We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive for what you get”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maitlandfield House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Haddington
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This is not a place I would stay if I was paying for it out of my own pocket (the acid test). We were staying here on business and they were very awkward on things like checking out, expecting a weeks notice to be given on early check out (and we were only there for 4 days!). Tried all sorts of tricks to keep money when we had to cancel a stay later on, luckily they hadn't sent the T&C's through so the payment was refunded. Very expensive for what it is. Single rooms are very small. Breakfast buffet was poor quality.

Room Tip: Single rooms can be tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alastair_WR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We appreciate any comments be they bad or good. Our terms and conditions are there to protect both the guests and the hotel. Our times for check out and check in are standard and we would require notice if these were to be different. We never refuse a guests request for an early check out and try our best to never refuse any request. We are sorry that we did not live up to your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

Great night in this quiet hotel. Immediately at home when we got out of the car and smelt a log fire...great welcome. We stayed in room 1.... It was huge, with a really comfortable chaise long!! Very comfortable and spacious public rooms with friendly bar service. Lots of parking and outside seating. Good breakfast. Will definitely return next time we visit Haddington.

Room Tip: Choose a premier room...all a little different but lots of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and I agree you can not beat the smell of a log fire. We hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I recently stayed at the Maitlandfield on business and was well looked after. The hotel is stylish and comfortable, set in well kept grounds, which the dining room looks out over. The staff are relaxed and friendly, the room was clean, warm and well appointed. I'll be going back again, certainly.

Room Tip: Just ask the staff to help, they're all friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thank you very much for your very positive review. We always aspire to meet the needs of business travellers so its great to hear that our efforts are noticed. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Just back from a wonderful Valentine one night break. I can't praise this hotel highly enough. The room was fabulous the the most enormous comfortable bed. The bathroom was huge, with a bath shower, toiletries and big fluffy towels.
A silver ice bucket contained a large bottle of pink fizz! waiting for us on arrival.
The dining was a delight, wonderful home cooked food. Coffee and shortbread to follow.
The staff were lovely and so attentive, it was a real pleasure to stay here.

Room Tip: choose a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soxriley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed our staff, food and atmosphere. We are always striving to make guests stay perfect so I am pleased that we are doing things right. We hope to see you again in the near future. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Entered the hotel to warm greeting, smell of fire burning - it was lovely and homely.

Yes it has tired decor but it has a nice feel about it.

Breakfast was pleasant - not the usual huge and unnecessary buffet but cooked on demand hot food was lovely.

The room was cleaned well each day, all members of staff were very friendly indeed.

Now to the snags; we emailed ahead to explain we'd be late arriving, our stay was to enable us to sort out a close family bereavement, however we were wished a nice day and jovial comments like "don't spend too much money" We felt were a tad insensitive, if the hotel was busy we'd understand, but it wasn't.

On Friday night the party the hotel was holding downstairs didn't keep us awake however the constant banging of doors did, coupled with a rock hard mattress I really don't think I've slept a wink for the last three nights stay, oh believe comments that this hotel is cold, keep the radiator turned up to build heat in the room, as the heating goes off.

Shame, it has the potential to be wonderful, but you can't help feel there's skimping going on, but it's skimping that'll cost customers.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Nairn-ia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We appreciate any feedback. I must apologise for any offence taken at what must have been a difficult time. Our heating is 24/7 so I can not understand that the heating went off in your bedroom. Each radiator is controlled by guests on a thermostat for their comfort. Thank you once again for taking the time to review the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Spent a couple of nights over a weekend. The place has a lot going for it. The staff are friendly and helpful, the lounge is cosy with a fairly well stocked bar and plenty of room for functions, which is what the place seems to really cater for. But sadly the bedrooms are very small. Would have been better, maybe, to reduce the number of rooms and make those that remain more spacious. Had been 'upgraded' from a twin to a double. The twin was just big enough to swing a mouse (teenage mouse) and the double you could swing a cat (albeit with some objections from the cat). The furnishings are fairly 'rustic' with cupboards that 'move' and rattle and basic TV, though the bed was fine. It's a functional place to stay at, perhaps, en route on business, but probably not a place to treat your other half.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank icucme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We very much appreciate your kind comments and take on board any criticism with regards to the size of our bedrooms. We are very much dictated by red tape as to changes we make within the hotel as it is a listed building. Our rooms do vary from cozy to very large. Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful time at the Maitlandfield Hotel, bringing in the New Year with 4 of our friends. We attended their hogmanay dinner dance and were delighted with the quality of food, drink and entertainment. We were greeted with a champagne reception in the lounge bar and then generously were given another glass of champagne when we first sat at our table in the function room. We were delighted to find we each had a "party box" on our side plates which contained fun things like party poppers, balloons, streamers and glow bracelets! This little touch really helped everyone get into the party spirit!
The food was absolutely delicious, far better than we had expected for a large function. The service was efficient and friendly, and the wine we ordered was brought over promptly. There was a piper at both the start of the evening and again at the bells, at which point a large balloon net was released over the dance floor. Brilliant! There was then the option to have a bowl of delicious stovies which was perfect to soak up all the alcohol!
The DJ was great and managed to cope with all of our requests and included some ceilidh dances. Ending the evening with Auld Lang Syne and Loch Lomond with everyone in a huge circle really helped to finish with a bang!
We were all delighted to have started 2014 with such a fantastic, fun evening and plan to go back again next year!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Helen_E077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and the Hogmanay Party. It is always a very enjoyable evening and we are delighted that you had such a wonderful time. We will be looking out for you and your friends next year. Thank you again for your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haddington
7.5 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
2,355 reviews
6.4 mi away
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
5.1 mi away
Ducks Inn
Ducks Inn
#1 of 1 in Aberlady
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate
7.4 mi away
Nether Abbey Hotel
Nether Abbey Hotel
#2 of 5 in North Berwick
325 reviews
10.4 mi away
Bayswell Park Hotel
Bayswell Park Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dunbar
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maitlandfield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maitlandfield House Hotel

Address: 24 Sidegate, Haddington EH41 4BZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Haddington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Haddington
Price Range: £75 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maitlandfield House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Maitlandfield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Haddington
Maitlandfield Hotel Haddington
Maitlandfield House Hotel Haddington, East Lothian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing