We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey for the facilities and cleanliness.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maitlandfield House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Haddington
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Pricey for the facilities and cleanliness.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Why anyone would want to stay in Haddington will remain a mystery, but we were there for a wedding at this venue. The glory certainly has been faded for some time, I had expected something much better for the price. On arrival we had lunch which was acceptable, but the service was slow - an hour from ordering to finishing eating. The building itself needs a good sort out to refresh it, the public rooms in particular needing attention but our bedroom upstairs was ok save dusty walls. Breakfast was a haphazard affair service wise, but cooked items were ok, nothing particularly tasty or Scottish though i.e haggis or potato scones. I witnessed the "rolls" incident as documented by the previous reviewer aimeehamilton, and on asking, the rolls buyer was told the hotel had run out and awaiting delivery! Butter was in short supply and unfortunately the croissants were inedible due to age but other items were ok, coffee one morning much better than the previous. The evening meal we had was good value and well cooked with good ingredients, as was the wedding meal. Beer is pricey and just ok for the quality of accommodation in the bar areas! The place is fading as said earlier and in need of a good refurbish, some of the public areas in particular need a damn good clean. WIFI worked well in the bar/lounge. The staff, well no real complaints here but some of the younger ones are more willing and friendly than adept, and the wedding iteself was well served. The wedding in general was well executed, so no real complaints there either. This place could be so much better with refurbishment,a more traditional Scottish theme and staff training and supervision. So, overall disappointing so I will not be back for a personal visit as I'm sure better value can be had elsewhere nearby.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cryptomuncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We appreciate your honest and thorough comments. The hotel is an historic building with various bedroom sizes and standards. The rooms have all modern facilities. The lounge area of the hotel is in keeping with the historic nature of the building. The hotel is lucky enough to be in the historic town of Haddington and even luckier to sit just next to the river Tyne surrounded by numerous world championship golf courses, and we enjoy visitors from all over the world. We hope that you come and explore East Lothian in the future and enjoy what is on offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    58
    43
    34
    19
See reviews for
37
87
6
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We were looking forward to staying at hotel as in pictures it looked amazing we were however horrified when we turned up to find an old run down conservatory and a drab looking house, when at reception hotel staff were not very pleasant, the stair ways and corridors going to the room were very dated and could have been doing with a serious lick of paint, when we got to the room we were shocked of the size, there was not enough room to swing a car! Bathroom was smaller than a cupboard and our view from the window looked right into the grubby conservatory roof, during the night it was that hot we were unable to sleep, we were right above kitchen therefore the room was stinking ! hoping breakfast was going to be good as this hotel highly rates it's food we were again let down by poor quality of food and poor service, no tables had been set up therefore we were sat at an empty table staff walked past knowing we had no cutlery, cups napkins ect until we got fed up waiting and had to ask, the food quality was that poor another gentleman staying in the hotel went to the bakers to get fresh rolls because the hotels rolls were stale ! Overall it was a big let down thankfully we were only here for one night for a family wedding near by, if we had to stay here another night we would have found somewhere else to stay ! This hotel is certainly not worth the money !

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Aimeehamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We are sorry that you did not take the time to draw our attention to your problems while you were with us, or when you called to look for your left watch. We take all reviews and comments seriously and would have done anything in our power to make your stay a happy one. The roll situation is odd as we do not serve them at all in the hotel. We will post your left item out to you on Monday. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Haddington hotels

Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed here for a two night break. The double room we had was fairly small but very clean. The en suite was also small but there was plenty of hot water. The staff were all very friendly and we had a nice breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fergusonWesthill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We are delighted that you had such a lovely stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Luckily for this hotel, there are not many choices for accommodation in and around Haddington, otherwise it might not survive. I can only assume that it's by this same token that the hotel is able to get away with the prices it charges for rooms. Our double room was small with a tiny bathroom. Decor was low quality though this didn't bother me. Bed pretty hard. Bed linen low quality. No air con which would have been fine had it not got unbearably hot whenever the windows were closed. Windows hard to open and one fell out of its frame at one point. All of the 'catch points' were very dusty (eg window ledges, skirting boards, behind furniture etc), evidencing the haste with which the young hotel staff must work to keep up with their daily activities. Trouser press not working. Cables from TV hanging out all over the place. Communal areas were a bit dusty and dreary and the hotel in general lacks atmosphere. On to breakfast, it was much like a Travelodge breakfast, if that means anything to you; nowhere near the high standards set by other proud Scottish hotels. Good luck requesting anything from the kitchen beyond soy milk and another round of cheap sliced bread toast. Bar was expensive and room service prohibitively so.
There was some redemption in the form of friendly and helpful service from all staff, free wifi and the hotel grounds seem to be well-maintained.
Now, all of this would have been acceptable had the room been priced at £50-60. But at £120 a night, and a hefty deposit already paid, we left with the sour taste of having been hoodwinked!

Room Tip: Not sure there are any big ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank billyphatu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We are sorry that we did not live up to your expectations. We would have loved to have been given the opportunity to rectify your issues while you were in the hotel so you did not feel the need to write a negative review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

The hotel is beautiful as you drive up the driveway and the welcome we received was friendly and helpful. Everywhere was beautifully decorated and immaculate.
However the room was the smallest room I have ever stayed in, with a tiny en suite. I would suggest it would be more like a small single room. The washbasin was small and low so that my husband found it awkward to shave in. The view was out the back of the hotel, but all we could really see was the roof of the floor below. We did get the night free through Moneysupermarket.com so perhaps that is why we were allocated that room!
I would warn others that there seems to be different prices for different rooms, so it might be worth paying more if you don't want the tiny room!

Room Tip: Room 13 is tiny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate all feedback we received from our guests. Thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

My wife and I have just returned home from Haddington and our stay at the excellent Maitland Hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful, the food was good and the rooms were clean , high spec and comfortable. My son and his family live nearby and were happy that we had an enjoyable stay in a very interesting small hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scuttle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are all delighted that you had such a wonderful stay with us. We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

I used to go to the Maitlandfield all the time when I was younger so after a trip back to Haddington I thought it would be nice to pop in for lunch one Saturday. I was a bit disappointed.
We went for lunch, so nothing too fancy for the middle of the day. When we arrived the member if staff was really attentive and very friendly but the place really lacked atmosphere. Apart from one other table of three we were the only people there. The restaurant prices were pretty steep and didn't match the slightly tried looking surroundings. I ordered a wrap and hubby ordered soup of the day. Both were nice, nothing to write home about but we had to endure some pretty awful thumping dance music throughout our visit. Not what you expect at all. We thought it was really odd especially as the other table had elderly people. Needless to say I won't be back in a hurry.
It's a shame because the hotel is a nice venue, situated well but could do much better. There are much nicer places in Haddington to go to.
The food was over priced and very average and the atmosphere was rubbish.
Probably won't go back in a hurry.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biddulph111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Thank you for taking time to review the lunch you had with us. We are sorry that you felt that the food was over priced. Our food is locally sourced and freshly prepared and our lunch menu is priced from £3.95 to £6.95. We do hope that you return to give us a second chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haddington
5.1 mi away
Ducks Inn
Ducks Inn
#1 of 1 in Aberlady
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
7.5 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,210 reviews
6.4 mi away
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Bayswell Park Hotel
Bayswell Park Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunbar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
10.8 mi away
Dunmuir Hotel
Dunmuir Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunbar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
1.5 mi away
Letham House
Letham House
#1 of 9 in Haddington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maitlandfield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maitlandfield House Hotel

Property: Maitlandfield House Hotel
Address: 24 Sidegate, Haddington EH41 4BZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Haddington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Haddington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Maitlandfield House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maitlandfield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Haddington
Maitlandfield Hotel Haddington
Maitlandfield House Hotel Haddington, East Lothian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing