We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maitlandfield House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Haddington
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Just back from a wonderful Valentine one night break. I can't praise this hotel highly enough. The room was fabulous the the most enormous comfortable bed. The bathroom was huge, with a bath shower, toiletries and big fluffy towels.
A silver ice bucket contained a large bottle of pink fizz! waiting for us on arrival.
The dining was a delight, wonderful home cooked food. Coffee and shortbread to follow.
The staff were lovely and so attentive, it was a real pleasure to stay here.

Room Tip: choose a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soxriley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed our staff, food and atmosphere. We are always striving to make guests stay perfect so I am pleased that we are doing things right. We hope to see you again in the near future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    58
    48
    37
    22
See reviews for
40
90
6
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Entered the hotel to warm greeting, smell of fire burning - it was lovely and homely.

Yes it has tired decor but it has a nice feel about it.

Breakfast was pleasant - not the usual huge and unnecessary buffet but cooked on demand hot food was lovely.

The room was cleaned well each day, all members of staff were very friendly indeed.

Now to the snags; we emailed ahead to explain we'd be late arriving, our stay was to enable us to sort out a close family bereavement, however we were wished a nice day and jovial comments like "don't spend too much money" We felt were a tad insensitive, if the hotel was busy we'd understand, but it wasn't.

On Friday night the party the hotel was holding downstairs didn't keep us awake however the constant banging of doors did, coupled with a rock hard mattress I really don't think I've slept a wink for the last three nights stay, oh believe comments that this hotel is cold, keep the radiator turned up to build heat in the room, as the heating goes off.

Shame, it has the potential to be wonderful, but you can't help feel there's skimping going on, but it's skimping that'll cost customers.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nairn-ia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We appreciate any feedback. I must apologise for any offence taken at what must have been a difficult time. Our heating is 24/7 so I can not understand that the heating went off in your bedroom. Each radiator is controlled by guests on a thermostat for their comfort. Thank you once again for taking the time to review the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
icucme
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Spent a couple of nights over a weekend. The place has a lot going for it. The staff are friendly and helpful, the lounge is cosy with a fairly well stocked bar and plenty of room for functions, which is what the place seems to really cater for. But sadly the bedrooms are very small. Would have been better, maybe, to reduce the number of rooms and make those that remain more spacious. Had been 'upgraded' from a twin to a double. The twin was just big enough to swing a mouse (teenage mouse) and the double you could swing a cat (albeit with some objections from the cat). The furnishings are fairly 'rustic' with cupboards that 'move' and rattle and basic TV, though the bed was fine. It's a functional place to stay at, perhaps, en route on business, but probably not a place to treat your other half.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank icucme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We very much appreciate your kind comments and take on board any criticism with regards to the size of our bedrooms. We are very much dictated by red tape as to changes we make within the hotel as it is a listed building. Our rooms do vary from cozy to very large. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful time at the Maitlandfield Hotel, bringing in the New Year with 4 of our friends. We attended their hogmanay dinner dance and were delighted with the quality of food, drink and entertainment. We were greeted with a champagne reception in the lounge bar and then generously were given another glass of champagne when we first sat at our table in the function room. We were delighted to find we each had a "party box" on our side plates which contained fun things like party poppers, balloons, streamers and glow bracelets! This little touch really helped everyone get into the party spirit!
The food was absolutely delicious, far better than we had expected for a large function. The service was efficient and friendly, and the wine we ordered was brought over promptly. There was a piper at both the start of the evening and again at the bells, at which point a large balloon net was released over the dance floor. Brilliant! There was then the option to have a bowl of delicious stovies which was perfect to soak up all the alcohol!
The DJ was great and managed to cope with all of our requests and included some ceilidh dances. Ending the evening with Auld Lang Syne and Loch Lomond with everyone in a huge circle really helped to finish with a bang!
We were all delighted to have started 2014 with such a fantastic, fun evening and plan to go back again next year!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen_E077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and the Hogmanay Party. It is always a very enjoyable evening and we are delighted that you had such a wonderful time. We will be looking out for you and your friends next year. Thank you again for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I am not superstisous but if there are 2 of you give this room a very wide berth.Besides being small it has very little storage space and the clothes hangers fall off their plastic holders with amazing regularity.The bathroom is approx 2ft 6in wide with a recess for the shower which has low, medium & high settings but sadly whatever setting is chosen there is no variation in the power of the water dispensed ( I would guess at 'low' ). The wash basin is of the type normally found in cloakrooms and there is no room to put any toiletries on a hard surface other than the top of the toilet - VERY frustrating.There was 'break up' on every BBC TV channel which rendered these channels unwatchable.All in all not a particularly good experience and certainly not one I would recommend.

Room Tip: Try room no. 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoffrey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We take on board both good and constructive comments. We will review storage both in the bathroom and the wardrobe for the future. Room 3 is one of our superior bedrooms and therefore has a much bigger bed, bedroom and bathroom. I do hope that your stay with us was not spoiled too much. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Haddington hotels

wishaw
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Had a wonderful stay the reception,bar staff,cooks all very pleasant and helpful,dinner and breakfast were wonderful.First time at a murder mystery and thoroughly enjoyed it was great fun everyone got on and mingled.PC Annette Curtain & Mr Peacock CID are fab.Rooms a tad small but for an overnight stay exactly what was required spotless comfortable and warm.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weeangWishaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel and murder mystery dinner. How wonderful that you enjoyed yourselves so much and appreciated the food and the service. We do hope you return to see us in the near future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed for 2 nights with a group of friends. Our room was very small with a tiny bed and the bathroom tiny with no bath, just a shower but it was clean. It was adequate for a weekend but luxurious it was not! As we didn't intend to spend much time in the room and just use it as a base it didn't really matter, unfortunately I was taken ill on our first night so spent all weekend in the room! The only meal I had was breakfast on the last day which was good. Plenty of choice and good service. A very nice lounge and dining area but I do feel some of the rooms let it down.

Room Tip: Probably worth it to pay a bit more for a better room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fi-hol-sal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are sorry that you were unwell while you were with us but I am glad that you did get to enjoy your breakfast and the service which went with it. We do have a varied selection of rooms and we hope you return to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haddington
7.5 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
2,279 reviews
10.2 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh) Hotel
10.8 mi away
Dunmuir Hotel
Dunmuir Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunbar
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
The Folly
The Folly
#5 of 5 in North Berwick
24 reviews
6.4 mi away
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
1.5 mi away
Letham House
Letham House
#1 of 8 in Haddington
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maitlandfield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maitlandfield House Hotel

Property: Maitlandfield House Hotel
Address: 24 Sidegate, Haddington EH41 4BZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Haddington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Haddington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Maitlandfield House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maitlandfield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Haddington
Maitlandfield Hotel Haddington
Maitlandfield House Hotel Haddington, East Lothian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing