We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely river walk” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nungate Bridge

Ranked #2 of 10 things to do in Haddington
Attraction details
Newport-on-Tay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely river walk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

There is a lovely walk along the river Tyne, nice river pubs. A very nice town, very flat and easy to walk around.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jes1012013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    9
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Old historic bridge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

Not sure what to write about a bridge but as I walk over it every now and then I thought I should say a few words. Frome either side you can get some nice phoos of this rather beautiful old bridge. It crosses the River Tyne as it passes through Haddington. Don't know how old the bridge is exactly but it's believed to be 16th century. It's a rather graceful bridge to say the least in a beautiful setting.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank its-farky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
182 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“I don't know much about bridges...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

...but this is an old stone one, closed to traffic, which I could cycle over. It's probably has historic significance too.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank McWulf25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haddington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“nungate brig”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

very interesting history. lovely views of river tyne.if this bridge could talk???

Helpful?
Thank HaddingtonAlma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“breathtaken”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

at the weekend I took my 2 grandchildren to the nungate bridge un haddington. i have recently moved to haddington from Edinburgh. the scenic veiws are amazing , also the abundant wild life ,,,,,Herons ,Ducks ,Swans , there is a lovely bistro right on the river and historic , churches, and buildings , the whole place is so amazing, it is an idylic place and one where you would never tire of visiting,,,, Bliss even in the rain!!!!!!!!!!!!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank marie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nungate Bridge also viewed

Haddington, East Lothian
Haddington, East Lothian
 
Haddington, East Lothian
North Berwick, East Lothian
 

Been to Nungate Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing