We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hotel but rooms too compact”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maitlandfield House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Haddington
Exeter, Devon, UK
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Friendly hotel but rooms too compact”
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

Just returned from this hotel and whilst reasonable value and friendly staff there are a few issues that put me off.
The rooms are very small - my double room would have been a tight squeeze for 2 people. This was especially so in terms of bathroom size and storage space.
I n addition the daily cleaning was haphazard with a couple of days where towels were taken but not replaced!
The food and restaurant area was very good though albeit typical hotel prices ie more expensive than local restaurants.
Was OK overall but would probably try another local hotel next time.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you appreciated our staff and excellent food. We do hope that you do visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    58
    47
    37
    22
See reviews for
40
90
6
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beedelup
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

Random stop at this hotel. Lovely setting in a small quaint town. On waking we heard absolutely nothing and had the window open too! Older style property with squeaky floor boards and quirky nooks and cranny s. our room was not overly big but substantial for our nights stop. One thing I will rave over though is the food in the restaurant, it was one of he best meals I have had in the last 2 months of travelling around. It was gorgeous. I had slow braised lamb. The menu as far as veggies etc go isn't exactly right but the veggies I ended up with were lovely. The sweet I ordered apricot bread and butter pudding and a normal bread and butter pudding came out but was compromised easily enough with another choice of sweets.
Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank suec58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate all reviews and take on board both bad and good constructive comments. Thank you very much for your nice comments and we very much hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

But, when I checked into my room my comp. shower gel was the remains of the previous residents lynx body wash!!! The hotel provided soap dispensers were thick in dust and the holders orange with rust, oh and had barely enough soap in them to wash one finger let alone two hands!!! Tiles in shower room ready to fall off wall! Was meant to be a double room, glad I was travelling alone because you would seriously struggle putting two people in that bed. The room was pretty horrendous to be honest.
The thing that really impresses at this hotel though is the food, had dinner two nights running in the restaurant and was very impressed. The portions were maybe rather frugal, but credit where credit is due, the meals were fantastic. Burger was very moist and tasted great, the lamb on the second night was to die for, just perfect.
Its a real shame that the rooms let the hotel down during my visit, but a little bit more attention to detail when cleaning the rooms and it would not have been as big an issue.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MOR87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are sorry that you were disappointed with the toiletries in the bedroom. We are in the process of changing our toiletries in the bathroom, although I am aware that this does not help you. Thank you for the kind comments with regards to the food. We do hope that we see you back in the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed for two nights and were extremely satisfied with the quality of the hotel and the service. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, even organising for our laundry to be washed and dried (I would not have expected this from a 3 Star hotel). Rooms were comfortable and well appointed. A large lounge area was downstairs to relax in comfort. Breakfast was great and the restaurant menu was very modern with plenty of options. Would definitely recommend to anyone!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bakery_treats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted that you had such a wonderful stay with us. Your lovely comments are very much appreciated. We do hope that we see you again if you happen to be on this side of the world again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

just returned from a weekend stay at the Maitlandfield house hotel in Haddington and found it to be a very hospitable
. All the staff were very attentive and nothing was to much hassle.
The rooms were very clean but would benefit from an upgrade to bring it in line with the rest of the hotel
The food in the restraint was very good with a reasonable variety and a hearty breakfast served from the buffet
The location of the hotel is ideal for golfers as there are many excellent courses to choose from
close by and would certainly stay here again

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charliem788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted that you had a good stay with us. We are indeed in an enviable location for golfers and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We took our visitors to Lennoxlove and had lunch at the hotel on the way. Pleasant restaurant and good food, when it finally arrived. There were 15 people in the restaurant being served before us and our food arrived 40 minutes later. We enjoyed it very much but obviously the kitchen couldn't cope. Luckily we weren't in a hurry and this won't put us off going again. We have eaten here twice before, some time ago, with no problems.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morageckford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We are delighted that you enjoyed the food. We are also sorry that there was a delay in receiving your food. I am glad that the standard of food made up for the delay. Please accept our apologies. We look forward to you returning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Our wedding lived up to all our expectations . We married in the beautiful St Mary's church directly opposite the hotel which is stunningly beautiful . Our wedding reception went like clockwork as the hotel had everything so well organised . Our wedding meal was delicious and our guests were complimenting us throughout the day . The hotel grounds are well kept and made the perfect backdrop for our photos .many of our guest stayed overnight so we took exclusive use which meant we had the hotel to ourselves for breakfast too which kept the party going .the hotel did us proud with a great team looking after us. We would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone planing a wedding or similar event

Room Tip: Classic rooms are comfortable but superior rooms are worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pechoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. We are all delighted that you and your guests had such a lovely time and enjoyed our excellent staff and food. We wish you the very best for the future and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haddington
7.5 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
2,255 reviews
10.2 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh) Hotel
5.1 mi away
Ducks Inn
Ducks Inn
#1 of 1 in Aberlady
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
The Folly
The Folly
#5 of 5 in North Berwick
24 reviews
10.8 mi away
Dunmuir Hotel
Dunmuir Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunbar
295 reviews
1.5 mi away
Letham House
Letham House
#1 of 8 in Haddington
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maitlandfield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maitlandfield House Hotel

Property: Maitlandfield House Hotel
Address: 24 Sidegate, Haddington EH41 4BZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Haddington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Haddington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Maitlandfield House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maitlandfield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Haddington
Maitlandfield Hotel Haddington
Maitlandfield House Hotel Haddington, East Lothian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing