We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great golfing weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maitlandfield House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Haddington
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“great golfing weekend”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

just returned from a weekend stay at the Maitlandfield house hotel in Haddington and found it to be a very hospitable
. All the staff were very attentive and nothing was to much hassle.
The rooms were very clean but would benefit from an upgrade to bring it in line with the rest of the hotel
The food in the restraint was very good with a reasonable variety and a hearty breakfast served from the buffet
The location of the hotel is ideal for golfers as there are many excellent courses to choose from
close by and would certainly stay here again

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charliem788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted that you had a good stay with us. We are indeed in an enviable location for golfers and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    58
    44
    35
    19
See reviews for
38
87
6
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
165 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We took our visitors to Lennoxlove and had lunch at the hotel on the way. Pleasant restaurant and good food, when it finally arrived. There were 15 people in the restaurant being served before us and our food arrived 40 minutes later. We enjoyed it very much but obviously the kitchen couldn't cope. Luckily we weren't in a hurry and this won't put us off going again. We have eaten here twice before, some time ago, with no problems.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morageckford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We are delighted that you enjoyed the food. We are also sorry that there was a delay in receiving your food. I am glad that the standard of food made up for the delay. Please accept our apologies. We look forward to you returning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Our wedding lived up to all our expectations . We married in the beautiful St Mary's church directly opposite the hotel which is stunningly beautiful . Our wedding reception went like clockwork as the hotel had everything so well organised . Our wedding meal was delicious and our guests were complimenting us throughout the day . The hotel grounds are well kept and made the perfect backdrop for our photos .many of our guest stayed overnight so we took exclusive use which meant we had the hotel to ourselves for breakfast too which kept the party going .the hotel did us proud with a great team looking after us. We would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone planing a wedding or similar event

Room Tip: Classic rooms are comfortable but superior rooms are worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pechoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. We are all delighted that you and your guests had such a lovely time and enjoyed our excellent staff and food. We wish you the very best for the future and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

Whilst no one can deny, the rooms are very small. But they are more than adequate nicely decorated and spotlessly clean, the staff were excellent and breakfast was really good.
We never used the restaurant but other guests raved about the food!
The outside of the hotel could do with sprucing up but in general everything was really good, I would definatly return !!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulhobbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and you must return to try out the food in our restaurant. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gullane
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

I can't recommend this hotel highly enough. My fiancé and I held our wedding ceremony and reception there this month and the staff and management gave us a very special day.
From the first visit we dealt with the owner who gave us her personal attention, guidance and advice without being intrusive. We had 50+ guests but each one had a wonderful experience and many said it was the best wedding they had been to.
The venue was beautiful, the staff couldn't do enough for us and the food and accommodation lived up to all our expectations.
Whether you are looking for a relaxing weekend, a base for your holiday or a venue for a special occasions you will not be disappointed with what's on offer at the Maitlandfield House Hotel, Haddington.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the original part of the hotel as they tend to be bigger and have open views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elizabeth anne f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted that you and your guests had such a lovely positive experience at The Maitlandfield. May I and all the staff wish you the very best for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport-on-Tay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2013

As a small mature couple with a lot of experience of hotels this is the worst room we have ever had. The double bed was so small we could barely both fit on it. The space around the bed was about 12 inches and the person at the window couldn't get past the tiny wardrobe to get to the door or the bathroom. There was no room to put our bags. The room vibrated, the bathwater was brown and the bath vibrated when you were in it. When I commented that the room was not suitable as a double the receptionist stated that the room was priced accordingly. We checked with the others in our wedding party and we had all paid the same, so they obviously are ready with a response to complainers which must happen frequently. Our room was a small single at best it should not be sold as a double this is greed by the hotel owners. Breakfast was adequate but well below the standard of other hotels of similar standard. Poor show Maitlandfield you are relying on location to attract your customers as your current standard will not.

Room Tip: If you must stay here go for the deluxe room and make sure you are on the opposite side from the kit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jes1012013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are sorry that the hotel did not live up to your expectation. As you can see by other reviewers we do have a lot of satisfied customers, we do not only rely on our location. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Haddington hotels

Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stumbled across this place on our way over to Edinburgh and we left happy after a decent lunch. The manager was very enthusiastic in recommending the fine Scottish beers, gins and whisky. Seems like someone who really loves his job and heritage.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank GeertAt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We do indeed have a very enthusiastic owner, this flows down to the staff who also love their jobs. We hope that you will return soon now that you have found us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haddington
5.1 mi away
Ducks Inn
Ducks Inn
#1 of 1 in Aberlady
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
7.5 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in North Berwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,218 reviews
6.4 mi away
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Bayswell Park Hotel
Bayswell Park Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunbar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
10.8 mi away
Dunmuir Hotel
Dunmuir Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunbar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
1.5 mi away
Letham House
Letham House
#1 of 8 in Haddington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maitlandfield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maitlandfield House Hotel

Property: Maitlandfield House Hotel
Address: 24 Sidegate, Haddington EH41 4BZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Haddington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Haddington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Maitlandfield House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maitlandfield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Haddington
Maitlandfield Hotel Haddington
Maitlandfield House Hotel Haddington, East Lothian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing