We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Venue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maitlandfield House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Haddington
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We had our wedding dance at the Maitlandfield recently and couldn't fault anything. The owners, Pauline and Nico were very helpful and always greeted us warmly as did their staff. They put on an excellent spread of food for our reception, compliments to the chef ! We had the honeymoon suite and found it clean and a chilled bottle of 'bubbly' waiting for us on arrival. Couldn't have asked for more.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Barry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are all so pleased that you had such a wonderful experience with us. May we wish you all the very best for the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

The room given was charged as a double but was in our opinion definately only a single, small room 3/4 sized bed small dark bathroom & poor view didn't really cut it. from the ouside and previous visists for afternnon tea we'd expected much more - staff werepolite & helpfull & the hotel was very busy so perhaps bad luck but think we should have been forewarned about the size of the room, breakfast was average all in all only an average stay

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank groovy1970s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Thank you for reviewing the hotel. We have rooms of varying standards and sizes within the hotel and all are priced accordingly. We very much appreciate your positive comments also. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We thought we were going to be staying in a lovely hotel as we entered the driveway, but it was downhill after that. The room was painted in dark colours, was gloomy and needed to be redecorated. The bathroom had a mouldy shower curtain that smelt unpleasant and the skirting boards were dusty. On the positive side the bed was comfortable.
Breakfast was poor with limited choice, i.e. only pineapple flavoured yogurt and the coffee was weak. We were glad we were only staying one night.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. I am equally sorry that you did not brink your grievances to our attention while you were with us. We would have done our best to ensure you had a more pleasant stay. All of your issues would have been resolved. We do hope that you do return again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Why anyone would want to stay in Haddington will remain a mystery, but we were there for a wedding at this venue. The glory certainly has been faded for some time, I had expected something much better for the price. On arrival we had lunch which was acceptable, but the service was slow - an hour from ordering to finishing eating. The building itself needs a good sort out to refresh it, the public rooms in particular needing attention but our bedroom upstairs was ok save dusty walls. Breakfast was a haphazard affair service wise, but cooked items were ok, nothing particularly tasty or Scottish though i.e haggis or potato scones. I witnessed the "rolls" incident as documented by the previous reviewer aimeehamilton, and on asking, the rolls buyer was told the hotel had run out and awaiting delivery! Butter was in short supply and unfortunately the croissants were inedible due to age but other items were ok, coffee one morning much better than the previous. The evening meal we had was good value and well cooked with good ingredients, as was the wedding meal. Beer is pricey and just ok for the quality of accommodation in the bar areas! The place is fading as said earlier and in need of a good refurbish, some of the public areas in particular need a damn good clean. WIFI worked well in the bar/lounge. The staff, well no real complaints here but some of the younger ones are more willing and friendly than adept, and the wedding iteself was well served. The wedding in general was well executed, so no real complaints there either. This place could be so much better with refurbishment,a more traditional Scottish theme and staff training and supervision. So, overall disappointing so I will not be back for a personal visit as I'm sure better value can be had elsewhere nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Cryptomuncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We appreciate your honest and thorough comments. The hotel is an historic building with various bedroom sizes and standards. The rooms have all modern facilities. The lounge area of the hotel is in keeping with the historic nature of the building. The hotel is lucky enough to be in the historic town of Haddington and even luckier to sit just next to the river Tyne surrounded by numerous world championship golf courses, and we enjoy visitors from all over the world. We hope that you come and explore East Lothian in the future and enjoy what is on offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We were looking forward to staying at hotel as in pictures it looked amazing we were however horrified when we turned up to find an old run down conservatory and a drab looking house, when at reception hotel staff were not very pleasant, the stair ways and corridors going to the room were very dated and could have been doing with a serious lick of paint, when we got to the room we were shocked of the size, there was not enough room to swing a car! Bathroom was smaller than a cupboard and our view from the window looked right into the grubby conservatory roof, during the night it was that hot we were unable to sleep, we were right above kitchen therefore the room was stinking ! hoping breakfast was going to be good as this hotel highly rates it's food we were again let down by poor quality of food and poor service, no tables had been set up therefore we were sat at an empty table staff walked past knowing we had no cutlery, cups napkins ect until we got fed up waiting and had to ask, the food quality was that poor another gentleman staying in the hotel went to the bakers to get fresh rolls because the hotels rolls were stale ! Overall it was a big let down thankfully we were only here for one night for a family wedding near by, if we had to stay here another night we would have found somewhere else to stay ! This hotel is certainly not worth the money !

Stayed: August 2014
5  Thank Aimeehamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We are sorry that you did not take the time to draw our attention to your problems while you were with us, or when you called to look for your left watch. We take all reviews and comments seriously and would have done anything in our power to make your stay a happy one. The roll situation is odd as we do not serve them at all in the hotel. We will post your left item out to you on Monday. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed here for a two night break. The double room we had was fairly small but very clean. The en suite was also small but there was plenty of hot water. The staff were all very friendly and we had a nice breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fergusonWesthill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We are delighted that you had such a lovely stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Luckily for this hotel, there are not many choices for accommodation in and around Haddington, otherwise it might not survive. I can only assume that it's by this same token that the hotel is able to get away with the prices it charges for rooms. Our double room was small with a tiny bathroom. Decor was low quality though this didn't bother me. Bed pretty hard. Bed linen low quality. No air con which would have been fine had it not got unbearably hot whenever the windows were closed. Windows hard to open and one fell out of its frame at one point. All of the 'catch points' were very dusty (eg window ledges, skirting boards, behind furniture etc), evidencing the haste with which the young hotel staff must work to keep up with their daily activities. Trouser press not working. Cables from TV hanging out all over the place. Communal areas were a bit dusty and dreary and the hotel in general lacks atmosphere. On to breakfast, it was much like a Travelodge breakfast, if that means anything to you; nowhere near the high standards set by other proud Scottish hotels. Good luck requesting anything from the kitchen beyond soy milk and another round of cheap sliced bread toast. Bar was expensive and room service prohibitively so.
There was some redemption in the form of friendly and helpful service from all staff, free wifi and the hotel grounds seem to be well-maintained.
Now, all of this would have been acceptable had the room been priced at £50-60. But at £120 a night, and a hefty deposit already paid, we left with the sour taste of having been hoodwinked!

Room Tip: Not sure there are any big ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank billyphatu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We are sorry that we did not live up to your expectations. We would have loved to have been given the opportunity to rectify your issues while you were in the hotel so you did not feel the need to write a negative review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haddington
7.5 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
2,438 reviews
6.4 mi away
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
7.4 mi away
Nether Abbey Hotel
Nether Abbey Hotel
#2 of 5 in North Berwick
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Ducks Inn
Ducks Inn
#1 of 1 in Aberlady
370 reviews
10.2 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh) Hotel
10.4 mi away
Bayswell Park Hotel
Bayswell Park Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dunbar
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maitlandfield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maitlandfield House Hotel

Address: 24 Sidegate, Haddington EH41 4BZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Haddington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Haddington
Price Range: £79 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maitlandfield House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maitlandfield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Haddington
Maitlandfield Hotel Haddington
Maitlandfield House Hotel Haddington, East Lothian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing