir (Jan 2016)
Ballydavey Cottage - Large double bedroom with picture window - views of Belfast Lough
Ballydavey Cottage - Living area, comfortable, fully equipped with Large TV, Free WIFI
Ballydavey Cottage - Bright, open plan dining area with view of Belfast Lough
Ballycultra Cottage - Dining area and access to balcony
Ballycultra Cotage - Open plan, modern, fully equipped kitchen
Ballydavey Cottage - Double bedroom, great space and personal touches for a comfortable stay
Ballycultra Cottage - Large Double Bedroom with original artwork
Ballydavey Cottage - Large modern bathroom, with hot water via the solar heating system
Holywood Hill Country Cottages - A homely, welcome entrance
Ballydavey Cottage - Large Twin Bedroom with built in wardrobe and wall mounted TV
View from Ballycultra Cottage Balcony - Uninterrupted Views of Belfast Lough
Ballycultra Cottage - View from bedroom - as far as the eye can see
Ballycultra Cottage - Modern bathroom, design panels, towel rail and illuminated mirror
Ballycultra Cottage - Single bedroom lots of storage space for those little extras
Ballycultra Cottage - Lots of Built in storage to maximise space for your comfort
High Chair - available free of charge for our little visitors
Children very welcome to Holywood Hill Country Cottages
Pine cot with bed linen available free of charge for our tiny guests
Original watercolour painting a present to us from one of our guests - view from Ballycultra Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Holywood, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Ruth S
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Book this accommodation”
Reviewed 13 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Look no further, book this as your accommodation, it's first class. A great location, with amazing views from the property itself and a good base to explore Northern Ireland.

Immaculately clean and all the amenities you could wish for in the cottage or within easy reach, washing machine etc next door in a utility area. Lovely welcome basket which included fresh eggs from the hens strutting about in the garden :-).

Wendy couldn't be more helpful, good communication before, during and after our stay. We are hoping to be back one day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Apr 2017
What a title to your review 'book this accommodation - it's first class!' It's great our visitors can walk down to the bottom of the garden to meet the hens in the hen run - their eggs are tasty! Thank you so much for your kind words and delighted you found the cottage was really clean and had everything you needed. Wendy xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Impossible to nominate one feature
Liked least: The light at the bathroom mirror could be better - a very minor criticism
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 Oct 2016
Goodness! What a lovely review and kind compliments. We really appreciate you taking the time to comment on our Country Cottages. It was lovely to meet you and it already looks like we will be seeing you again next year. Safe travels. Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Philsutto
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic, beautiful and a home away from home”
Reviewed 30 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We could not recommend staying here more! The apartment was immaculately clean and beautifully and stylishly decorated.The kitchen was fully stocked with every piece of equipment you could possibly need to make a meal. Even the small things like washing up liquid, salt and pepper etc were on hand. It was so great to have well working wi-fi too all included in the price. The beds were extremely comfy and there was an abundance of towels for all of us. The laundry room downstairs was amazingly stocked with new appliances, equipment for baking, weighing scales for our luggage (which was hugely helpful). The welcome basket was the best one I've ever seen: tea, coffee, fresh eggs, bread, hot chocolate, homemade cakes and biscuits, pancakes- all went down a treat. The view from our balcony was stunning and the surroundings were peaceful and overlooked the sea: you would never know you were merely 10 minutes from Belfast city centre. When we are next in Northern Ireland, we will be staying here again without a doubt.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Decor, cleanliness and facilities available
Liked least: That we had to leave
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2016
Thanks for taking the time to review our cottages and for the helpful information for our future guests to read. Even though we are in such a peaceful countryside location, you're right..... we're only 10 minutes from Belfast City Centre. Hoping to see you again in the future. Kind regards. Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Expeditio...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Miss”
Reviewed 9 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Stayed at the cottage ground floor apartment with partner and mum and dad for a week. We had never been to NI before but had some family in Bangor so this was a great base, within easy reach of Belfast as well.
The cottage was fantastic can't fault how equipped it was and the standard of fittings. The cottage had been fitted out to such a high specification and was lovely and clean.
Beds are normally an issue for me, as I have memory foam at home. However I did not find these hard and there was Extra pillows were available.
The laundry room was really useful when we needed to wash a few bits. The views across Holywood were breath taking and we watched some lovely sun sets. Big thanks to Wendy and family for such a lovely stay we will be sure to visit again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2016
Thanks for a great review. Glad you got good weather during your stay to enjoy the lovely sunsets, they certainly can take your breath away. Really appreciate you taking the time to review our cottages. Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkippyNZ8...
2 reviews
“Great accomodation in beautiful location”
Reviewed 21 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Fantastic self catered apartment, great location in the country but not far from central Belfast. Apartment spotlessly clean on arrival with a lovely welcome basket.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2016
Thanks a million for your lovely review. Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justine M
Auckland Central, New Zealand
2 reviews
“So Impressed! ”
Reviewed 20 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Perfect cottage with the best views! Close to Belfast and surrounding tourist attractions. The welcome baskets filled with fresh eggs, bread, muffins, chocolate, milk and butter was exactly what we needed after a long trip from NZ and the welcome basket full of toys for our baby was so thoughtful. Wendy was fantastic to deal with, there wasn't anything she hadn't thought of to make our stay easy, even a plug converter and scales for weighing luggage!

Highly recommended, we could have stayed for ages, really didn't want to leave.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2016
Awh - glad that you felt at home after such a long trip. It can be a challenge travelling with little ones and we try and make it as easy as possible with the little extras included to make you feel at home. Thanks a million for a lovely review. Safe travels. Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rnickels
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic accommodation- had everything we needed”
Reviewed 17 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We had a fantastic stay at Holywood Hills. The cottage had everything we needed and we really appreciated all the little extras (lovely welcome basket when we arrived, childrens bed linen on the childrens beds, bedguards for the children). We were fortunate to stay during the longest day and enjoyed the wonderful view on the long sunny evenings. Our children loved seeing the chickens and the fresh eggs were delicious.

We would definitely recommend Holywood hills to our friends and hope to come back sometime soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2016
Thank you so much for such a lovely review. It's great when the kids are happy with their bedroom too. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing