We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maitlandfield House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Haddington
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

Whilst no one can deny, the rooms are very small. But they are more than adequate nicely decorated and spotlessly clean, the staff were excellent and breakfast was really good.
We never used the restaurant but other guests raved about the food!
The outside of the hotel could do with sprucing up but in general everything was really good, I would definatly return !!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulhobbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and you must return to try out the food in our restaurant. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2013

I can't recommend this hotel highly enough. My fiancé and I held our wedding ceremony and reception there this month and the staff and management gave us a very special day.
From the first visit we dealt with the owner who gave us her personal attention, guidance and advice without being intrusive. We had 50+ guests but each one had a wonderful experience and many said it was the best wedding they had been to.
The venue was beautiful, the staff couldn't do enough for us and the food and accommodation lived up to all our expectations.
Whether you are looking for a relaxing weekend, a base for your holiday or a venue for a special occasions you will not be disappointed with what's on offer at the Maitlandfield House Hotel, Haddington.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the original part of the hotel as they tend to be bigger and have open views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elizabeth anne f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted that you and your guests had such a lovely positive experience at The Maitlandfield. May I and all the staff wish you the very best for the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

As a small mature couple with a lot of experience of hotels this is the worst room we have ever had. The double bed was so small we could barely both fit on it. The space around the bed was about 12 inches and the person at the window couldn't get past the tiny wardrobe to get to the door or the bathroom. There was no room to put our bags. The room vibrated, the bathwater was brown and the bath vibrated when you were in it. When I commented that the room was not suitable as a double the receptionist stated that the room was priced accordingly. We checked with the others in our wedding party and we had all paid the same, so they obviously are ready with a response to complainers which must happen frequently. Our room was a small single at best it should not be sold as a double this is greed by the hotel owners. Breakfast was adequate but well below the standard of other hotels of similar standard. Poor show Maitlandfield you are relying on location to attract your customers as your current standard will not.

Room Tip: If you must stay here go for the deluxe room and make sure you are on the opposite side from the kit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jes1012013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are sorry that the hotel did not live up to your expectation. As you can see by other reviewers we do have a lot of satisfied customers, we do not only rely on our location. Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stumbled across this place on our way over to Edinburgh and we left happy after a decent lunch. The manager was very enthusiastic in recommending the fine Scottish beers, gins and whisky. Seems like someone who really loves his job and heritage.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank GeertAt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We do indeed have a very enthusiastic owner, this flows down to the staff who also love their jobs. We hope that you will return soon now that you have found us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Stayed for a couple of nights for a local wedding. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Room was ample and en-suite, for two adults and 2year old sharing room. Room very clean, but could do with a lick of paint. Breakfast great-plenty of it. More than happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: We had a superior room which had plenty of room for double bed and travel cot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpfJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed both our stay and our hospitality. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We booked late, and were given a "double room" which definitely did not have a double bed in it. We couldn't walk either side of the bed the room was so small. When we arrived the floor was shaking - apparently it was the kitchen fans directly below. These were switched off in time for bed, but the smell of cooking never left the bedroom.
We were charged full price for this room, until I refused to pay, when I was granted a very small discount. If you decide to go to this hotel - avoid Room 18.

Room Tip: Don't chose Room 18!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We are sorry you were disappointed with your stay with us. Room 18 is one of our smaller rooms but the rate charged reflects the sizes of all our bedrooms. Thank you once again for taking the time to review the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Recently had an amazing 3 course meal here and it was the best food I have had in a long time!! Highly recommend. Staff were pleasent and plenty of them so no big gaps between courses.

The area has amazing views and plenty to do and see around the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damien F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Thank you for posting your comments about our restaurant. We are delighted that you enjoyed the food. We are very lucky to have such passionate chefs and fabulous local produce. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haddington
7.5 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
2,339 reviews
5.1 mi away
Ducks Inn
Ducks Inn
#1 of 1 in Aberlady
367 reviews
7.4 mi away
Nether Abbey Hotel
Nether Abbey Hotel
#2 of 5 in North Berwick
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
9.9 mi away
Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate
10.2 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maitlandfield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maitlandfield House Hotel

Address: 24 Sidegate, Haddington EH41 4BZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Haddington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Haddington
Price Range: £83 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maitlandfield House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Maitlandfield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Haddington
Maitlandfield Hotel Haddington
Maitlandfield House Hotel Haddington, East Lothian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing