Stayed here for a two night break. The double room we had was fairly small but very clean. The en suite was also small but there was plenty of hot water. The staff were all very friendly and we had a nice breakfast.More
Stayed here for a two night break. The double room we had was fairly small but very clean. The en suite was also small but there was plenty of hot water. The staff were all very friendly and we had a nice breakfast.MoreShow less
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We are delighted that you had such a lovely stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Luckily for this hotel, there are not many choices for accommodation in and around Haddington, otherwise it might not survive. I can only assume that it's by this same token that the hotel is able to get away with the prices it charges for rooms. Our double room was small with a tiny bathroom. Decor was low quality though this didn't bother me. Bed pretty hard. Bed linen low quality. No air con which would have been fine had it not got unbearably hot whenever the windows were closed. Windows hard to open and one fell out of its frame at one point. All of the 'catch points' were very dusty (eg window ledges, skirting boards, behind furniture etc), evidencing the haste with which the young hotel staff must work to keep up with their daily activities. Trouser press not working. Cables from TV hanging out all over the place. Communal areas were a bit dusty and dreary and the hotel in general lacks atmosphere. On to breakfast, it was much like a Travelodge breakfast, if that means anything to you; nowhere near the high standards set by other proud Scottish hotels. Good luck requesting anything from the kitchen beyond soy milk and another round of cheap sliced bread toast. Bar was expensive and room service prohibitively so.
There was some redemption in the form of friendly and helpful service from all staff, free wifi and the hotel grounds seem to be well-maintained.
Now, all of this would have been acceptable had the room been priced at £50-60. But at £120 a night, and a hefty deposit already paid, we left with the sour taste of having been hoodwinked!
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We are sorry that we did not live up to your expectations. We would have loved to have been given the opportunity to rectify your issues while you were in the hotel so you did not feel the need to write a negative review.
The hotel is beautiful as you drive up the driveway and the welcome we received was friendly and helpful. Everywhere was beautifully decorated and immaculate.
However the room was the smallest room I have ever stayed in, with a tiny en suite. I would suggest it would be more like a small single room. The washbasin was small and low so that my husband found it awkward to shave in. The view was out the back of the hotel, but all we could really see was the roof of the floor below. We did get the night free through Moneysupermarket.com so perhaps that is why we were allocated that room!
I would warn others that there seems to be different prices for different rooms, so it might be worth paying more if you don't want the tiny room!
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate all feedback we received from our guests. Thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again in the future.
My wife and I have just returned home from Haddington and our stay at the excellent Maitland Hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful, the food was good and the rooms were clean , high spec and comfortable. My son and his family live nearby and were happy that we had an enjoyable stay in a very interesting small hotel.
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are all delighted that you had such a wonderful stay with us. We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
I used to go to the Maitlandfield all the time when I was younger so after a trip back to Haddington I thought it would be nice to pop in for lunch one Saturday. I was a bit disappointed.
We went for lunch, so nothing too fancy for the middle of the day. When we arrived the member if staff was really attentive and very friendly but the place really lacked atmosphere. Apart from one other table of three we were the only people there. The restaurant prices were pretty steep and didn't match the slightly tried looking surroundings. I ordered a wrap and hubby ordered soup of the day. Both were nice, nothing to write home about but we had to endure some pretty awful thumping dance music throughout our visit. Not what you expect at all. We thought it was really odd especially as the other table had elderly people. Needless to say I won't be back in a hurry.
It's a shame because the hotel is a nice venue, situated well but could do much better. There are much nicer places in Haddington to go to.
The food was over priced and very average and the atmosphere was rubbish.
Probably won't go back in a hurry.
Thank you for taking time to review the lunch you had with us. We are sorry that you felt that the food was over priced. Our food is locally sourced and freshly prepared and our lunch menu is priced from £3.95 to £6.95. We do hope that you return to give us a second chance.
Stayed here for one nights bed and breakfast. Plenty of parking. Friendly welcome from Receptionist. Our room faced the side and front of the building, kept the windows open all night as it was very very hot and had no problems with any noise! Our room was fine for one night, bathroom a little on the small side
and the electric shower was very efficient. Breakfast was lovely, plenty to choose from, only had the continental. Nice of have cold yogurts (in a bowl with plenty of ice) and nice hot toast. Yes the room could probably do with updating but the public areas are very smart. Lovely gardens too.
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us despite the heat, which is very rare in Scotland. We hope that you make a return visit to us in the near future.