We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maitlandfield House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Ducks Inn(Aberlady)
US$203
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$415
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nether Abbey Hotel(North Berwick)
US$265
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$298
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Folly(North Berwick)
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$241
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (254)
Filter reviews
254 results
Traveller rating
83
60
49
40
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
83
60
49
40
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmurder mysterywaiting staffpublic areasmy partnergreat nightold housecould not have been moreburgerporridgeweddingpaulinedishloungeduvetpartyedinburghvenue
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
138 - 143 of 254 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2013

just returned from a weekend stay at the Maitlandfield house hotel in Haddington and found it to be a very hospitable
. All the staff were very attentive and nothing was to much hassle.
The rooms were very clean but would benefit from an upgrade to bring it in line with the rest of the hotel
The food in the restraint was very good with a reasonable variety and a hearty breakfast served from the buffet
The location of the hotel is ideal for golfers as there are many excellent courses to choose from
close by and would certainly stay here again

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charliem788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted that you had a good stay with us. We are indeed in an enviable location for golfers and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We took our visitors to Lennoxlove and had lunch at the hotel on the way. Pleasant restaurant and good food, when it finally arrived. There were 15 people in the restaurant being served before us and our food arrived 40 minutes later. We enjoyed it very much but obviously the kitchen couldn't cope. Luckily we weren't in a hurry and this won't put us off going again. We have eaten here twice before, some time ago, with no problems.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morageckford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We are delighted that you enjoyed the food. We are also sorry that there was a delay in receiving your food. I am glad that the standard of food made up for the delay. Please accept our apologies. We look forward to you returning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Our wedding lived up to all our expectations . We married in the beautiful St Mary's church directly opposite the hotel which is stunningly beautiful . Our wedding reception went like clockwork as the hotel had everything so well organised . Our wedding meal was delicious and our guests were complimenting us throughout the day . The hotel grounds are well kept and made the perfect backdrop for our photos .many of our guest stayed overnight so we took exclusive use which meant we had the hotel to ourselves for breakfast too which kept the party going .the hotel did us proud with a great team looking after us. We would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone planing a wedding or similar event

Room Tip: Classic rooms are comfortable but superior rooms are worth the extra
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pechoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. We are all delighted that you and your guests had such a lovely time and enjoyed our excellent staff and food. We wish you the very best for the future and look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

Whilst no one can deny, the rooms are very small. But they are more than adequate nicely decorated and spotlessly clean, the staff were excellent and breakfast was really good.
We never used the restaurant but other guests raved about the food!
The outside of the hotel could do with sprucing up but in general everything was really good, I would definatly return !!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulhobbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and you must return to try out the food in our restaurant. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

I can't recommend this hotel highly enough. My fiancé and I held our wedding ceremony and reception there this month and the staff and management gave us a very special day.
From the first visit we dealt with the owner who gave us her personal attention, guidance and advice without being intrusive. We had 50+ guests but each one had a wonderful experience and many said it was the best wedding they had been to.
The venue was beautiful, the staff couldn't do enough for us and the food and accommodation lived up to all our expectations.
Whether you are looking for a relaxing weekend, a base for your holiday or a venue for a special occasions you will not be disappointed with what's on offer at the Maitlandfield House Hotel, Haddington.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the original part of the hotel as they tend to be bigger and have open views.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elizabeth anne f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted that you and your guests had such a lovely positive experience at The Maitlandfield. May I and all the staff wish you the very best for the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews